Be home tomorrow....

Lunar new year are very relevant to the ah tiongs as this is the time for assembly & headcount! Winter solstice also head count before the big freeze, gather round makan, do some incest activities & head on to their own life after that & meet again on Chinese new year for another head count so that they will know who is rich & could afford heat to survive the deep freeze. All in all, the original concept of chinese new year in the north is mere heaqd count of the big clan! Wonder when it degenerated into money distribution routine?

My elders told me before Winter Solstice aka 冬至 is in fact more significant than the Lunar New Year. But somehow the tradition got lost over generations.

Sorry hor, disagree with you. Not only intricately linked culturally, but ethnically and genetically as well. No body can deny that - you will find it more meaningful eating those mandarin oranges from Swatow, or Taiwan (ponkan) rather than those from Pakistan, and bak kua rather than beef steak.

ATs in most parts of PRC do not have the tradition of exchanging mandarin oranges during LNY house visits and they don't eat bak kua.

The modern ATs are the products of such political events and communist fervor of years gone by.

Yes the CCP now acknowledges the importance of Chinese traditions but the damage has already been done. Just look around you....

We are talking about the modern Chinese, not the communist Chinese of yesteryears. We are talking about the modern Chinese, not the Red Guards. Many of the younger Chinese don't even know the Red Book, or Mao's thoughts. The Gang of Four has been purged for their excesses; the CCP now acknowledges the importance of the Chinese traditions. Otherwise where did we import all those Chinese Performers and Chinese crafts down the Singapore River HongBao?
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1178251/1/.html

Similarly can you equate yourself with your grandfather, squatting along the roadside eating his bowl of noodles down by the Singapore River?

Be home tomorrow.....

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/MTJH_n2SPJQ" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MTJH_n2SPJQ&feature=related

You may earn $1000 a month, or you may earn $1,000,000 a month. Whatever it may be, be home tomorrow ... for your reunion dinner with your family. We are all one family.

Singaporeans living in Singapore should not find home too far away - even if the SMRT is delayed or breaks down, or there is a little ponding along the way...We should all be home - with our family for the reunion dinner.

Spare a thought for the many Ah Tiongs and Mei Meis as well, who toiled in distant land and are unable to be home with their family in their motherland. Wherever we are, we all Chinese. We are all united in one culture.

Having reunion dinner in sinkieland really spoilt the whole festive feeling. My reunion dinner is out of sinkieland. Ahhhhhh

Tony ah Tony. Today CNY eve, take a rest lah.

For the last 10 over years, I have no chance to taste my mum's home cooked CNY goodies. And to be frank, today I am really home sick. Maybe the fire crackers and celebrations in a foreign land make me miss CNY dinner so much.

PRC is still communist. And any "modern" prc kid who went thru kindergardern and primary school are indoctrinated in Maoism. A current twenty year olds will know the songs that praises mao. If they don't know, they are trying to act blur.

Obviously you don't know what the red scaf means, and its not just a fashion statement.

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/GIXz0npRKiw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

We are talking about the modern Chinese, not the communist Chinese of yesteryears. We are talking about the modern Chinese, not the Red Guards. Many of the younger Chinese don't even know the Red Book, or Mao's thoughts. The Gang of Four has been purged for their excesses; the CCP now acknowledges the importance of the Chinese traditions. Otherwise where did we import all those Chinese Performers and Chinese crafts down the Singapore River HongBao?
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1178251/1/.html

Similarly can you equate yourself with your grandfather, squatting along the roadside eating his bowl of noodles down by the Singapore River?

The Zhang Yuan Yuan (hope I got the name correct) was a case in point. We don't know how deep is their programming until they turn coat and show true colors. But ignorance is bliss, carry on sinkies.:)

Think it's no longer valid. At most, you can say it's capitalist in communist clothing.

It's okay lah, anywhere where the whole family can gather and eat together happinly.

If in Thailand, I will be delighted to pay a visit to Yingluck on this auspicious day. Unfortunately for his brother Thaksin, somewhere in Dubai or Montenegro, he will be having reunions with Angmohs and Arabs. I am sure he will miss his Chinese family in Thailand.

ATs in most parts of PRC do not have the tradition of exchanging mandarin oranges during LNY house visits and they don't eat bak kua.
Never been to China during the Lunar New Year season. But imagine more than 300 million Chinese scrambling back to their home to have reunion dinner every year to celebrate with their family (3 billion passengers during the NY season accordig to reports).

That's says quite a lot for the Chinese tradition. Tradition dies hard.

PRC is still communist. And any "modern" prc kid who went thru kindergardern and primary school are indoctrinated in Maoism. A current twenty year olds will know the songs that praises mao. If they don't know, they are trying to act blur.

Obviously you don't know what the red scaf means, and its not just a fashion statement.

I see some of the kids in the video not wearing a red scarf. Are they capitalists or bourgeois?

A number of young educated Chinese friends and colleagues I talked to say they do not know much about the red book nor Chairman Mao's quotations leh - or they simply dismiss them! May be they are acting blur because they do not agree with communism - like some Singaporeans here, who do not agree or support the PAP government. And like the Singaporean migrants, they have decided that a foreign government such as the one in Singapore is better than theirs.

Communism in it's true form is dead; its existence is only in name, an empty shell. There is no more equality in China or Russia; to be rich is no longer a crime; to study in a university in imperialist America is an honour and not a disgrace.

I see some of the kids in the video not wearing a red scarf. Are they capitalists or bourgeois?

A number of young educated Chinese friends and colleagues I talked to say they do not know much about the red book nor Chairman Mao's quotations leh - or they simply dismiss them! May be they are acting blur because they do not agree with communism - like some Singaporeans here, who do not agree or support the PAP government. And like the Singaporean migrants, they have decided that a foreign government such as the one in Singapore is better than theirs.

Communism in it's true form is dead; its existence is only in name, an empty shell. There is no more equality in China or Russia; to be rich is no longer a crime; to study in a university in imperialist America is an honour and not a disgrace.

Siao eh, Kan Ni Na Bu Phua Chee Bye You! You have a number of unanswered questions still pending, please fucking refer back to your postings and answer them all. Kan Ni Na Bu Chao Chee Bye You! :oIo::oIo::oIo: