• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Appealling for help to raise fund of 60K to help this kid

vamjok

Dear Staff and Students of Chemistry Department,

I am writing to appeal for your kind help to our year 2 Chemistry student, Chan Si Qi Amanda (A0071672E) who braved through a traumatic 10 hour spinal tumour operation on 14 July 2011 to remove most part of her spinal cord tumour.

Amanda was diagnosed with spinal tumor 3 years ago. Since then, her parents have consulted many doctors who told them that she would be paralyzed even after operation in an attempt to remove the tumour. Overwhelmed and devastated upon hearing the news, her parents did not wish to take the risk on their daughter as she was still able to walk at that point of time. Unfortunately, last year, due to the growth of the tumour, Amanda could not walk further and was thus wheel-chair bounded. However, being on the wheel-chair did not deter her from coming to attend lectures and work in our chemistry laboratories. She has even volunteered to help out during lab sessions in any way she could. Despite her ordeal, some of you who have met Amanda will recall her always optimistic and cheerful smile. Her classmates and friends have always described her as “a very cheerful girl and is always putting a smile and comforting others around her”. Her passion for learning and her strong will to fight her illness has inspired many people around her.

The operation has ended with a success, but her battle for life does not end there. She still needs to go for radiotherapy and physiotherapy to keep her alive and well. The hospitalization and surgical fees she need has mounted to about $60,000 which the family can hardly afford. Amanda’s father is a school admin officer and her mother is a housewife who is also plagued with poor health. Her younger brother is only in secondary one and the family is not well to do.

We seek your kind assistance in giving Amanda this much needed support to help her and her family weather life’s difficulties and to alleviate the burden of medical costs. No amount is too small to make an impact and every dollar counts! This fight will not be made possible without your generous donation and philanthropic support. Let’s open our hearts to share and give to an unfortunate member in our Chemistry family. The little that we can contribute will help Amanda to continue to strive for her dreams. Play a part in helping our student Amanda. It’s in your hands.

The Chemistry office is now running the gift campaign for Amanda till 31 Aug and you may send in your donations (in cash or cross cheque made payable to “Chan Si Qi Amanda” to the department Admin Office at S8 level 3. Should you require any further clarification, you may contact Ms Chia Siew Ing at 6318 or [email protected].

Thank you for your contribution and generosity in extending your helping hand!

Prof Xu Guo Qin, HOD of NUS Chemistry

Chia Siew Ing :: Manager :: Department of Chemistry :: National University of Singapore :: Admin Office, Block S8, Level 3 :: 3 Science Drive 3 :: Singapore 117543 :: 65-6516 6318 (DID) :: 65-6779 1691 (Fax) ::
[email protected] (E) :: www.nus.edu.sg (W) :: Company Registration No: 200604346E

Important: This email is confidential and may be privileged. If you are not the intended recipient, please delete it and notify us immediately; you should not copy or use it for any purpose, nor disclose its contents to any other person. Thank you.

kindly send all donations to my bank a/c.........................PM me for details..............

Can this be done in S'pore? seeking donation thru the net? Just curious and no other intention. Hope that person concern have a speedy recovery.

its more to shoot PAP in the foot that our health care and education is affordable. MY ASS

u can simply donate it without stating ur name by going there. i dun think there is anything wrong with that.

must make a big hooha..................so the whole island knows that PAP is doing nothing...............

becoz the kid is poor...................

PAP : '' help the poor??? they early die, early good !""

20070410_Lee-Hsien-Loong.jpg

Chey! 60k nia. Limpeh haf day make more den 60k ok. But 1 dun 1 2 help leh u blow ping pong izit? TIU!!

No offense to you. But "Hope" ki luan. "Hope" will not put food on the table, or cure for illness. The 60% voted and "hope" the new gen of MIW will get it right, without taking a hard look at the fabric of the current system and its direction.

I also hope the all the MPs donate to lead by example. And I am sure all the mps also hope society can be more compassionate and automatic to help their fellow citizens in need. They hope you do it, you hope I do it, I hope they do it . But that individual cannot live just on eveybody's hope alone.

The medical bills will wipe the parents cpf for sure. I have a malay friend whose relative paid 60K for cancer treatement, cpf now empty. Another cab driver's aged mother jump hdb because she dont want her cancer to burden the family, since she knows the family is relatively poor. When that 27yr old air head comment medical cost is managable..... I shake head.

If tertiary students each donate SGD 10, it would help her. But what about others? I support blowing this up to address it at the root. I e-mail my friends on this article.

Can this be done in S'pore? seeking donation thru the net? Just curious and no other intention. Hope that person concern have a speedy recovery.

you need a PRC prof to help a local girl?

such a sad bunch of singaporeans.

What kind of NRIC number is this? I am not familiar with the prefix "A".

Neither do i, i believe Singaporeans born after 2000 are assigned the prefix "T" and before 2000 the prefix "S"

Assuming Amanda Chan is a year 2 NUS student, that would put her age at 20 years old and born in the year 1991which would have a 'S' prefix as mentioned above. Unless the above is her student number, anybody familiar with NUS student numbers?

Neither do i, i believe Singaporeans born after 2000 are assigned the prefix "T" and before 2000 the prefix "S"

Assuming Amanda Chan is a year 2 NUS student, that would put her age at 20 years old and born in the year 1991which would have a 'S' prefix as mentioned above. Unless the above is her student number, anybody familiar with NUS student numbers?

its student ID. those erolled before 2009 are U09xxxx or u08 <---reflecting the years. after 2009 on 2010 onwards its AXXXXX

last time graduate students begins with g. now i think undergraduate or graduate is all Axxxxx. this is what i noticed from the graduate students that just enrolled in the team i am currently in

its student ID. those erolled before 2009 are U09xxxx or u08 <---reflecting the years. after 2009 on 2010 onwards its AXXXXXlast time graduate students begins with g. now i think undergraduate or graduate is all Axxxxx. this is what i noticed from the graduate students that just enrolled in the team i am currently in

See Spock, I was right, you are not very bright for a science officer. You going to crash your ship into a black hole sooner or later.

I graduated eons ago, how the fuck to remember what student id looks like? Crash what ship? I am now retired and cho bo lan. If I am not retired, I would have been replaced by FT long ago on this planet called Sinkiepoo.

With 40% foreigners on the island and the government sneakily lumping PRs together with SGreans, it is absolutely essential to ensure that help is only provided to bona fide SG citizens, you can never be too careful.

I graduated eons ago, how the fuck to remember what student id looks like? Crash what ship? I am now retired and cho bo lan. If I am not retired, I would have been replaced by FT long ago on this planet called Sinkiepoo.

With 40% foreigners on the island and the government sneakily lumping PRs together with SGreans, it is absolutely essential to ensure that help is only provided to bona fide SG citizens, you can never be too careful.

ah you retired already? so old. No wonder lah.