• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

FT Buddhist monks make cost of dying cheaper in Singapore

Monks face pressure of foreign competition

Income from prayer sessions down as foreign monks charge lower rate
By Lin Wenjian
Some monks here are feeling the heat of competition provided by their foreign counterparts.

In particular, the local monks claim that foreign monks, who are mostly from China and Malaysia, are undercutting them by charging up to 50 per cent less for prayer sessions conducted at funeral wakes.

Mr Ang Juat Chong, 59, a Singaporean who has been a Buddhist monk for the last 18 years, said his monthly income has gone down by as much as 70 per cent in the last two years because of this.

'Local monks charge about $1,200 to do Buddhist rites at funeral wakes, but these foreign monks charge only $600 or $700. So of course, funeral parlours will prefer to hire them,' he told The Straits Times yesterday.

Best they can do is upgrade, attend training and be certified by lk's son's govt.

sg monks charge $1200 while FT monk charges half - still too expensive for few hours work.

I paid sg monk $1800 for my dadz funeral n monk wears gold watch plus drive Merc

sg monks charge $1200 while FT monk charges half - still too expensive for few hours work.

I paid sg monk $1800 for my dadz funeral n monk wears gold watch plus drive Merc

theravada monks (are the only real monks to me in our modern society) only need to you provide transports and fetch them there and back. donation is any amt u made to the temple or if you are really poor, they dun even mind doing it for free.

I dont pity local monk. I feel that FT monk come here to save Sinkie from blackmail by local monk. People die also cannot rest in peace because the family will suffer for over price fee.

No choice. Property go up, rental go up, makan price go up, everyting go up, sgp monks also got to eat.

I dont pity local monk. I feel that FT monk come here to save Sinkie from blackmail by local monk. People die also cannot rest in peace because the family will suffer for over price fee.

i wonder will they have a career change to become pastors xtainity instead