• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Grenade round explodes in SAF soldier's weapon

Sad to say he is not Dr Tony Tan's son.

1. sad for the injured is no son of some sheep.
2. not some white horse, white knight or toy soldier with maid in toll.
3. life is cheap for the common sheep.

It makes more sense to produce them locally. Imagine in times of war, Out of Ammo how ah. Import from US or buy cheapo fakes from China!!!!!

I think most countries in the world are doing the same thing. Only those high tech missiles they import coz dun have the tech/industry to support it.

i am talking about the gun not the ammo.

of course the ammo is manufactured by ST except those sensitive and highly technical ones.

Perhaps new directive coming up from MINDear: All white horses excuse from firing a 40mm Automatic Grenade Launcher :)

Not suprising, training schools are at the bottom of the pecking order and their ordnance are usually near expiry date and the equipment they use are at the end of their useful working life.

That is true, That is why there are so many accidents in the training schools resulting in deaths.

i am talking about the gun not the ammo.

of course the ammo is manufactured by ST except those sensitive and highly technical ones.

The small amrs mostly made by ourselves also right? SAR21, SAW, GPMGs, ST have the technology to produce those. Even most of the Armored Vehicles except for the MBTsand Artillary are made here. I think the only ones we don't make ourselves are the planes, the Naval ships and the newer toys like the Missile launchers.

doesn't matter who build it, expired means expired.
but you and me know that full NS men life is very cheap.
The cost to singapore is only for the period of NS, after that, the family have to foot the bills of the medical cost.

Shouldn't be expired. The ammo stock is rotated all the time.

dun just single out tony tan, every ministers son have special white horse treatment, every multi-millionaires son have special white horse treatment, i do not see why people in singapore just single out one person, where there are hundreds more example.

Not hundreds, thousands.

Yes 100% correct. All small ammunition are produce by ST.
Bullet to artillery ammunition.

Some ammo is not produced by ST. Especially the specialty ones. Like Leo 2 120mm APFSDS depleted uranium rounds. I think those by from Israel or Germany.

alot of factors contribute to the quality of the ammo....

storage conditions, life cycle, date due etc...

20110801.091545_agl3.jpg

A Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) full-time National Serviceman (NSF) was injured during a live-firing exercise on Sunday.

21-year-old Specialist Cadet (SCT) Percy Toh Cheng Kai was firing a 40mm Automatic Grenade Launcher when one round exploded prematurely in the weapon.

He was handling the weapon at the SAFTI Live Firing Area as part of his Specialist Armour Course when a 40mm round's propellant exploded.

SCT Toh sustained shrapnel injuries to his chest, right arm and right cheek.

According to a statement from Mindef, he was attended to immediately by SAF medical personnel and then sent to National University Hospital (NUH) where he underwent treatment for his injuries.

SCT Toh is currently in stable condition and is expected to be discharged from NUH within the next few days.

Mindef says the SAF is conducting an investigation to determine the cause of the incident.

[email protected]

I find this report very suspicious. I am not an expert on the CIS 40mm AGL, but some things do not add up. The way the article is written, it seems like there was a cook off in the chamber. However, the design of the weapon negates cook offs. First, it fires from an open bolt, so, there is always hot gas vented out. Than it uses a blowback system instead of taping hot gas like in the M16 system. Again, this reduces temperature in the chamber. Finally, the rate of fire is fairly low at around 350 rpm, hardly enough to heat up the barrel/firing chamber to the point to cause cook off. Also, the proppellant amount in the 40mm round is pretty small. I have had cook off happen to me before from a M16 round, and I was not injured. In this case, it sounds to me more like the round detonated prematurely, not the propellant. But yet, it takes a few meters for the round to arm it self, so I am quite confused about this.

I remember that a 40mm grenade requires about 10m distance from firing off before the arming mechanism begins. We are either looking at faulty ordnance here or a poorly maintainted launcher in the first place.

1. The report has been written as if investigation was completed and findings finalized in less than 24hrs.

2. Anyway, the propellant is supposed to explode to propel the projectile.

3. I guess, maybe it is weapon metal fatigue.

4. Anyway, dont think we will read of the reason in future.

5. No one will kenna anything, the solution will be "...... we review the current QC procedures and policies, and made the the following improvements.......".

6. The NSmen just suck thumb and blame his damn luck.

I find this report very suspicious....

I remember that a 40mm grenade requires about 10m distance from firing off before the arming mechanism begins. We are either looking at faulty ordnance here or a poorly maintainted launcher in the first place.

Training school that means the gun kena fired dunno how many million times over the years liao. I think probably the latter, poor maintenance

per SOP, the incident will be investigated but details won't be made public.

Training school that means the gun kena fired dunno how many million times over the years liao. I think probably the latter, poor maintenance

anyway who has been through BMT/BSLC/OCS will figure that one out in 5 minutes Sherlock

Are U saying you've never been through any of them coz U left 2 choices which I am guessing took U more then 5 min to figure out

Are U saying you've never been through any of them coz U left 2 choices which I am guess took U more then 5 min to figure out

My route was BMTC/SISPEC/UNIT TRAINING SCHOOL Fat boy,

I was a regular for 6.5 years and no i won't tell you which vocation it is even if you suck my cock and call me Daddy-O
Too bad, so sad for you :rolleyes:

My route was BMTC/SISPEC/UNIT TRAINING SCHOOL Fat boy,

I was a regular for 6.5 years and no i won't tell you which vocation it is even if you suck my cock and call me Daddy-O
Too bad, so sad for you :rolleyes:

Wow so after spending 6.5 years in there

it still seems you had doubts and spend more then 5 min figuring out something which you yourself claimed takes less then 5 min to figure out.

Wow so after spending 6.5 years in there

it still seems you had doubts and spend more then 5 min figuring out something which you yourself claimed takes less then 5 min to figure out.

Heres the thing ah pui, once again your mistook your fatty tissues in your head for grey matter which contributes nothing to your already low intelligence.

To know the truth of what happened one will have to be the following

1. Present during the exercise and bear witness to what happened before and after
2. The investigating officer who has the results from the technical analysis and the ordnance testing of the batch of ammunition
3. Omnipotent

as i am not the above and most of us here aren't any of the above either, everything conjecture here are based on educated guesses and experiences with how SAF and its training school works. This is a forum and not an investigate agency charged with figuring out all the mysteries of the universe known and unknown to men. Get that into your fat tissue covered cerebral cortex before you attempt to even dignify my response with an answer. You go in half fucked, you get half fucked results.