• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Paul Cheung speaks out against the FT Policy

aurvandil

Interesting development with Paul Cheung speaking out against the FT policy. For those who don't know, Paul Cheung was the former Chief Statistician of Singapore. He was instrumental in destroying the credibility of Chee Soon Juan when CSJ alleged that DOS engaged in statistical massage. For those who read tea leaves, what does this move by Paul Cheung at this particular time mean? Is he doing this alone or is he part of a bigger team?

FT policy may have helped widen income gap: panel

Government policies to draw foreign talent into Singapore likely helped widen the income gap in Singapore, a study by the Institute of Policy Studies (IPS) found.

"Rising tide of foreign workers almost certainly impacted wage growth at parts of the income distribution and thereby worsened inequality," said Manu Bhaskaran, adjunct senior research fellow at IPS who chaired a panel on "Economics: Business as usual, no longer?" for IPS’ seminar on Monday.

Making a similar observation, Paul Cheung, director of the United Nations’ Statistics Division, said that while the influx of foreign talent and workers brought a significant boost to the country’s gross domestic product (GDP), it also indirectly contributed to greater income inequality,

The top tenth of Singapore households in terms of total income saw such income rise from 27.4 per cent in 2000 to 29.4 per cent in 2010, whereas that of the rest dropped over the period, he said. Households in the bottom 40 per cent saw their total income decline by 1.6 per cent, he added.

Cheung questioned the desirability of Singapore continuing to rely on cheap foreign labour to remain competitive as he pointed out that heavy reliance on foreign workers will not lead to increasing wage shares for Singaporeans.

He also highlighted the challenges faced by highly educated Singaporeans. In 2010, one in three permanent residents (PR) were aged between 30 and 39 in Singapore, compared to one in five in the same group in 2000, and many of the PRs had tertiary education background.

Singaporeans in this age group can expect the employment landscape to be more competitive and find it harder to move from their current income level to another, Cheung said.

“There is a high degree of anxiety among young professionals on whether they can make it in Singapore (and) whether the government is prepared to give them a fair chance in this touch competition,” he said.

“If the middle-class feels that you work so hard and then you try to move up the income ladder but then lo and behold, you‘re competing with all these permanent residents – where’s the home court advantage?” he added.

However, Chua Hak Bin, director of Global Research at Merill Lynch, said last year’s Budget has helped to even out some of the differences when the government imposed stricter immigration laws and higher foreign worker levies.

Chua noted that the income inequality gap remains large despite special government transfers. More measures are necessary to help the lower income group, he added.

Also discussed during the panel was the adequacy of the current Central Provident Fund system to provide for Singaporean workers.

Those in the lower income group are especially at risk as their CPF will not provide sufficient savings for them in their retirement, and the situation is made worse by major withdrawals such as housing purchases, said Professor Hui Weng Tat, associate professor at the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy.

Assuming that HDB purchases made at age 30 at the maximum price supportable by CPF contributions with two spouses contributing to mortgage payments, the income replacement ratio would drop to between 17 and 28 per cent for the different wage groups, at the retirement age of 65.

This would mean that a person with post secondary education earning $1,500 as his starting pay at 22 years old can only expect to live on 45 per cent of their last drawn pay when they retire. If only one spouse is working and repaying mortgage, the effect would be doubled.

This is international trade 101. The PAPpies knew the end-result of their open-door FT policy from the very onset. Singaporeans should take note that they are far from being a priority as far as the PAPies are concerned. How wages would be depressed and how housing prices will soar as well as the negative impact on public services were all known to the PAPies. They didn't need a study to gather the results as the results are etched in sound, proven theory.

The sad thing is that with an open and robust mainstream media, a majority of Singaporeans would have known much earlier the result of an open-door FT policy.

There is nothing fundamentally wrong with a widening income gap. While socialists may argue that it is detrimental to society as a whole, it is actually desirable from an economic standpoint as it ensures a supply of cheap labour to keep industries going.

As long as opportunities are made available to those who want to improve their lot, I would say that this parameter is irrelevant.

There is nothing fundamentally wrong with a widening income gap. While socialists may argue that it is detrimental to society as a whole, it is actually desirable from an economic standpoint as it ensures a supply of cheap labour to keep industries going.

As long as opportunities are made available to those who want to improve their lot, I would say that this parameter is irrelevant.

cheap labour doesnt allow differentiation of efficient and productive companies.... in a free market competition, this do nothing to help capitalism!!!!

inequality is good because puts more resources into the hands of capitalists (as opposed to workers), it promotes savings and investment and catalyzes growth.

dun oppose for the sake of oppose or you will degrade the quality of the forum like TracyTan...

encourage discussion but dun be a bigot just because you are dealling with bigots.... otherwise you are no better than them

Sam should stop plucking arsehole hairs from his beloved arse and then to use them to split hairs for the sake of splitting hairs. Such behaviour is distasteful and lowers the quality of the site. Sam, please do yourself and the rest of us a favour and exercise more integrity and intellect within your replies to posts. Kamsiah.

Paul always has been a mercenary. One helluva powerful man in MTI because he knew what the PAP and was prepared to deliver. He is also an FT. Now that he is no longer with the establishment, anything goes.

cheap labour doesnt allow differentiation of efficient and productive companies.... in a free market competition, this do nothing to help capitalism!!!!

inequality is good because puts more resources into the hands of capitalists (as opposed to workers), it promotes savings and investment and catalyzes growth.

dun oppose for the sake of oppose or you will degrade the quality of the forum like TracyTan...

encourage discussion but dun be a bigot just because you are dealling with bigots.... otherwise you are no better than them

Hey Ah Sam boss, I am shamelessly asking for points for the above post because I so couragously disagreed with you while strengthening your point at the time....

please up me .... I am stimulating debate and bringing balance to the arguement....

you are degrading into the bigot you condemn..... as you up me... prease reflect on how you can better conduct yourself so you dun disgrace us right wingers and argue like a pathetic socialist.....

Paul always has been a mercenary. One helluva powerful man in MTI because he knew what the PAP and was prepared to deliver. He is also an FT. Now that he is no longer with the establishment, anything goes.

Fully agree with the assessment. It is one of the small miracles for Singapore that he failed the tea party. He sees himself as Minister material and I would not be surprised if he is still serving the master that raised him up so many years ago.

Sam should stop plucking arsehole hairs from his beloved arse and then to use them to split hairs for the sake of splitting hairs. Such behaviour is distasteful and lowers the quality of the site. Sam, please do yourself and the rest of us a favour and exercise more integrity and intellect within your replies to posts. Kamsiah.

I honestly don't see anything wrong with a widening income gap. People get emotional about it because it's human nature to resent the success of others.

To those who have shot ahead of the rest of the pack I say "well done". To those who are being left behind I say "work twice as hard so you can catch up and don't blame others for your own failures.".

Leongsam said:
I honestly don't see anything wrong with a widening income gap. People get emotional about it because it's human nature to resent the success of others.

The problem is with the level of Gini coefficient (0.47?). Singapore has one of the highest income inequality of a hundred countries surveyed and none of the developed world is close and in fact we are in the same group with banana republics and the least developed countries in the world. It is a record that the Govt has found it too embarrassing to defend. You are their only mouthpiece.

I understand that but I'm asking a more fundamental question regarding WHY it should be an issue in the first place?

Supposing I live in a street with 5 houses and they're all nice and friendly neighbours. I'm earning $50,000 a year and I'm the poorest guy on the block. The richest guy in the street earns $200,000 per year so he draws 4 times what I'm earning.

5 years later, he's been promoted to the CEO of a large multinational corporation and he now earns $2,000,000 per year. He still lives next to me because he likes the area. I've only managed to increase my salary to $100,000 per year so the richest guy in our street now earns 20 times what I'm earning.

However, he's still a nice guy. He hasn't let his wealth and position go to his head. I've succeeded in doubling my salary so I'm happy too. I wish I could earn $2 million a year but I accept that I'm not cut out for a high level job. We get along fine and all is well.

