Nice things said about Sg

Agoraphobic

Article about Sg.

The Globe and Mail is a business oriented newspaper. Locals in the lakes area read more the Toronto Star. Truckdrivers prefer The Sun.

Suggest to go to the comments site to view readers' comments to get a balanced view.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/repo...ngapore-its-save-and-be-saved/article2182024/

In Singapore, it’s save and be saved
NEIL REYNOLDS |Columnist profile| E-mail
SINGAPORE— From Wednesday's Globe and Mail
Published Tuesday, Sep. 27, 2011 6:22PM EDT
52 comments

Singapore has been frequently derided as an authoritarian nanny state – dismissed in one vicious critique as “Disneyland with the death penalty.” Singapore is definitely the wrong place for repeat drug offenders and rapists. At the same time, however, it is a good (although imperfect) example of limited government spending: It nationalizes only 17 per cent of gross domestic product a year (compared, for example, with Canada’s 39 per cent). Yet Singapore has excellent health care, exceptionally low unemployment, minimal poverty, high literacy and one of the world’s most dynamic economies. How did it get so many things so right?
Henry Kissinger once described colonial Singapore as “located on a sandbar with nary a natural resource.” When Great Britain granted the it independence in 1959, Singapore was an impoverished Third World island nation with all the filth and fever that stagnant sewage ensures in a densely populated city (population: one million) of slums. Per-capita GDP then was $400 (U.S.).
In the 50 years since, Singapore’s nominal per-capita GDP growth has signalled its astonishing advance: in 1990, $12,000; in 2000, $22,000; in 2010, $50,000 – or, expressed in terms of purchasing power, $62,000. This ranks Singapore as the fifth highest in the world, well ahead of the United States (in 11th place with per-capita GDP of $47,200) and Canada (in 22nd place with per-capita GDP of $39,400).
The Economist says Singapore (current population: five million, about the same as Denmark) now has the best quality of life in the Asia-Pacific – though it has no government-run welfare state. The World Bank says Singapore is the easiest country in the world to do business. Transparency International says its is one the least corrupt countries.
Boston Consulting Group says Singapore has more millionaires, relative to population, than any other country in the world: 15.2 per cent of all households have more than $1-million of personal assets “under active management,” which means that house values aren’t counted.
Singapore’s unemployment rate normally hovers around 2 per cent. In the aftermath of the global financial crisis, it doubled to 4 per cent. Singapore’s economy nosedived only briefly and quickly recovered. Its economy contracted by 0.8 per cent in 2009 and rebounded by 14.5 per cent in 2010.
Singapore owes much of its success to the blend of eccentric socialism theory, family-based Confucian instincts and the laissez-faire enlightenment of Lee Kuan Yew, otherwise known, from his student days in London, as Harry Lee, the long-time prime minister and life-time guardian of the parliamentary republic he established in 1965. Mr. Lee’s instincts were paternalistic. But he knew, in the 1960s, that his country couldn’t afford a welfare state. So he used government’s coercive power to compel Singaporeans to build it themselves. Specifically, he compelled people to save 20 per cent of their wages in personal savings accounts – and to invest the money as best they could.
Singaporeans still put 20 per cent of their wages into their central provident fund (CPF) accounts, which they control – subject to some idiosyncratic restraints. You can use CFP funds to buy your house, which explains why 92 per cent of Singapore families own their homes. But you must set aside 6 per cent of your savings for “MediSave” expenses. (For major medical expenses, you can pool your MediSave funds with the MediSave funds of family members.) And the government requires certain investments. You must, for example, buy stock in Singapore’s profit-making bus system, thus encouraging you to use public transit.
Mr. Lee understood the strength of socialism as a political doctrine and the strength of capitalism as an economic force. You will need a pension one day. You will need medical care one day. You will lose your job one day. You may well be poor one day. These risks require insurance. So save your money. At any given time, only 3,000 Singaporeans receive state-distributed, last-resort assistance. Person for person, Singaporeans are the most diligent savers in the world – and among the least taxed. They are apparently quite content to keep it that way.

i think no body disputes what PAP & LKY (and the founding fathers) have done for SG from her birth till like 5 - 6 years ago...

