Are our leaders visionary?

kingrant

COMMENTARY

<!--close .kicker, if any-->Joseph S. Nye: Angela Merkel's Vision Thing

Published on Nov 8, 2011

<!--end of story image, if any--><!--start of story text-->CAMBRIDGE - As Europe struggles to save the euro, the chorus of complaints about weak leadership in the world's major economies grows louder. Many have singled out German Chancellor Angela Merkel for failing to promote a vision of Europe similar to that of her predecessor and mentor, Helmut Kohl. Are the critics right?

Part of what effective leaders do is communicate a vision that gives meaning to policies and inspires others to support these policies (and those who propose them). It is one of the ways in which leaders help to create shared objectives and energise common action. Usually, such a vision provides a scenario for the future that is meant to encourage change, though it may also portray the status quo - or the past - as attractive, thereby encouraging resistance to change.

Either way, without a vision, it is difficult to lead others anywhere. Frederick Smith, CEO of Federal Express, has argued that 'the primary task of leadership is to communicate the vision and values of an organisation.'

But one must be cautious about visions. Sometimes leaders think that vision can solve most of their problems, but the wrong vision - or an overly ambitious vision - can do damage. George H.W. Bush was faulted (and faulted himself) for not having what he called 'the vision thing.' When pressed by his staff to speak more boldly and expansively, he replied, 'It's just not me.'

After the shock of the September 2001 terrorist attacks, his son, George W. Bush, developed a far more ambitious vision. As one former adviser put it, he was 'irresistibly drawn to Big Ideas like bringing democracy to the Middle East, Big Ideas that stood in sharp contrast to the prudent small ball played by his father.' Yet the elder Bush turned out to have had the better foreign policy.

Some aspiring leaders think that they must proclaim a vision that overawes their followers. In practice, however, a successful vision often arises from the needs of the group, which are then formulated and articulated by the leader. The vision that Martin Luther King, Jr., expressed in his 'I Have a Dream' speech, for example, was deeply rooted not only in America's professed values of equality and inclusion, but also in African-Americans' experience of subordination and exclusion.

At the same time, the pressure to articulate a vision can get a leader into difficulty. As one university president put it: 'Everyone asks, 'What's your vision?' But you offend many people and get into trouble by answering too quickly. The smart response at the beginning is, 'What do you think?' and then listen before you articulate your vision.'

A successful vision has to be attractive to various circles of followers and stakeholders. What plays well with one group may not sit well with another. And, to be sustainable, a successful vision must also be an effective diagnosis of the situation that a group faces. Leaders must get the question right before proposing answers. To choose goals and articulate them in a vision, they need not only to solicit input from their followers, but also to understand the context of their choices. They must be able to assess reality accurately.

The boldness of a vision varies with the type of leadership involved. Leaders of social movements can call forth larger visions than public officials can. A movement leader can promote a vision that is miles ahead of his followers, while a prime minister with multiple objectives and responsibilities must maintain a continuous dialogue with the public, which keeps him or her from moving too far ahead of citizens. After former US Vice President Al Gore lost his bid for the presidency in 2000, he became a leader of the social movement to combat global climate change, and his style changed from pragmatic to inspirational and prophetic.

Analysts judge a government leader's vision in terms of whether it creates a sensible balance between realism and risk, and whether it balances objectives with capabilities. Anyone can produce a wish list, but effective visions combine inspiration with feasibility.

Critics of former British Prime Minister Tony Blair, for example, acknowledged that his ability to articulate a vision was one of his great strengths as a leader, but complained about his lack of attention to detail. Similarly, two twentieth-century US presidents, Woodrow Wilson and George W. Bush, were good at articulating an ambitious foreign-policy vision, but were poor at refining and reshaping their vision when they encountered implementation challenges. Both promoted democracy, but both did so in a manner that generated a backlash against democracy promotion.

Of course, prudence is not enough. Sometimes leaders need to stretch the boundaries of realism to inspire their followers and call forth extra effort, as Winston Churchill did in Great Britain in 1940. But, without a degree of prudence based upon comprehension of the context, visions turn from grand to grandiose and undercut the values that they seek to promote.

Like Franklin Roosevelt, who acted very cautiously in trying to persuade American opinion to abandon isolationism in the 1930's, Merkel has proceeded cautiously on saving the euro. She faced public skepticism about using German funds to bail out the Greek economy. Her coalition was divided on the issue, and her party lost state elections. If she had acted more boldly, she might have lost even more support, but the steps that she agreed to remained insufficient to reassure markets.

At the end of October, however, she finally articulated a vision of the future of Europe that persuaded the German Bundestag to agree to a package of measures to save the euro. Whether she waited too long - and whether her vision will prove convincing - will be determined in the coming months.
Joseph Nye, a former US assistant secretary of defense, is a professor at Harvard and the author of The Future of Power.

Too bad, no. I see little vision of the new PAP compared to the old PAP of 1959 and even less in WP from beginning to end, of which the new stop short of being more task oriented, organised, altrustic that's all.

