The State of NUS Lectures

I can’t tell you how much I hate it when on the first day of the semester a professor has a slide that says “how to score an A in this module”. If he’d simply change that to “how to actually learn what I’m teaching you”, I’d be so much more open to listening.

The professors have a much larger responsibility I feel. They are the leaders of this learning, and must act as such. They must be the ones pushing the students to think, to respond and to be actively engaged in more than just solving questions. They are paid for, and are entrusted with, shouldering the heavy burden of designing an entire course for students, and they’ve got to see that as an opportunity to impress ideas upon students.

Less powerpoints please, and more writing on the board, getting people to answer, encouraging discussions. Believe me – you know more than your slides, and the slides don’t have PhDs. Talk to me. No more of “if you come next week I’ll give you exam tips” and more of “I don’t care what grade you score”.

- http://kentridgecommon.com/?p=13441&page=2

I can’t tell you how much I hate it when on the first day of the semester a professor has a slide that says “how to score an A in this module”. If he’d simply change that to “how to actually learn what I’m teaching you”, I’d be so much more open to listening.

The professors have a much larger responsibility I feel. They are the leaders of this learning, and must act as such. They must be the ones pushing the students to think, to respond and to be actively engaged in more than just solving questions. They are paid for, and are entrusted with, shouldering the heavy burden of designing an entire course for students, and they’ve got to see that as an opportunity to impress ideas upon students.

Less powerpoints please, and more writing on the board, getting people to answer, encouraging discussions. Believe me – you know more than your slides, and the slides don’t have PhDs. Talk to me. No more of “if you come next week I’ll give you exam tips” and more of “I don’t care what grade you score”.

- http://kentridgecommon.com/?p=13441&page=2

I dunno if times have changed...n lectures are no longer held in auditoriums where 100+ students cram in to listen...if it is the same, KNN, where got effective?

those siao ons will sit in front, those bo chup will sit behind to surf net, tok cock, eat tidbits and finger each other (yes, its true)

and some more with so many FTs, some cannot even speak proper English to save their lives or some with accents so thick that you need a ice breaker to cut through.

like that how can not fall asleep?

In many cases you cannot blame the professors. They have KPIs to meet. If their students score poorly, their rice bowls may be at stake. Many Sinkies and Ah-Tiongs (who are flooding our universities) are only interested in scoring As for their modules. Mastering the subject and improving their critical thinking skills are simply not on their list of priorities. In fact, they ARE NOT on any list at all. From my own experience, class discussions were often deathly affairs.The lecturer had to 'arrow' people to get them to open their golden mouths. If you were the lecturer, you would also feel very sian with the unresponsive zombies in front of you.

thats the edu system for u...conc on grades ...nvm the learning part.

99.99 percent of us never do tutorial what waiting for ans LOL

They pretend to teach us, we pretend to learn.