Solar Bottle Bulbs - Damn good idea to save the world

[video=youtube;HbHnlOVoHt4]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HbHnlOVoHt4[/video]

[video=youtube;Q0_4qFrxw_4]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q0_4qFrxw_4[/video]

At night/rain such bottle are use less.
Not much different if roof open up replace with glass.
The bottle cannot store light energy. Only act like transfer light medium.

Knn....its daytime....and it's just transferring light!! given this medium, i am sure there are much more easier and more efficient ways...this is really spastic

See 1:30 They invented a solar torchlight. :D

<iframe width="560" height="345" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/vM3khoMrp-g" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

This is not new. In the west, people use optic fiber to light up the whole building during day time and store energy with aid of solar panels for electricity when there is not enough sunlight.

I think u guys didn't get the whole idea of this concept, this invention is so practical, so cheap and it recycles the bottles, even the poor people can use it. Sure, there are many better ways, better inventions, but are they affordable/easy available to the poor? Are they environmental friendly?

Haiz, I think we are too pampered in our way of living that some of us think this idea is spastic or not practical......

I thought this is ingenious. As one of the largest manufacturer of skylight system in this part of the world, I can say that this cost next to nothing to get light into the house.

For those who commented that this is just to transfer light into a dark room during the day time and no use at night and any opening like glass will do the job I think this is a very stupid comment because isn't it obvious the purpose is for day time sky lighting? And isn't it obvious these fellas can't afford to pay for tampered glass? If you listen carefully the result is like a 50W bulb I think this is great illumination considering the opening is just a small hole. I will be out of business if this become very popular so I think this is a great and simple product. The only concern I have is waterproofing but then hell what ever works for the poor is good because if I start to suggest a good waterproofing it will make the whole thing too expensive.

I thought this is ingenious. As one of the largest manufacturer of skylight system in this part of the world, I can say that this cost next to nothing to get light into the house.......
you explained better than me, thanks Joe, hahaha....

Why dont just use a piece of translucent plastic sheet as roofing material to serve as skylight?

Calling it solar bottle bulb ? hahah...just a plastic water bottle in a fucking hole! I thot it captures the solar energy in the daytime and then lights up in the night.

A 9 for effort but 1 for idea.

Alamak... You open up a big hole on top, put a plastic sheet, it will generate heat lah.... and it cost more.... The bottle and the water are vital because it direct the sunlight into just 1 small area.

It look simple, but would anyone of you thought of it? Pengz.....

Alamaking,

OK..I see yr pov. I guess otw the only place the bottles would have gone is another garbage mountain in the village centre! A 10 for tree-hugging, 9 for effort and a 5 for ideas.

A normal translucent plastic sheet is no good. Also you did not clarify what sheet it is. Is it a sheet with the same profile (shape as the old attap roof?) or is it a plastic bag sheet you are talking about? If you are talking about a translucent sheet that has the same profile as the attap then these people cannot afford for sure. If it is a plastic bag sheeting might as well just have a hole as water proofing will be a nightmare. Also normal plastic cannot do the job it has to have a small amount of anti-uv resistance if not the plastic sheet will fail in no time.

Again you missed the point about lighting in the night. Many poor people's houses do not even have a window and the walls can be made of zinc sheets or worst cardboards. Its very dark inside day or night. So by using skylight you get light in your property during the day without having to turn on the light. Its just like all factories and warehouses they install translucent sheetings on the roofs to allow light to come into the factory floor so that they save electricity during the day.

Why dont just use a piece of translucent plastic sheet as roofing material to serve as skylight?

Calling it solar bottle bulb ? hahah...just a plastic water bottle in a fucking hole! I thot it captures the solar energy in the daytime and then lights up in the night.

A 9 for effort but 1 for idea.

I was just being sarcastic because only the very very rich can afford glass on their roof, the normal guys have polycarbonate or fibreglass translucent sheets, the poor people have nothing.

still use tempered glass in Thailand? over here buggers move goal post liow, all glass must be laminated

Pilipino in the state of today have to blame their culture. Have resources and land but poor country.
If manage properly their electricity can be free only need to built thermal power plant. They can grow rice and many other plant because Philipine soil is very fertile soil. What they need is proper planing and good leader.
No everyday thinking of movie star. Stupid dream.

This is a bankrupt country. Its peso used to be equal to US$. It has gold mines and many other natural resources. I cannot say I pity the Filipinos because they chose to be like this and is proud of it too. Sigh.

Pilipino in the state of today have to blame their culture. Have resources and land but poor country.
If manage properly their electricity can be free only need to built thermal power plant. They can grow rice and many other plant because Philipine soil is very fertile soil. What they need is proper planing and good leader.
No everyday thinking of movie star. Stupid dream.

Their culture is based on Christianity. That's what you get when your whole country or majority believe in useless fairy tales. It impedes real thinking! USA is next on the line to stupidity. Hopefully the growing % of non-believers can save the country in time.