Some Singaporeans turn to vans as car prices soar

This is sinkie's version of adaptation....

Fresh meat too expensive they tell you to eat frozen meat.
Rice too expensive they tell you to eat cheaper low quality rice.
Veggies too expensive they tell you eat taogay.
Add another one. Marlboro too expensive to smoke, they tell you to roll your own.

SGD 70K for a van and SGD 100K for a VIOS and there are takers!
Something very wrong with the public transportation.

SGD 70K for a van and SGD 100K for a VIOS and there are takers!
Something very wrong with the public transportation.

regardless how efficient / how perfect the public transport is, there will still be yearning for 4 wheels.

its hierarchy of needs...

of cse, i agree, till today, something's wrong with the public transport.

This just HAS to be fucking PATHETIC!

How can sinkies live like this!:confused:

They are too used to having their ass screwed daily which i think that is a lowest a human can go. Downgrading to a Van is considered a luxury if you want to compare to that.

ladyboy lover shit,

i can see that you carry leongsam's balls again. very sinkie behavior. fuck u!

Its a great idea if it was in another country. I am planning to buy a people carrier type van (overseas of course) to do some kinda business and also to double up on an canoe/mountain bike/groceries shopping/ country touring vehicle. A normal car wont do. But at that price in peesai, its just plain stupid.

Long time ago when I was working for an Italian company, I told my Italian colleagues that a COROLLA costs S$90,000.00. The next question they asked me was: How much is your salary? They must be thinking that I'm making a lot richer than them. WTF? I told them that we can get up to 10 years loan (at that time). They told me that with that kind of money, I can get a BMW 5-Series in Europe. :eek:

You can tell them you have the bestest gov't in the world. Being Italians they might appreciate that:)

I can buy a freakin' 3.5 Litre LEXUS for 100K! Why anyone wants to live in that shit hole is really beyond me. Has the PAP short circuited all your brains or what! The titchy Island is stiflingly hot, expensive, grossly overcrowded, permanently flooded with scum from 3rd world countries and with water every other month.

Surely there's more to life than the daily torture Sinkies have to go through just to stay alive. For gawds sake come to your senses and look for an alternative abode. The world's a huge place. There's a spot somewhere else with your name on it just waiting for you to arrive. Grab the opportunity while you can.

For more info, refer to the emigration folder.

i thought you are a great advocate of 'survival of the fittest'?

you cannot survive here is it? so gotta migrate. i understand.

regardless how efficient / how perfect the public transport is, there will still be yearning for 4 wheels.

its hierarchy of needs...

of cse, i agree, till today, something's wrong with the public transport.
Understand vans and pickups (those G plate) cannot enter Malaysia and also has a speed limit of 60 or 70KM/hr. So much restrictions and yet, peasants rather downgrade from cars to vans just to get a 4 wheel and live with the inconvenience.

SG East to West at most 50 km and North to South, probably 30 km, taxis should be able to cover this area and much cheaper.

Understand vans and pickups (those G plate) cannot enter Malaysia and also has a speed limit of 60 or 70KM/hr. So much restrictions and yet, peasants rather downgrade from cars to vans just to get a 4 wheel and live with the inconvenience.

SG East to West at most 50 km and North to South, probably 30 km, taxis should be able to cover this area and much cheaper.

rem as well, there was a period every one start driving Hyundai Matrix & Honda Jazz, Perouda, QQ?

now the COE alone has wiped them out of the market.

i thought you are a great advocate of 'survival of the fittest'?

This isn't about survival of the fittest. This is all about value for money and the quality of the environment. It doesn't matter where you stand in the food chain. Why be a battery hen when you can opt to be a free range specimen.

you have a reason for everything. very articulate. are you a keling shit like me? we publish 10 year series for having an excuse for everything.

rem as well, there was a period every one start driving Hyundai Matrix & Honda Jazz, Perouda, QQ?

now the COE alone has wiped them out of the market.
COE really live up to its name. See Hor Ee (In hokkien - Die for It)

Everyone wants a car in sinkie land because it is a status symbol but how much of a status symbol is a van?
As long as anything with 4 wheels counted is it?

dun play play, nowadays dig mudders are getting MPV. no more company van and lorry.:eek:

Everyone wants a car in sinkie land because it is a status symbol but how much of a status symbol is a van?
As long as anything with 4 wheels counted is it?
Think in the past, this is widely practised but reasons are quite different. Those that need to use a vehicle as a footstep (Ka Tar) and does not mind the vehicle type. The other advantage was the saving in diesel price. (Not sure if this is still valid). Also remember these vehicles need to go for inspection more than normal cars.

Now, the reason is really crazy. Peasants getting van because more affordable than cars.

Vans have another hidden purpose - easier to just do it inside, compared to cars. More spacious.

I wonder how long before someone decides to use them to run a pirate taxi service:confused: