FAP Has Proven to Be a Very Expensive JOKE - Another CASE!

Gan Kim Yong apologises over DNA lab blunder by HSA
Health Minister Gan Kim Yong on Wednesday apologised for the blunder in a government lab, which resulted in the need to retest almost 2,000 DNA samples connected to criminal cases here.
This, after the Health Sciences Authority (HSA) discovered that thousands of samples had been tested at its DNA Profiling Laboratory using a reagent solution of a higher-than-usual concentration between October 2010 (Khaw's the health minister then) and August last year. (Gan probably checked everything when he took over Khaw's health portfolio and discovered this- otherwise who knows how long this would have been undiscovered- imagine innocent people going to jail or executed!)
Explaining what happened, the HSA had said on Tuesday that a lab manager had prepared a year's worth of reagent solution for DNA testing with the wrong level of concentration.
He had 'misread the label' and used 1.0 millimolar (mM) - a measure of concentration - of the chemical ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid instead of the prescribed 0.1mM. That led to a 'marginal reduction in sensitivity' in the testing of DNA samples. As a result, 412 cases had to be reviewed by the Attorney-General's Chambers, which now wants DNA samples connected to 87 ongoing criminal cases to be retested as a precaution.

This case has actually been handled very well. It's the way the issue would have been dealt with under an open, transparent, democracy.

In the old days, it would simply have been swept under the carpet.

Miscarriages of justice happen the world over. Everyone wishes the system could be perfect but in reality, it is never the case.

The strongest case against capital punishment is the possibility of errors or perjury during the judicial process. A dead man cannot be brought to life if a mistake has been made. This was one of the main reasons why hanging was abolished in most countries.

It should not even be an issue in the first place. It can be life and death for the 87 cases.

Cow: holy shit. This farker poke me in the back. Just wait till the next CEC meeting. Make sure he drink the rest of the prepared reagent solution. Hopefully no one will ask me to resign.

WKS: no worries la. You see I still shiok shiok right?

GY: ya just don't be in the wrong camp like me. Die also don't know wHy. Suddenly retrenched.

It should not even be an issue in the first place. It can be life and death for the 87 cases.

This has nothing to do with the PAP. Nothing to do with how fucked up sinkies are. Nothing to do with million dollar salaries.

One man made a mistake. It could have happened anywhere in any country under any sort of political system. Doctors have made mistakes too and caused death... wrong drug given to the wrong patient... wrong gas used during surgery... wrong kidney removed and so on.

It's a breath of fresh air that the fault was acknowledged, made public and that all the consequences are being reviewed. This would not have been the case 20 years ago.

The lab manager could easily have covered things up and nobody would have been any the wiser.

Agree this has nothing to do with the ruling party and salaries. And it's good they come clean.

HSA conduct many other tests related to criminal cases. That includes DNA, urine test and other tests (not sure about blood test). And these test results are used in the courts for criminal cases. It can be life and death. How can such mistakes even happen? What happen to the procedures? Do they perform a second test?

Most importantly, was anyone wrongly convicted due to inaccurate test results? Not just the DNA test, the narcotics cases as well.

What happen to the procedures? Do they perform a second test?

Most importantly, was anyone wrongly convicted due to inaccurate test results? Not just the DNA test, the narcotics cases as well.

Procedures are only as good as the person who executes them. Audits can only ever check paperwork and data entries. They can't recreate what exactly was done at the time.

I made a similar mistake during a practical chemistry test. As a result, I got a big fat zero for the titration portion of the paper. My standard solution was out by a factor of 10 and I was wondering why I simply could not get an end point when everyone around me had no problems.

My friend told me "Reperformance" and "Sampling test" are part of audit procedures unless that particular area is deem unimportant, non-critial, inconsequential or low risk , not just check paper work only leh:confused:

"Quality Assurance" should be part of the culture also mah:( Someone must check and double reconfirm output mah.

Sorry also mush explain.

Procedures are only as good as the person who executes them. Audits can only ever check paperwork and data entries. They can't recreate what exactly was done at the time.

I made a similar mistake during a practical chemistry test. As a result, I got a big fat zero for the titration portion of the paper. My standard solution was out by a factor of 10 and I was wondering why I simply could not get an end point when everyone around me had no problems.

My friend told me "Reperformance" and "Sampling test" are part of audit procedures unless that particular area is deem unimportant, non-critial, inconsequential or low risk , not just check paper work only leh:confused:

"Quality Assurance" should be part of the culture also mah:( Someone must check and double reconfirm output mah.

Sorry also mush explain.

We went through all that shit when I was working in manufacturing. It reduces errors to a bare minimum but it by no means eliminates them. If error could be eliminated, the world would be a perfect place.

the sfpd crime lab faced a credibility issue when a rogue technician was caught stealing narcotic evidence for her own use. as investigations began, further testimonies revealed that the lab had botched dna evidence handling and testing by mixing up test tubes between cases. further revelations indicated that much of the dna evidence stored in the lab were not secured, as anybody could have walked into lab with an open door without the need for badges or security codes. it was also discovered that dna samples from unknown sources had been used on critical cases, and the majority did not belong to those arrested. these and accusations of a massive cover up are leveled at the former and current heads of the lab, as many think they know about issues but refuse to fix or redress them as they fear thousands of cases will have to be retried. the blame also points at the former sf district attorney, kamala harris, for possible coverups at the highest law enforcement level. kamala harris is the current california's attorney general.

reporting from the bay area....
eat your shit and die

hi boss....thats nothing compared to my case. I got a big fat zero when i tried to titrate into some chicks mouth eons ago. Wasnt lucky or good enough i guess.

There is this problem in the service. When something new is to be introduced, the boss would assign his most trusted lieutenant to study and set up the procedure. Usually this guy is well regarded by colleagues in terms of knowledge. Once done, others (including the boss) will happily follow without question. It might be a similar situation here. However, for such critical and sensitive testing procedure (though it may be simple), a second confirmation by others could have prevented this issue.

This has nothing to do with the PAP. Nothing to do with how fucked up sinkies are. Nothing to do with million dollar salaries.

One man made a mistake. It could have happened anywhere in any country under any sort of political system. Doctors have made mistakes too and caused death... wrong drug given to the wrong patient... wrong gas used during surgery... wrong kidney removed and so on.

It's a breath of fresh air that the fault was acknowledged, made public and that all the consequences are being reviewed. This would not have been the case 20 years ago.

The lab manager could easily have covered things up and nobody would have been any the wiser.

you are doing a good job being a PAP supporter, exonerating the responsibilities of your masters when things aren't right...the bonus is on the way by snail mail the last i heard.

Of cse, everyone makes mistake, esp in life sciences - rem the case of mix up at Thomson Medical Centre with sperm and egg resulting in a different color baby...nothing wrong...

Is there proper checks and balance? These lab rats in HSA are understaffed, underpaid and over worked...facing time pressures to finish analyzing and giving reports in short time and many backlogs.

Why understaffed? Lean and mean organisation...the buzzword of our government. Lean and mean....its strange that they are echoing this when in the PMO, there are so many ministers...

Ah.. and that prompted you into porn-peddling and subsequently became a multi-millionaire... inspiring!