Good News For Durian Lovers

Windsor

http://news.insing.com/tabloid/bumper-crop-of-durians-this-season/id-7d903b00

Source: Lianhe Wanbao, 9 July 2011. Click here for the Chinese version.

Durian season is here and according to durian shop owners, it has been a bumper crop so far.

If you're a durian lover, get ready to feast on your favourite spiky fruits!

Durian season is here and according to durian shop owners, it has been a bumper crop so far.

Durian importer Chen Si Zheng said: "We had a great harvest this season from Johor Bahru and Pahang. It's at least 30% more compared to last year."

Chen is one of the largest durian importers in Singapore and owns a durian distribution company in Geylang Lorong 25A.

Segamat durians from Johor Bahru are now 20 cents each. However, Chen restricts each customer to buying only five such durians for a dollar.

The famous D13 durians also from Johor Bahru are now a dollar each. They cost three for $10 previously.

Chen points out that such a bumper crop – where both Johor Bahru and Pahang plantations produce bumper harvests at the same time – occurs only every three to four years on average.

The last bumper crop happened in July 2008, with durian sellers slashing their prices at cut-throat rates. A Segamat durian cost only 10 cents back then.

When you reach Geylang, they tell you that the 20 cents per fruit is sold out. They are left with $8 per kg one. Good ones - guarantee sweet and creamy! Holding a knife up to your face, you don't want to buy?

Among the cheapest place to buy durians would be Woodlands and Jurong West. Bros here should help each other by giving updates how much they paid and how good were the durians. In the other forums, there are members assisting each other where to get cheap air conditioners, plumbers, renovation contractors etc.

Aiyah.
Thought that the news was mrt now allow durians on board. :(

Aiyah.
Thought that the news was mrt now allow durians on baord. :(

Haha...try carring 3 durians in red plastic bag at 6 pm in the sardine packed train. I can picture the anger and the pain of the other commuters.

still have Durian season now? I thought Durians are available all year round for a long time already.

Haha...try carring 3 durians in red plastic bag at 6 pm in the sardine packed train. I can picture the anger and the pain of the other commuters.
lidat goot wat! ...

e-z 2 board train, e-z 2 alite from train ...

u c any blocks, juz say ... liu lian, liu lian ...

lidat goot wat! ...

e-z 2 board train, e-z 2 alite from train ...

u c any blocks, juz say ... liu lian, liu lian ...

Yes because you will get kicked out and worse of all not at your destination.

huh ??? got durians for 20cents meh............

i buy and throw at people..............

hahaha.....it may be bumper crop but actually the price of "mao san wang" durain has actually gone up.
this is because such durains are now also exported to China.

Bumper crop doesn't mean cheaper quality durians. It could be that the average durains are being sold cheaper. The premium ones are still expensive. :(

Actually I love durians but the prices for the so-called "maoshanwang" D24, etc ... are too steep nowadays!
Its crazy to pay $70-80 for 3-4 of these durians...

So, whenever I have the cravings, I just either buy $5 for one or $10 for 3 types... normally from 3 fruits, surely got 1-2 are good enough.
Once tasted, the craving is over... "saved" $60 at least! ... if you do this once a week for say 30 weeks, see how much you "saved"! :)
OK la, once in awhile, got extra income, go for the premium ones but really... the prices these days are ridiculous!

And for those who say about China market... i dont think the chinese there like durians that much... I lived there for a few years and each time I tried to get my colleagues or friends to eat durian, they refused, all think it stinks! And these are not even the pungent Malaysian types but the meaty and rather tasteless Thai variety.

So, choose wisely... you can only eat so much... burp! burp!

And for those who say about China market... i dont think the chinese there like durians that much... I lived there for a few years and each time I tried to get my colleagues or friends to eat durian, they refused, all think it stinks! And these are not even the pungent Malaysian types but the meaty and rather tasteless Thai variety.

That's why I look forward to durians on the mrt. :D

Geyland has got to be the world worst place to buy durians...all these buy 3 get 1 free or 5 for $10 are pure rubbish.
when in johore becareful too when buying durians..once i went with family to buy somewhere in jln sentosa
when the seller says 8kg..straight away i knew i was being cheated a while later another customer was buying and i went behind the scene and saw the assistant with his hand holding a fishing string pulling down the weighing machine to make it heavier

The best durians is still at bentong in pahang(mountain cat)and macalister road(red prawn) in penang..i promise you tat.

Actually I love durians but the prices for the so-called "maoshanwang" D24, etc ... are too steep nowadays!

Passed by Geylang just now. If I did not see wrongly, they were selling $1 per D24 Durian. But don't expect super big size ones and you have to pick and choose yourself correctly. :D

Geyland has got to be the world worst place to buy durians...all these buy 3 get 1 free or 5 for $10 are pure rubbish.
when in johore becareful too when buying durians..once i went with family to buy somewhere in jln sentosa
when the seller says 8kg..straight away i knew i was being cheated a while later another customer was buying and i went behind the scene and saw the assistant with his hand holding a fishing string pulling down the weighing machine to make it heavier

The best durians is still at bentong in pahang(mountain cat)and macalister road(red prawn) in penang..i promise you tat.

Yes I was on the road in Pahang in ulu places and the durians were plentiful and cheap. Best of all they were real fresh.

So, whenever I have the cravings, I just either buy $5 for one or $10 for 3 types... normally from 3 fruits, surely got 1-2 are good enough.
Once tasted, the craving is over... "saved" $60 at least! ... if you do this once a week for say 30 weeks, see how much you "saved"! :)
OK la, once in awhile, got extra income, go for the premium ones but really... the prices these days are ridiculous!

very wise and practical advice........................$5 for 1 durian is good enough liao lor...................

When I am in Malaysia, I will eat the Maoshan durian. Its a lot cheaper, especially when you go to those stores that have their own plantation. Once the maoshan durian crosses the causeway into singapore, the price is minimum doubled, usually tripled. In singapore, u have to eat the cheaper durian and tahan until u can make a JB run and humtum the seafood there with durian for dessert.