Letter To The Bank - True Story

Windsor

Dear Sir:

I am writing to thank you for bouncing my check with which I endeavored to pay my plumber last month. By my calculations, three nanoseconds must have elapsed between his presenting the check and the arrival in my account of the funds needed to honor it. I refer, of course, to the automatic monthly deposit of my entire pension, an arrangement which, I admit, has been in place for only eight years.

You are to be commended for seizing that brief window of opportunity, and also for debiting my account $30 by way of penalty for the inconvenience caused to your bank. My thankfulness springs from the manner in which this incident has caused me to rethink my errant financial ways.

I noticed that whereas I personally answer your telephone calls and letters, when I try to contact you, I am confronted by the impersonal, overcharging, pre-recorded, faceless entity which your bank has become. From now on, I, like you, choose only to deal with a flesh-and-blood person. My mortgage and loan repayments will therefore and hereafter no longer be automatic, but will arrive at your bank, by check, addressed personally and confidentially to an employee at your bank whom you must nominate.

Be aware that it is an offense under the Postal Act for any other person to open such an envelope. Please find attached an Application Contact which I require your chosen employee to complete. I am sorry it runs to eight pages, but in order that I know as much about him or her as your bank knows about me, there is no alternative.

Please note that all copies of his or her medical history must be countersigned by a Notary Public, and the mandatory details of his/her financial situation (income, debts, assets and liabilities) must be accompanied by documented proof.

In due course, at MY convenience, I will issue your employee with a PIN number which he/she must quote in dealings with me. I regret that it cannot be shorter than 28 digits but, again, I have modeled it on the number of button presses required of me to access my account balance on your phone bank service. As they say, imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

Let me level the playing field even further. When you call me, press buttons as follows:

IMMEDIATELY AFTER DIALING, PRESS THE STAR (*) BUTTON FOR ENGLISH

#1. To make an appointment to see me

#2. To query a missing payment.

# 3. To transfer the call to my living room in case I am there.

# 4. To transfer the call to my bedroom in case I am sleeping.

# 5. To transfer the call to my toilet in case I am attending to nature.

# 6. To transfer the call to my mobile phone if I am not at home.

#7. To leave a message on my computer, a password to access my computer is required. Password will be communicated to you at a later date to that Authorized Contact mentioned
earlier.

# 8. To return to the main menu and to listen to options 1 through 7.

# 9. To make a general complaint or inquiry. The contact will then be put on hold, pending the attention of my automated answering service.

# 10. This is a second reminder to press * for English. While this may, on occasion, involve a lengthy wait, uplifting music will play for the duration of the call regrettably, but again following your example, I must also levy an establishment fee to cover the setting up of this new arrangement. May I wish you a happy, if ever so slightly less prosperous New Year?

Your Humble
Client

:D

Dear Sir:

I am writing to thank you for bouncing my check with which I endeavored to pay my plumber last month.

:D

Simply love this letter.Hope to see some local version.Not only to banks,but to police,singtel,pub,town council and etc etc.Ever since organizations got hold of press this,press that software--it has been a nightmare.What takes the cake is which goes on and on non stop ,'your call is importance to us please hold'--for fucking freakin 45 mins?

Worse if it goes to a call center where some Filipinos pick up whose whole purpose is to argue with you.

Simply love this letter.Hope to see some local version.Not only to banks,but to police,singtel,pub,town council and etc etc.Ever since organizations got hold of press this,press that software--it has been a nightmare.What takes the cake is which goes on and on non stop ,'your call is importance to us please hold'--for fucking freakin 45 mins?

Worse if it goes to a call center where some Filipinos pick up whose whole purpose is to argue with you.

Yup. Call CPF and many government bodies and even CASE I get that f**king voice and put on hold. On mobile phone it cost us plenty talk time waiting for the line to reach a real person.:mad:

1. bro, if you ever call sia you shall get some ah neh to the line.
2. honest, i give up on them.

i called SIA once...got 666 on the line. He called me retarded gay dog and told me he was showing me his finger . :(

1. bro, if you ever call sia you shall get some ah neh to the line.
2. honest, i give up on them.

i called SIA once...got 666 on the line. He called me retarded gay dog and told me he was showing me his finger . :(

You are retarded if you fly SIA (or Scoot) and contribute to the coffers of a GLC.

I seldom talk much to bank employees.
Tell them what I need, they do it, thank you.
They ask me to buy a product, no thank you.

Believe it or not these types of letters are common all over the world. As in this case, it usually the middle age or retirees who send in such letters because they have lost track of the world changing.

Years ago the banks started sending out letters which said at the bottom that this is a "computer generated letter and no signature is required". This was before they printed the image of the sender's signature. In return, they get letters from retiree KPKB that it is wrong to send letter with no signture. Others will reply and say that their letter is also computer generated and no signature is required.

Sometimes in gathering of relatives you will hear stories from the old uncles who regale the rest with stories on how they taught the bank, the govt dept etc a lesson here and there. I used to wonder what is wrong with these guys.

An Australian banker told me that its worst amongst the British as they are very formal and they have a huge base of pensioners who have nothing to do and so free to write such letters. Bank staff can't be bothered as they don't own the business and nothing is going to change. Systems are automated. I heard of a prominent SIngapore Lawyer who told his bank not to honour any of his credit charges until they verify the signature on the sales slip. It did not occur to him that they deliver the card to him, he signs it and starts using it. The bank has no record of his signature unlike the cheque signatures. The signatuee on the card is always different as the space is small.

1. wa! you are damn lucky bro.
2. many here only got to read its scripts.
3. you got to speak to the worm thing!
4. it must be some feeling too.

dunno where he is now. Just waiting to write some more insulting stuff in the next few days.

1. wa! you are damn lucky bro.
2. many here only got to read its scripts.
3. you got to speak to the worm thing!
4. it must be some feeling too.

This person who wrote the letter has no one else to blame but himself.

Bank transactions and fees are automated these days. If he did not have enough funds to cover the check, he shouldn't have written it in the first place. When the expected incoming funds to his account was 3 nanoseconds behind his plumber presenting his check, his account still didn't have sufficient funds to cover it. So, his check bounced and a check bouncing fee was automatically generated by the system. Case closed.

These chao angmor must be too lonely gone mad already. I so happy with modern auto banking no need to hear fuck voice and see fuck face. Also dangerous if bank staff know you. They know if you rich or broke. They know your name, IC, home and phone. Better deal with machine good enough. Cheque bounce mean cheque bounce mean your money no enough KPKB for fuck? Commonsense to write cheque only with account money more than enough, not just borderline enough KNN

I seldom talk much to bank employees.
Tell them what I need, they do it, thank you.
They ask me to buy a product, no thank you.

Most front line bank employees are becoming redundant these days with ATMs, POS, telephone banking, and internet banking.

Agree, there is little point in dealing with bank employees. Everything automated and online. As long as you have least 2 banks for redundancy, you more or less can get thru life. Seriously why do you need to talk or go to the bank unless you are opening an account for the first time with the bank.

I heard one story in recent times that tells you how some segment of society have lost the plot. There is a school teacher who retired but without fail will make a yearly appointment with his branch manager to go thru his account. I understand it was a practice during the colonial days where branch managers were powerful and you needed them for credit reference. The amount in his account is now much but he will come all dressed up.

And i still don't get why there are throngs of people queuing to update their passbook every other week? I can understand it if it was done by the elderly, but i see young/middle age blokes doing it too...

To Angmor worshipper like Sam, Clint, Tony and Ram, can you all see? Angmor win already. Angmor more Sinkie than Sinkie LOL