• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Retrenchment waves begain Philips Lighting chop 4500 jobs

tun_dr_m

http://tw.news.yahoo.com/飛利浦-將砍4-50...ItZjk0MC0xMWUwLTllM2QtZmYxNTEyZTg0N2M0;_ylv=3

飛利浦 將砍4,500人
聯合新聞網作者: 編譯林文彬╱綜合外電 | 聯合新聞網 – 2011年10月18日 下午12:17
相關內容

新聞報導: 美二次衰退 專家:發生機率低

中央廣播電台 - 2011年10月18日 上午11:39
新聞報導: 就業寒冬? 9月職缺驟減5%

中時電子報 - 2011年10月18日 下午2:41

全球最大照明設備製造商飛利浦電子(Royal Philips)17日公布的第三季財報顯示,因消費者需求成長趨緩及景氣不佳,公司淨利與去年同期相比暴跌85%。該公司並宣布,為縮減成本,未來將在全球裁員4,500人。飛利浦也表示,因談判陷入膠著,電視事業出售計畫可能生變。

飛利浦上季淨利7,400萬歐元(1.027億美元),較去年同期的5.24億歐元大幅縮水,唯優於分析師預估的5,160萬歐元;營收由去年同期的54.6億歐元萎縮至53.9億歐元,但因去年數據仍囊括電視部門,因此飛利浦稱營收實際成長6%。

以電視部門為主的停運部門,上季為飛利浦帶來5,400萬歐元虧損。飛利浦4月即計畫出售旗下電視事業給冠捷科技(TPV Technology),唯目前進度仍不明。飛利浦表示,他們目前與冠捷科技正積極協商,若未能達成協議,會尋求替代方案。

第三季飛利浦飛利浦的稅前息前折舊攤銷前盈餘(EBITA)成長率與去年相較亦有顯著縮水,照明部門由11.3%下跌至5.8%、消費產品由12.1%降至7.4%、醫療保健產品則表現相對較佳。

飛利浦執行長萬豪敦(Frans van Houten)表示,他並不滿意此季的財務狀況,但預料短期內情況也不會好轉。不過他補充,公司訂下2013年營收成長率4%至6%、EBITA成長率10%至12%的目標,目前仍朝此目標努力。

另外,裁員策略是4月提出的8億歐元成本削減計畫其中一環,預估全球裁員人數達4,500人,其中荷蘭就將占1,400人。萬豪敦說,為使飛利浦恢復舊有活力以面對經濟風暴,裁員為必要之惡。美國的奇異公司(GE)和德國的西門子(Siemens AG)在照明產業亦占有一席之地,但飛利浦與其對手相比,對市場相對敏感,因此第三季獲利也較競爭對手受到較大衝擊。飛利浦股價17日在阿姆斯特丹一度漲逾4.6%,但今年來已跌逾35%,總市值縮水至149億歐元,相較之下競爭對手西門子年初迄今下跌18%。

england pls. and what for you post taiwan news??? taiwan sweat shops should have been outsourced to china long ago!

<iframe width="425" height="350" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" src="http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&amp;source=s_q&amp;hl=en&amp;geocode=&amp;q=England&amp;sll=37.0625,-95.677068&amp;sspn=86.312934,56.777344&amp;vpsrc=6&amp;ie=UTF8&amp;hq=&amp;hnear=England,+United+Kingdom&amp;t=m&amp;ll=52.025459,-0.791016&amp;spn=9.470835,18.676758&amp;z=5&amp;iwloc=A&amp;output=embed"></iframe><br /><small><a href="http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&amp;source=embed&amp;hl=en&amp;geocode=&amp;q=England&amp;sll=37.0625,-95.677068&amp;sspn=86.312934,56.777344&amp;vpsrc=6&amp;ie=UTF8&amp;hq=&amp;hnear=England,+United+Kingdom&amp;t=m&amp;ll=52.025459,-0.791016&amp;spn=9.470835,18.676758&amp;z=5&amp;iwloc=A" style="color:#0000FF;text-align:left">View Larger Map</a></small>

Nah! England I gave you already! :D

Ang Moh also have lah! ;)

Philips to cut 4,500
BBC News Author: Compile Lin Wenbin ╱ YORK | BBC News - October 18, 2011 12:17 PM
Related Content

News: U.S. expert double dip: low occurrence of machine

Central Radio - October 18, 2011 11:39 AM
News: Employment winter? Job openings in September plummeted 5%

In the Times - October 18, 2011 2:41 PM

The world's largest lighting manufacturers Philips Electronics (Royal Philips) 17 announced third-quarter results, due to slowing consumer demand and economic growth is poor, compared to last year's net profit plunged 85%. The company also announced that to cut costs, the future will lay off 4,500 people in the world. Philips also said that because of the negotiations languished in the TV industry plans to be sold has changed.

Philips quarter net profit on 74 million euros ($ 102.7 million), compared with last year's € 524 million has shrunk dramatically, only better than the analyst estimate of 51.6 million euros; revenue from the 5.46 billion euros last year shrank to 5.39 billion euros , but last year's data still include television department, Philips said actual revenue growth of 6%.

The television sector-led outage department, the previous quarter for Philips to bring 54 million euros loss. Philips plans to sell in April that its TV business to TPV Technology (TPV Technology), the current progress of the CD is still unknown. Philips said they are currently active consultations with the TPV, if unable to reach agreement, will seek alternatives.

Philips Philips third quarter pre-tax earnings before interest and depreciation and amortization (EBITA) growth rates were also significantly diminished compared with last year, lighting sector from 11.3% down to 5.8%, down from 12.1% of consumer products to 7.4%, the relative performance of health care products are better.

Philips CEO Frans van Houten (Frans van Houten), said he is not satisfied the financial position this season, but the expected short-term situation will not improve. But he added that the company set a 2013 revenue growth rate of 4% 至 6%, EBITA growth rate of 10% to 12% of the target, is still towards this goal.

In addition, layoffs strategy is made in April € 800 million cost reduction plan in which part of the world's estimated number of layoffs of 4,500 people, including the Netherlands account for 1,400 people. Frans van Houten said that in order to restore the old Philips vitality to the face of economic turmoil, layoffs as a necessary evil. American Electric Company (GE) and Germany's Siemens (Siemens AG) has a place in the lighting industry, Philips and its competitors, the market is relatively sensitive to third-quarter earnings are also subject to greater impact than the competitors. 17 in Amsterdam, Philips stock was up more than 4.6%, but this year has fallen more than 35% of the total market capitalization has shrunk to 149 million euros, compared rival Siemens fell 18% year to date.

i old uncle retrenched liao....no job just limkopi.....you young ones the big spenders will suffer.your car.your house.your clubs. your girl friends and mistresses. your health clubs.your everything will be gone soon. so take measures now. the world is going to be terribly terrible....

Heard that UTAC (United Test Assembly Centre Ltd) just chopped 200 jobs in Singapore. Another lot of workers will be retrenched in December. I think the electronics industry is undergoing a downturn and maybe other Singapore companies and support industries will be doing the same.

the term will still live on .. now eat ECONOMY rice....ECONOMY travel on MRT, buses and bicycles ....ECONOMY cheonging, bang cheap aqua for $10 iso $300 SYT from overseas. :(

The term ECONOMY will soon become a historic term.

what's new? i was a BEng(Hons) EEE graduate and now driving a cab...:(

Heard that UTAC (United Test Assembly Centre Ltd) just chopped 200 jobs in Singapore. Another lot of workers will be retrenched in December. I think the electronics industry is undergoing a downturn and maybe other Singapore companies and support industries will be doing the same.