• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

terry1965

Retiring in Thailand, I once had a diccussion group abt this, it had about 100 members, things like cost, food etc were discussed.
However there were no contributors except myself.
We were planning a retirement village like the Scandinavian village concept.
Golf trips, food, near the sea etc, however it was not easy to get the funds to build this retirement home.
i stayed in thailand for many years and the benefits of staying in Thailand are

Cheap housing , the condo i rented , small apartment is abt $200 per month
Can buy also , for abt 20,000, however why buy when the rental is so cheap
Food is also cheap, entertainment is good

Only down side if you have a family, the children need to go to school, international school is expensive, abt 20k per year.
I once attended the thai classses at the P.A and many people wanted to migrate to chengmai, nice place.
Bungalows can go as low as 1 million thai baht 40,000 sing dollars

Re: A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand ? Feasible?

You got heart (as thais seem to include this in their vocab for better or worse).

佛心.jpg
Ya he's go this I am sure

Sawasdee krup Khun Terry1965

You mentioned about setting up with some people retirement village so did it come to pass? Do you still come here to golf? I've got a friend who comes here once or twice a year for golf all over and they contact an agent here to organize. They just buy air tickets and then come here everything arrange for them by this agent. They will go all over in a certain province or area play golf twice a day and end up every night good food and Thai massages. I will join them at the end when they spend a night in Bangkok we will go for the seafood and shopping. This is very enjoyable for them. I am picking up golf this year. So when was the last time you came here for golf?

Retiring in Thailand, I once had a diccussion group abt this, it had about 100 members, things like cost, food etc were discussed.
Golf trips, food, near the sea etc, however it was not easy to get the funds to build this retirement home.

Only down side if you have a family, the children need to go to school, international school is expensive, abt 20k per year.
I once attended the thai classses at the P.A and many people wanted to migrate to chengmai, nice place.

Re: A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand ? Feasible?

Pai Seh, pai seh. me not the religious type :p

Temper is getting better with increase in age. Anger is very bad for the heart. :smile:

Never say you are religious la pii chonburifc, say you have 佛心 same same like say you have a heart of gold. :p

You back to Pattaya?

Hi Terry,

Yes, the Europeans prefer village style concept. In Pattaya, many of the condo/house projects are targeted at certain nationalities. The Russians like to stay near to fellow Russians. Even the Arab/India community have their preferred location. However, I think the village concept will not work with SG or other Asian groups. Asians are more scattered

As for food and entertainment, prices has been increasing over the last few years. Today, the petrol price (Benzine 91 and Gasohol 91/95) just increase again. This is what happen when there are announcement of petrol price increase. Always wonder how much can they save?
P1210031.jpg

Building a retirement home is a good idea if you are a developer but sounds like a full time occupation. If I was looking for a business to invest in I can see the attractions as many Sporeans are in their retirement phase. However almost anyone can stay in LOS because the cost of living is so much lower than Spore & probably Malaysia.

I don't think people with school kids are ready to retire yet :smile: Heck I'm already an uncle & I'm not ready for a retirement village:eek: I'm still busy travelling to Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand,... As one gets older, they become more cautious & less adventurous. Many know what they ought to do but they don't act on it & have regrets later on. For me I intend to take extended holidays in Thailand to really immerse myself in the culture. In my opinion there's really no need buy property to enjoy the attractions of the country, but that's me. I'm just an unemployed Sporean who's looking for a cheap place to stay :wink:

Fully agree with you on the point that no need to buy property to live in Thailand. This is especially so for a vast country like this where you can spend a month here and another month there. It'll be wonderful. As the saying goes no need to buy a cow if you want milk. Even long term resort leasing is inexpensive if you look hard enough in Thailand.

Building a retirement home is a good idea if you are a developer but sounds like a full time occupation. If I was looking for a business to invest in I can see the attractions as many Sporeans are in their retirements phase. However almost anyone can stay in LOS because the cost of living is so much lower than Spore & probably Malaysia.

I don't think people with school kids are ready to retire yet :smile: Heck I'm already an uncle & I'm not ready for a retirement village:eek: I'm still busy travelling to Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand,... As one gets older, they become more cautious & less adventurous. Many know what they ought to do but they don't act on it & have regrets later on. For me I intend to take extended holidays in Thailand to really immerse myself in the culture. In my opinion there's really no need buy property to enjoy the attractions of the country, but that's me. I'm just an unemployed Sporean who's looking for a cheap place to stay :wink:

.....I am picking up golf this year.....
Have to be careful with this sport. Injured my back years ago because did not receive proper instruction and guidance. Went to the driving range with colleagues and 'luan luan' swing. Next day, woke up with a bad backache. Went to hospital for x-ray and luckily nothing too serious.

Thanks pii. Will be learning from pro in All Start Golf Complex so will get proper training. Been to this place a few times and is very well organised. By the way the assistants in this place is very chio, encouraging point to go there.

Meeting my contractors at 1 pm. So difficult to arrange for different contractors to meet at one time. Already prepare to vomit blood over the next 2 weeks.

One advice for those doing renovation work involving LOS contractors, you need to be there physically to 'supervise' the supervisor/foreman. Else, the outcome can be very different from what you wanted. Have experience this many times with different contractors.

Here's a nice place for a romantic dinner. It's call "Haat Tien", located along Second Road (between North Pattaya Road and Central Pattaya Road), a Thai place but they have English menu. They have both outdoor and indoor dining and also live band after 8pm. Mosquito spray available on request. :biggrin:

P1000359.jpg

P1000360.jpg

P1000369.jpg

P1000370.jpg

P1000371.jpg

Meeting my contractors at 1 pm. So difficult to arrange for different contractors to meet at one time. Already prepare to vomit blood over the next 2 weeks.

One advice for those doing renovation work involving LOS contractors, you need to be there physically to 'supervise' the supervisor/foreman. Else, the outcome can be very different from what you wanted. Have experience this many times with different contractors.

Same. same in Spore lah :smile:

Over in Spore you have to source the building materials yourself to ensure good materials. Don't leave the decision to the contractor or he'll pick the cheapest materials in the market & charge you premium prices:(

Bro if you need some of this just give me a call . . .

19433.jpg

I'm off to home for CNY on Sat and back on Wed. Don't work so hard during CNY la pii

Same. same in Spore lah :smile:

Over in Spore you have to source the building materials yourself to ensure good materials. Don't leave the decision to the contractor or he'll pick the cheapest materials in the market & charge you premium prices:(

Talking about material, chonburifc please let me know if you require roofing screws and also sealants. I will give you some really good ones if there is a requirement for anything to seal and anything about roof, I can say I am quite expert in this. People don't call me Thailand screw king for nothing.

Bro if you need some of this just give me a call . . .

View attachment 3476

I'm off to home for CNY on Sat and back on Wed. Don't work so hard during CNY la pii

Guinness Stout to throw at contractor, then open and drink??:smile:

As expected, contractor was late. Tried calling him a few times and the response is always "On the way, almost reach already". Finally show up at 2 pm which is 1 hour late.

New office need to be ready by 1st February so no CNY for me.

knn I think I'm pissed, just finished my lunch with partners. Fuxx need to look for a place to recover before going home.

terry1965

Sawasdee krup Khun Terry1965

You mentioned about setting up with some people retirement village so did it come to pass? Do you still come here to golf? I've got a friend who comes here once or twice a year for golf all over and they contact an agent here to organize. They just buy air tickets and then come here everything arrange for them by this agent. They will go all over in a certain province or area play golf twice a day and end up every night good food and Thai massages. I will join them at the end when they spend a night in Bangkok we will go for the seafood and shopping. This is very enjoyable for them. I am picking up golf this year. So when was the last time you came here for golf?

Sawadee Krup

One thing forgot to mention the golf is good, there are abt 50 or more golf course in bkk, some are very cheap to play in.
My thai friend can get me good cheap rates, however many are about 1000 thai baht, some are more expensive
my favourite courses are Panya indra, watermill, some near sri racha, black canyon, so many good courses
I do go back to thailand to play 3 to 4 times a year, this year planning to play at Khon kean
however once one of my friend fainted at the golf course, it can get very hot in the afternoon

terry1965

on thing i noticed in thailand, the buddist culture, they dont kill people for money
they may trick or borrow money but they dont rob
this is due to the fact that they believe in Karma, and they believe in reincarnation
so chances of being robbed is slim, however chances of getting conned are high

my last trip , i view a condo only 20 k to 40 k, small condo abt 500 ft2, near ratchada, very cheap, near shopping centre.
however rental is also cheap.