They do have visions. It is mostly directed towards their pockets. Mahathir's vision of Malaysia 2020 is worst. He is bringing his country towards bankruptcy.

To link Bushy beside anything connected to the word visionary is vocab diarrhoea. good thing American presidency is limited to 8 years.
Tony Blair another shit stirer touring the world now asking Western countries to gang up and stand against China while happily ripping off chinese idiots paying $1000 dinner.

present day visionary.. Alan Greenspan... too bad not politician..

Not kidding? Visions as in rainbow colours on the surface of a massive soap bubble?

the housing bubble burst near the end of his career... and a bunch of wall street opportunist needed a real big head on the block. Anyways.. OP looking for local visionary.. no input on this..

Politicians in Singapore is not pointing us to a direction cos they dont have any direction in the 1st place. We as a country is not working towards something. No Goal and No Ambition. The country is currently running without any guidance and is just swaying with the wind. The bigger problem is we dont have any leader.

He planted the seeds of destruction while in office, by setting low interest rates that created the housing bubble..you really ought to read more..not just drop names.

the housing bubble burst near the end of his career... and a bunch of wall street opportunist needed a real big head on the block. Anyways.. OP looking for local visionary.. no input on this..

Perhaps beside the usual diatribes we may justifiably hurl in the direction of the MIW, I wonder:-

Kingrant TS, what is your vision, especially as a man who has enough years to witness the good, the bad & the ugly ?

More generally, for all the prominent forummers who who have impressed me with their various POVs - what are your visions ?

Are visions any meaningful in a world where change abounds at a pace that is sometimes breathtaking & dare i say - unpredictable?

Their vision of winning back the election was to demolish the whole ward (Hillview Ave Estate) and dispersed the voters. No vision of serving the voters of promising upgrading nor do good for the ward. Will they demolish Potong Pair and dispersed the voters next?

They do have visions. It is mostly directed towards their pockets. Mahathir's vision of Malaysia 2020 is worst. He is bringing his country towards bankruptcy.

Elephanto,

My vision is not important since I am not a leader. Thank you for seeing me so up, but having lived enough years does not nec mean that one has a vision or that he has a better vision, or else there would not be young visionary leaders.

Having said that, I suppose you must wonder what I might be thinking of when I ask "Are our leaders visonary?" or how else will I be able to judge and by what yardstick/framework?

Therefore, my vision is to see a better Singapore, with an excellent government in place who responds and cares for the people while striving for decent GDP growth, better wealth and income distribution, less stressful living, pacing out the new immigrants at a rate commensurate with infrastructural growth and cultural integration. Singaporeans should have higher value jobs to get them higher pay. Foreign talents must be real talents that Singapore does not have. Housing within reach of the young starting couple, an education system that imparts values and traditions not just a production line for jobs, in all so that couples will be able to afford children and love and nourish them. We shld allow room for and see more constructive discussions and debates in the public sphere on where we want to go, and a govt who resonates with the people.

It's too long for a vision statement, you can term it a utopian view, but then I havent given it much thought to crafting it. It's like meeting mr. or miss right, something that you know it when you feel it.

Perhaps beside the usual diatribes we may justifiably hurl in the direction of the MIW, I wonder:-

Kingrant TS, what is your vision, especially as a man who has enough years to witness the good, the bad & the ugly ?

More generally, for all the prominent forummers who who have impressed me with their various POVs - what are your visions ?

Are visions any meaningful in a world where change abounds at a pace that is sometimes breathtaking & dare i say - unpredictable?

There is one guy who can't see beyond the silver spoon stuck in his mouth.

wen u get 8 mths bonus wen ur gdp tis yr is goot, u dun waste ur time 2 c far ... :rolleyes:

There is one guy who can't see beyond the silver spoon stuck in his mouth.

*sighs* were there any with a wooden spoon in the mouth amongst them?

Tough question to answer. Need to give a historical narrative, bits and pieces assembled here and there for an interpretation.

The Old Days
As the story goes, LKY and his team invested heavily in infrastructure, attracted sophisticated (albeit fair-weathered) MNCs to set up industries in town with tax breaks, and created national industries where there are none. This was the Golden Age of Singapore, an Age of Industrialization and Prosperity forever etched in the minds of old timers. "A chicken in every pot, a roof over every family" was the order of the day.

The formula worked well until it didn't. Old Man Lee hurriedly passed the baton to the US-trained (as in University of Singapore) economist GCT, who shall be remembered for overseeing ministerial/civil service pay rise, privatizations and bestowing royal honour to *lowborn* MPs from RI. "Animal spirits and the invisible hand shall save us all", says he.

But alas it wasn't quite enough.

The last straw came when a higher mortal, one MIT-trained economist unmasked the miracle that was touted of our success. "It will not last", says he.

