• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New Jetstar rival to fly Singapore/Sydney

Windsor

New Jetstar rival to fly Sydney to Singapore
Matt O'sullivan
<cite>December 2, 2011</cite>

SINGAPORE AIRLINES' new budget offshoot, Scoot, has challenged Qantas and Jetstar on their home turf by revealing its first route will be between Sydney and Singapore.

The airline's foray into the Australian market came the same day as Virgin Australia won final approval from the competition regulator for an alliance with Singapore Airlines. The deal is the final plank of Virgin's international strategy, aimed at snaring a bigger share of the lucrative business travel market from Qantas.

Scoot has promised fares up to 40 per cent cheaper than those of premium airlines and will begin daily services between Sydney and Singapore from the middle of next year. It will consider widening its reach into Australia, possibly flying to destinations such as Melbourne.

The launch of another low-cost airline is a direct threat to Jetstar and Malaysia's long-haul airline AirAsia X, in which the entrepreneur Sir Richard Branson has a stake.
Scoot said it chose Sydney as its first destination because of Australians' propensity to travel, fewer regulatory barriers to flying to Australia and an ''attractive offer'' from NSW tourism and government officials.

The Premier, Barry O'Farrell, said the influx of tourists on Scoot's daily flights would add about $150 million a year to the state's economy. The medium- to long-haul airline will start with a fleet of four 402-seat Boeing 777-200s, which it is buying from its parent, Singapore Airlines. It plans to increase its fleet to 14 aircraft by 2015.

Scoot has gained first-mover advantage against AirAsia X, which has long sought to fly between Sydney and Kuala Lumpur at least twice a day but has been prevented from doing so by the Malaysian government, which has a 69 per cent stake in Malaysia Airlines. The latter flies between Sydney and Kuala Lumpur.

The chief executive of Scoot, Campbell Wilson, said the airline was ''unabashedly no-frills'' and its fares would be about 40 per cent cheaper than those offered by typical legacy airlines.

''We are looking at all cities in Australia [as destinations but] we haven't decided on which ones we will serve,'' he said.

Apart from Australia, Scoot has named as potential destinations New Zealand, north Asia, Europe, India and the Gulf states, where Emirates and Etihad are based.

Singapore Airlines has a cornerstone stake in Tiger Airways, which was grounded by Australian air-safety regulators for more than a month this year due to safety concerns. Mr Wilson distanced Scoot from Tiger, describing his airline as a ''very different animal''.

will it be another Tiger Airway shit? Thinking of getting into a sinkie airplane kinds of frighten me.

As it is a new start-up. no idea at all, but at least the planes should be in very good condition plus the maintenance should be of a high standard. Need to wait and see before making any judgment.

haha ...so whats new ? you are frightened of your own shadow. Be brave ... like 666 is.

jetstar is still within 4-hr flight time.
scoot will tgt >4hr. SIN-SYD is one.

i think they are also aiming SIN-Beijing, SIN-NRT, SIN-SEL

jetstar is still within 4-hr flight time.
scoot will tgt >4hr. SIN-SYD is one.

i think they are also aiming SIN-Beijing, SIN-NRT, SIN-SEL

I understand the price will be lower by 40%. That is a pretty good discount if you asked me.

it is if you take away inflight entertainment, inflight food, narrower seats.

no amenities in toilets except for toilet paper.

seriously for medium to long haul flight, you need to makan somewhat, if they enforce strictly no outside food & drinks, you will be obliged to pay for the food which will make the gap less interesting.

i never fly budget, it is like telling everyone your life cost 40% less than norm.

If you have money to go to holiday in australia, you have money to pay proper airlines tickets, and you do not go there every month, so saving spread out over a long period and just not worth it to bother.

on the contrary, i fly budget if i go overseas for leisure.

i rather spend the money at the destination than taking transport.

Jeststar not idling...

10 January 2012
more
Increased capacity on popular routes from Singapore
Strengthens Pan-Asian network
Follows the start of new China and Vietnam services last month
New routes and services will see Jetstar kick off 2012 with an additional 8,500 seats for its Singapore based hub.

The extra capacity includes over 40 new weekly services added to popular destinations in Australia, Japan, Vietnam and Greater China.

Today Jetstar announces a second daily service on the Singapore-Taipei-Osaka route and three new weekly services between Singapore and Darwin, bringing the weekly offering to 10. The airline is also adding a new Darwin-Manila-Narita service.

This new capacity follows the commencement last month of new routes to Guangzhou and Hanoi and additional services to Ho Chi Minh City.

Jetstar Group CEO Bruce Buchanan said adding services on popular routes was contributing to the low cost carrier’s “critical mass” across Asia Pacific.

“The growth in low fare services from our Singapore hub is creating new travel demand in the region, which then fuels more growth and gives us economies of scale to keep the low fares coming,” he said.

“In 2012 we’ll be focused on joining more dots on our route map, particularly in terms of a revitalised Vietnam presence and a new network with Jetstar Japan.

“Our goal is to be the number one low cost carrier in all of the markets we operate by combining low fares, customer choice and great service,” added Mr Buchanan.

Ms Chong Phit Lian, Jetstar Asia CEO, said new fleet capacity had allowed the carrier to focus both on expanding capacity on existing routes but also on new market opportunities.

“Boosting services on our popular routes like Singapore–Taipei–Osaka will give Jetstar Asia great momentum to start 2012,” she said.

As part of network changes announced today, Jetstar will suspended services between Singapore and Macau from 5 February 2012.

Jetstar, which flies to almost 60 destinations in 17 countries, is the fastest growing low-cost airline in the Asia Pacific region.
Summary of schedules changes – Jetstar Asia
Singapore–Taipei–Osaka service increasing to double daily from 25 March 2012 (was daily)
Singapore to Darwin service increasing to 10 weekly from 25 March 2012 (was daily)
Singapore to Hanoi service four times weekly started from 22 December 2011
Singapore to Ho Chi Minh service increasing to 27 weekly from 23 December 2011
Singapore to Guangzhou daily services from 22 December 2011
Singapore to Macau services suspended from 5 February 2012

on the contrary, i fly budget if i go overseas for leisure.

i rather spend the money at the destination than taking transport.

Just not worth it, saving a few hundreds is meaningless in holiday, the hotel bills normally cost much more.

Life is precious, therefore do not fly budget.

Scoot will be even more closely associated to SIA than tiger so i think they will be comfortable and safe. They are low cost which is different from budget.

If flight safety is the issue, then budget airlines will no longer be operating due to accidents. In actual fact they are no less safer than the major airlines as they normally have a commonality on aircraft unlike bigger airlines. They might cut corners on many things but never on safety as to do so is literally cutting their own throats.

Airlines suffer from safety problems and budget airlines aren't more susceptible to them than other airlines.

There is one thing about budget airlines that no one here talk about , which i think is very important, being a frequent traveller.

If all went well, no delay due to weather, strikes, airport problem, no lost luggage or plane malfunction. budget airline is fine.

When shit hit the fan, the difference in service between the traditional big airlines and budget airlines is night and day. Therefore for me, the extra money i spend on good airlines in my view is worth every cents.

Worse come to worse, if i die in air crash, the compensation from good airline will be in millions while in the budget you will not get a cent, they just go bankrupt.

hmmm...syd-sg, i would be in their target customer group. Dun mind short distance like syd to melb or to nz but this is abt 7-8 hrs flight, i rather pay more for more comfort. And sometimes with sia, there are plenty empty seats so you can get a whole row for yourself.