no one will deny their contributions n the fantastic achievements.

but what they have done 5 years ago till now is subject to debate.

past success, unfortunately, is no guarantee of future success. But PAP like to draw back on achievements of the past, yes, its nice and good to mention old days and what you have done...but hey, the world changes every second, what you do next is what is most critical and important...

i think no body disputes what PAP & LKY (and the founding fathers) have done for SG from her birth till like 5 - 6 years ago...

but what they have done 5 years ago till now is subject to debate ...
agree 1st part ... but rot started much loonger dan 5 yrs ago ...

past success, unfortunately, is no guarantee of future success. But PAP like to draw back on achievements of the past, yes, its nice and good to mention old days and what you have done...but hey, the world changes every second, what you do next is what is most critical and important...

They have been living on their history for the past few years.

agree 1st part ... but rot started much loonger dan 5 yrs ago ...

Yes, it started during the last few years of LKY as a PM and he pass the rotten baton to GCT.
GCT proudly put on his own sized shoes and walk behind LKY with the rotten baton and carry on as it is.

What has Kuan Yew done for Singapore? :confused:

Singaporeans are the most diligent savers in the world – and among the least taxed. They are apparently quite content to keep it that way.

The author is talking through his arse. Most Sinkies are in negative equity territory and they're amongst the most highly taxed in the whole world. :rolleyes:

Administrations in the current and past half a decade seek to address/postphone symptoms that start to rear their ugly heads from causes done decades ago.:rolleyes:

........ typical 60%......sigh.

The author is talking through his arse. Most Sinkies are in negative equity territory and they're amongst the most highly taxed in the whole world. :rolleyes:

Short term visitors see a prosperous nation, with locals having lots of disposable cash. Examples of these are:

- High end restaurants are crowded and full at lunch and dinner times.
- Regional weekned escapade holidays are fully booked. Up to six months advance booking at some.
- Despite highest prices in the world, lots of Benzs, Beemers, Audis on the roads. Maseratis even.
- Orchard Road glitz.

Those who work and live here after a while will realize that the cost of living is beyond the working class. But their voices are not heard, and most of the locals love the grandiose they're living in.

I believe a lot of this perception is deliberate. Expose Sg as a successful high living place. Your statement is absolutely right on, but Sg doesn't show that.

great place to do business and park ill gotten wealth no doubt, but a horrible place if you're stuck as a citizen with no wealth, no upward mobility and means to be mobile around the world.

OK lah mai hiam buay pai. Ai hiam kana sai LOL

Work is work and everybody got own work for own living. No wealth is everybody own problem regardless of which country. Born poor is born poor. Want to blame who? Only cockup I blame this country NS.

Other than the fucked up government and the fucked up people, I've nothing to complain about Sinkieland :D

OK lah mai hiam buay pai. Ai hiam kana sai LOL

Work is work and everybody got own work for own living. No wealth is everybody own problem regardless of which country. Born poor is born poor. Want to blame who? Only cockup I blame this country NS.

good afternoon, madmansg. long time no shiok.

LOL you kah salah liao. I hate NS but not so much like the old Madmansg in the old forum LOL

But NS is really cockup. KNN waste two years for nothing. For me one and half years only since my accident fell off from 3-tonner and early discharge. Medical is free but KNN no insurance payment also. Further treatment also pay myself. Recover is recover, no more reservist also good, but in cold or rainy day, my leg still pain.

2 yrs may be gone but still got the fucking ICT. I also incurred a few long term injuries from NS. Fuck NS :mad:

What has Kuan Yew done for Singapore? :confused:

This one I have to add, despite the fact I detest the 'last leaf', had given hope & aspiration to a lowly & poor educated generation, brought them out of the slums into a brand new world, that they can be proud of. But, he had a team of people working for & with him, who were diligent & honest, he is not alone, it was not a one man's job, though he steals the thunder!. The rest is HISTORY or his story!.

At least 50% of these households are working for the government? :confused::rolleyes:

Boston Consulting Group says Singapore has more millionaires, relative to population, than any other country in the world: 15.2 per cent of all households have more than $1-million of personal assets “under active management,” which means that house values aren’t counted.