Vision of Prophecy
"Move aside lowly minion!" came a booming voice, The slap came after that. This anointed one rightly believes the Divine Right of Kings flowed through his royal veins, not to mention those of his extended family members despite their dilution and taint with peasant stock. A bloodless coup d'etat ensured, replacing the *lowborns* at critical posts. Only TRUE royal blood will do! Today the highborns decide what to do with balance of payment surplus and the deployment of citizens' trust fund in the global poker championship. Primogeniture was reenacted (SG was GB colony), enabling proven nobles loyal to the Crown to be rewarded with hereditary peerage as highborn MPs. As your children shall inherit your HDB flat, so shall Lord Lim, Earl of East Coast who shall pass on his title to his heir when he retires.

Yet even with the ingredients changed, the recipe hasn't changed from the gloomy days of Holy Goh. "Let a thousand industries bloom! Let the invisible hand and the ingenuity of the entrepreneurs save us all from globalization!" Sadly the only ingenuity we see is how companies have circumvented labour regulations to put able bodied young men out of work and dodged financial regulations to rob old ladies of their piggy banks.

To his credit, he did have the foresight to target the F in the redhot FIRE sectors. Mentioned in the OECD tax haven blacklist, Singapore is either a dubious hub for international wealth or an international hub for dubious wealth, streaming in from either a dear neighbour or the ancestral homeland. Many younglings found the good well-paying jobs he hoped to create.

So on the economic front, some might say he has a good head on his shoulders, a visionary perhaps for the foresight of spreading out the economic bets. Throw enough darts and some will hit the board. Certainly it paid off for people in the FIs. Healthcare sector appears to have mixed results. Life science (higher ed), casino (lower ed) is failing miserably to create gainful employment for the plebs. And of course, everything else is pretty much doomed. Not to be outdone is one other constant in SG life, and that is the admin service which will continue to dance as long as the music is playing.

A Demon of our own Design
Alas Sleepy Dragon was done in by the RE of the FIRE sectors. Capital inflow was not (perhaps cannot?) be controlled, and residency/citizenship was dished out like flyers with a token "investment" sum in the country, and that happened to include private properties. The saying goes, if everyone in China or Indonesia spit in SG, she will be flooded from Orchard Road to Marina Barrage. Fortunately we are faced with only 1% of Mainland wealth, which had floated property prices upwards only by 50% under the fog of a protracted global recession. Many a private developer made their fortunes several times over riding on the prolific growth of the tropical concrete jungle.

Faced with a dilemma between an angry "homeless" populace, the pocketbooks of all their loyal friends who joined in the property development craze and the interest of the state coffers, does it surprise you to see the current state of affairs? Please don't give me the high and mighty, "Oh! Those greedy little men in white!" YOU too would have done the same! (I would, if my nett worth depended on the value of private properties propped up by generous mortgages offered)

Externalities be damned. Even celebrated visionaries like the recently demised Stevie knew that sacrifices have to be made. By others preferably. Like nameless Foxconn factory workers polishing the aluminum body of the latest iPhone models under hazardous working conditions in a remote part of China. Out of sight, out of mind.

A poor man dies. A rich man lives on. A fair trade. I love you, Sinkies.

Lesson Learnt
Make sure the bold visionary is on your side.

To link Bushy beside anything connected to the word visionary is vocab diarrhoea. good thing American presidency is limited to 8 years.
Tony Blair another shit stirer touring the world now asking Western countries to gang up and stand against China while happily ripping off chinese idiots paying $1000 dinner.

present day visionary.. Alan Greenspan... too bad not politician..

Any visionary who wins US Presidency will lose all vision :rolleyes: after spending a day in the oval office.

lianbeng replies, "all color blind n myopic how to have vision?":confused:

Yes, our leaders are visionary. Or more accurately, our leader (there is only one leader effectively, the rest are just followers, and everyone know who that leader is, the one with the rare nerve disease now) is visionary. But then again, he only has one vision - to enhance the government reserves and to enrich the government-link companies. All policies made by the government (which basically is made up of people who are simply taking the cue from this one leader with the rare nerve) are centered round this vision. Just as there is corporate greed, which is what the Occupy Wall Street and the likes round the world are protesting about, there is government greed. Or put it another way, the government has become addicted to building up its reserves and that of its companies, as if it is heroin or any kind of drugs. Some people say that one leader gets his orgaism by watching the government reserves grow. That's what he is totally pre-occupied with now. And that's why we have all such ill-conceived policies that are hurting the people. The people are not their concerns, the reserves are. Even for those rare policies that benefit the workers, they were not made with the workers in mind, they were made to benefit the government-link companies, and the workers benefited as a side product. For example, the Job Credit Scheme, it was the government ingenuous way to keep the money within themselves because government-linked companies are the largest employers in Singapore and so they get the most cash payout from the government. It wasn't the workers that the government cared about, or at least not in their priortiy. And that's why when all other countries gave out cash vouchers to its people to help them tie over, our government refused to do that, choosing instead to do it through the Job Credit Scheme, the motivation of which I just elaborated above.