Extend this scenario to a whole country and I don't see why it should be an issue at all. It only becomes an issue if those in the lower income levels resent the success of those who have made good.

Ah Sam Boss, please respond

... it ensures a supply of cheap labour to keep industries going.

Agree with you except with qualification. The minimum wage must be enough for the low-income citizen to survive. FT subsistence level and needs are different from citizen. They are in for the short-term and prepared to suffer for a couple of years then back home to enjoy. We cannot expect a citizen to work 12 hours everyday to keep afloat knowing that it is going to be forever with little chance of upgrading to a better paying job due to age or other limitations.

min wages is the most hare brain socialist idea ever....

if you wan the poor to be poor forever... by all mean implement minimum wage... even WP dun believe in that

All the minimum wage does is push up unemployment. Employers won't hire more staff if each addition contributes a significant overhead.

Agreed. The problem is it is difficult (near impossible) for the govt to make everyone understand and believe in self-upgrading. Most will chose to deny that it is their own duty and excuses are abundant. There are also genuine cases of limitations. To make matter worst, many comparison can be made with countries that give handouts. If this persists, eventually the govt will be voted out. It is happening mainly because of human nature - laziness.

Any wise govt would accept this phenomenon as unavoidable. Our govt do recognise this. In fact it is giving handout through various schemes under different names, avoiding the term social welfare. Somehow, their schemes are not working fine because under the guise of different names, not all in need for help are aware. What is worse, only the confirmed lazy ones would go searching for ways to milk the system and are they main beneficiaries. The majority of those in need of help continues to struggle in their own. So maybe it would benefit this silent majority by just implementing minimum wages.

Extend this scenario to a whole country and I don't see why it should be an issue at all. It only becomes an issue if those in the lower income levels resent the success of those who have made good.

There is certainly some truths to the role that envy plays in the income inequality debate.

Since you like simple analogies so much, consider a role reversal where you are the CEO while your neighbour has problems making ends meet. How do you justify deserving over a hundred times what your neighbour is earning even if a CEO does provide more economic value than a janitor for instance?

If the common man who has "made it" by virtue of ability or talent is unable to empathize with the plight of the common wage worker and proletariat, how can we advance together as a people and make our lives here in this world a meaningful one for everyone? That is surely the problem of a bunch of people with an inflated sense of entitlement based on how much they earn as a gauge of their own self worth. You, Samleong, are the classic case of an overachieving proletariat who has forgotten your working class roots.

I made this observation long ago that the worldview of free market capitalism is vulgar and debilitating to the human psyche. If common men (yes, that means you, peasant) cannot close ranks with the notion that inequality pushes certain portion of the population below the poverty line, then it may ultimately rest upon a patrician class with conscience to take the vanguard and impose measures to check the growth of your inflated self-worth.

You, Samleong, are the classic case of an overachieving proletariat who has forgotten your working class roots.

On the contrary. I feel that anyone can make it regardless of their roots because I remember where I came from.

And while many may resent those they believe are earning more than their worth, very few of those who feel this resentment would turn down a similar salary if it was offered to them regardless of whether they felt worthy or not. It really is all about envy and nothing much else.

Finally you think far too highly of the human species. Life on earth was never designed to be meaningful. It was designed to be a competition. Everything we do is a competition right down to debates we have in this little forum. ;)

On the contrary. I feel that anyone can make it regardless of their roots because I remember where I came from.

And while many may resent those they believe are earning more than their worth, very few of those who feel this resentment would turn down a similar salary if it was offered to them regardless of whether they felt worthy or not. It really is all about envy and nothing much else.

Finally you think far too highly of the human species. Life on earth was never designed to be meaningful. It was designed to be a competition. Everything we do is a competition right down to debates we have in this little forum. ;)

these bleeding liberal live in history ...

have never learn about biology and economic....

kids play fantasy soccer... these ah pek play fantasy politics...

dreamers