• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Forummers whom overstep their boundaries

Jah some people, sometime myself also, can chill whole day whole night here . . . . only cannot beer with you guys . . . . . relak la its only a fucking forum why so serious? pls don't zap me for saying that ah I only speaking my mind :biggrin:

Yeah it's only a forum and we shouldn't take it seriously but this fella has been a real pain starting pointless threads, grouping forummers into idiots or intellectuals based on his own biased criteria, acting like his own opinion means more compared to others and so on. That fella is the one that's taking things too seriously and is a real pain.

I've been in this game for a very, very long time and what it's taught me is that some things haven't changed even after 16 years.

When soc.culture.singapore became a free-for-all, bar room brawl location on a daily basis, a group of "posters" [as they were then called], decided that enough was enough and started "soc.culture.singapore.moderated" which they thought would quickly become the de facto location for intelligent debate amongst sinkies.

It died a natural death in less than 6 months. There were about 10 posts per day coming mainly from the moderators themselves. In the meantime, the anarchy that was scs attracted huge crowds with almost a thousand messages daily which was huge traffic at the time.

People gravitate naturally to freedom. Nobody likes it when others decide what they can or cannot do or say.

There's nothing wrong in wanting to post "intelligent" posts just as there's nothing wrong in posting about inane topics or posting like a jackass and so on. It only starts to become intolerable when one poster thinks that his opinion is worth more than others starts preaching to everyone telling them whom he thinks are the smarts ones whom he thinks are the jackasses and even worse does it outside the moderated section which is the section that ppl are supposed to be involved in intellectual discourse. It's plain to see the moderated section is a boring place and this forummer whom needs his ego stroked requires a place where the majority of forummers congregate to shove his own opinion down everyone's throats.

Yeah it's only a forum and we shouldn't take it seriously but this fella has been a real pain starting pointless threads, grouping forummers into idiots or intellectuals based on his own biased criteria, acting like his own opinion means more compared to others and so on. That fella is the one that's taking things too seriously and is a real pain.

wah lou.. simple solution.. ignore button.. he wanna group, let him group lah, why does that bother you... just fuck him upside down,, why bother so much..

It only starts to become intolerable when one poster thinks that his opinion is worth more than others starts preaching to everyone

Anyone with a reasonable amount of self esteem thinks along the same lines. I too think I'm better than everyone else at running this place, that my satire is better, that my observations are more acute, that my sarcasm is more cutting and that I'm God's gift to the world of online forums.

People who think poorly of themselves tend either to remain as lurkers or post crap like Krafty. :biggrin:

liberalrac.gif

Boring afternoon, better go get a shower somewhere

Anyone with a reasonable amount of self esteem thinks along the same lines. I too think I'm better than everyone else at running this place, that my satire is better, that my observations are more acute, that my sarcasm is more cutting and that I'm God's gift to the world of online forums.

People who think poorly of themselves tend either to remain as lurkers or post crap like Krafty. :biggrin:

Yup but you are the forum's owner therefore ppl will try and suck up to you. If you were just a mere forummer going around correcting ppls advice vs advise you would have been shot down long ago. No in this case it's not some forummer trying to be a pompous prickm it goes beyond that.

I've yet to see any sucking up. Many do the exact opposite.

What I do know is that many hate my guts. Nobody likes the presence of the "grammar police" in any forum. I detest it in other forums I participate in so I'm sure those here feel the same way.

Scroobal is an ex-moderator so he's special in his own way. It's like being an ex-President. You're still entitled to get on a high horse, make speeches for profit and receive secret service protection.

I've been in this game for a very, very long time and what it's taught me is that some things haven't changed even after 16 years.

When soc.culture.singapore became a free-for-all, bar room brawl location on a daily basis, a group of "posters" [as they were then called], decided that enough was enough and started "soc.culture.singapore.moderated" which they thought would quickly become the de facto location for intelligent debate amongst sinkies.

It died a natural death in less than 6 months. There were about 10 posts per day coming mainly from the moderators themselves. In the meantime, the anarchy that was scs attracted huge crowds with almost a thousand messages daily which was huge traffic at the time.

People gravitate naturally to freedom. Nobody likes it when others decide what they can or cannot do or say.

1. sammy, bingo!
2. good one too.

exactly, it only gives me the impression that these people has no life other than the forum. If not, why take it so seriously.. just relax and have a drink..

For me bashing sinkies is a form of relaxation and also an education. after that, it is another day.

1. tony, you are damn funny!
2. well, you also have to accept individuals who "counter" you.
3. that makes sbf interesting and alive.

I've yet to see any sucking up. Many do the exact opposite.

What I do know is that many hate my guts. Nobody likes the presence of the "grammar police" in any forum. I detest it in other forums I participate in so I'm sure those here feel the same way.

Scroobal is an ex-moderator so he's special in his own way. It's like being an ex-President. You're still entitled to get on a high horse, make speeches for profit and receive secret service protection.

the screw sucks up to you. the sex forum ppl suck up to you when u try and correct them on grammar. it wouldn't fly if it was someone else and nope being an ex mod for a forum does not equal to being an ex president.

the screw sucks up to you.

On the contrary. The screw, far from sucking up, has been the most critical and vocal of all regarding the way I run things [or don't run things] here.

That's one of the reasons why he ended up as moderator.

Just because he tells me off in a civilized manner doesn't equate to sucking up.

Windsor

for saying this truth, that windsor dog mod give me infraction. sigh.

Sorry bro...it applies to all, no fear and no favour, even to tonychat who everyone knows I had chided before for his oft-repeated remarks. Hope if you want to say something, please do not stalk his postings. Thanks.

SibelKing

Sorry bro...it applies to all, no fear and no favour, even to tonychat who everyone knows I had chided before for his oft-repeated remarks. Hope if you want to say something, please do not stalk his postings. Thanks.

You are doing a goot job! Can up my points? :biggrin:

no_faith

when moderated section just started, imho, i doesnt see much of the few particular mod here.:biggrin:
slowly slowly, posts mainly from the moderators, less traffic, less posts, dunno wat to do, buay tahan, decide to come here c c look look,
kajiao kajiao.:biggrin:

Windsor

hello dog mod,

pls put me under your ignore list if you are not happy. i lecturing my retarded son. what has it got to do with you.

Very nice sig, but still not acceptable to stalk. No worries I am not keen to read your postings as to me they are just spam.