Dow collapse and S'pore will fall to 2,600 Thursday but not time to bargain hunt lah,

GeylangCheongster

NEW YORK—Stocks nosedive at the close of trading as investors' attention returns to the weak economy and Europe's debt problems.

The Dow Jones industrial average is down 519, or 4.6 percent, to 10,720. It's the third time in the last five trading days that the Dow lost more than 500 points. The S&P 500 is down 51 points, or 4.4 percent, to 1,121. The Nasdaq is down 101, or 4.1 percent, to 2,381.

European bank stocks fell on worries that the region's debt problems are getting worse. That pulled down U.S. bank stocks. Financial stocks in the S&P 500 lost more than 7 percent.

The drop erases Tuesday's big gain following a Federal Reserve pledge to keep rates low. The Fed said it expects the recovery to remain slow.

Re: Dow collapse and S'pore will fall to 2,600 Thursday but not time to bargain hunt

NEW YORK—Stocks nosedive at the close of trading as investors' attention returns to the weak economy and Europe's debt problems.

The Dow Jones industrial average is down 519, or 4.6 percent, to 10,720. It's the third time in the last five trading days that the Dow lost more than 500 points. The S&P 500 is down 51 points, or 4.4 percent, to 1,121. The Nasdaq is down 101, or 4.1 percent, to 2,381.

European bank stocks fell on worries that the region's debt problems are getting worse. That pulled down U.S. bank stocks. Financial stocks in the S&P 500 lost more than 7 percent.

The drop erases Tuesday's big gain following a Federal Reserve pledge to keep rates low. The Fed said it expects the recovery to remain slow.

STI will be 2,600 Thursday, but will be even lower: 2,100 Friday! :D

Re: Dow collapse and S'pore will fall to 2,600 Thursday but not time to bargain hunt

Down Jones...soon the punters, will become BOTAK Joneses...ha ha ha!! Moooo! "cow" says, save for the rainy days, & jump over the moon, you buy property now...your business!!...TANcho man says...."dark clouds" looming...:p just pay me the million dollar, I will watch the 'weather' for you!.... ha ha ha :D we are doomed!

You sound so happy.:(

1. now, we are seeing some blood splashing on the streets.
2. just wait for some that plunge!

only buy for the long term when STI go back to 500 pts....................Dow below 2000pts............

I thought most Spore "investors" abandoned SGX to go play in the casinos :)

Funny, amidst all this turmoil I notice that my Malaysian stocks are doing OK:confused: I'm not complaining but happy that Malaysia boleh:)

... I notice that my Malaysian stocks are doing OK:confused: I'm not complaining but happy that Malaysia boleh:)
bursa got spine ... can dun follow evry1 else 1 ... unlike sgx ... :rolleyes: