Singapore First Names !!

I remember that Singaporeans used to laugh at Hong Kongers for having first and christian names that was fanciful, no foundation and worse still carried a meaning that they did not understand. The one that comes to mind is Carrion.

Then things started to change in Singapore where Malays began adopting western names with a such a diana, nora, mikhail, etc

The Chinese SIngaporeans have joined with Kinsten, Trinettta and these two I saw in this forum today.

Wonder where all this is going?

I remember that Singaporeans used to laugh at Hong Kongers for having first and christian names that was fanciful, no foundation and worse still carried a meaning that they did not understand. The one that comes to mind is Carrion.

Then things started to change in Singapore where Malays began adopting western names with a such a diana, nora, mikhail, etc

The Chinese SIngaporeans have joined with Kinsten, Trinettta and these two I saw in this forum today.

Don't even start, i have friends who have children who will grow up resenting their parents :D
They deserve it, John, Peter and Mary are good enough

Don't even start, i have friends who have children who will grow up resenting their parents :D
They deserve it, John, Peter and Mary are good enough

Your friend is Jack Neo? He actually named his son Raffles Neo. Poor boy :D

I find it strange that Singaporeans like to use the surnames of Ang Mos as their name. One good example is Jackson.

Your friend is Jack Neo? He actually named his son Raffles Neo. Poor boy :D

I find it strange that Singaporeans like to use the surnames of Ang Mos as their name. One good example is Jackson.

I find it strange that Singaporeans would want to write their English surnames in Chinese pinying. It is very stupid in my mind.

It is a sign of progress, where third world migrants finally embrace modernity and civilisation. In my view, if you want a Chinese surname such as 'Neo' or 'Tan' or other sounds reminiscence of a Donkey shouting, don't speak or write your name in English, keep to Chinese, your native tongue.

Hope that helps.

Once bought a 2nd hand Mountain bike from a guy by the name of Bentley...

My friend even named his son Fernando after the football player Fernando Torres..:o

I know of a bigger idiot couple who named their child Beckham :rolleyes:

It's good he did not name him Torres. Keke. Brother, nowadays you very active here ah. Last night 12 midnight see you post, this morning 7 early 8 early see you post, now also posting. Must spend more time with 大嫂 lah :D

i heard of a chemistry prof that name his kids under major classification of organic compound

alkane, alkene, aldehyde......

I recall a similar situation where the kids were called Atom, Neutron but can't remember if there was a 3rd kid.
i heard of a chemistry prof that name his kids under major classification of organic compoundalkane, alkene, aldehyde......

During my more rebellious years, and as if to buck the convention of the West, I adopted a Russian nick and called myself Ivanov Tansky. A bit of Singasthanesque twang..

Those days, the Russians were on ascendancy.

It's good he did not name him Torres. Keke. Brother, nowadays you very active here ah. Last night 12 midnight see you post, this morning 7 early 8 early see you post, now also posting. Must spend more time with 大嫂 lah :D

Today and tommorow my off day... Next week I be taking 4 days leave because there are some minor renovations to be done on my new flat that I had just moved in last July.... My wife went to Penang with her mom.. So bored lah.. Lucky got my dog and cat to keep me company... maybe later I'll go to my parents home at Tampines.. Watch football at the kopitiam there with my old neighborhood buddies...

bro, wife not at home what are you waiting for man!!!!

Tomorrow free go chicken farm look for me lor. Keke. Now researching which stall to go eat. This forum should have a chatroom. Sorry bro Scroobal, diverted from the topic.

tomorrow free go chicken farm look for me lor. Keke. Now researching which stall to go eat. This forum should have a chatroom. Sorry bro scroobal, diverted from the topic.

bo chio ???

I still feel a parent should not name his son by the name of ''Dick''....

It will be awkward for the boy when he grows up...

bo chio ???

Provided you don't bring your gun? Tomorrow go explore Lorong 20-30. Alot of small lanes got nice happening :D

Later bro Scroobal online sure angry. His thread become kio kway thread :p