Hovw Safe are veggies from China?

Trying to eat more veggies in an attempt at a healthier lifestyle. However going through the NTUC produce section I notice that most of our veggies come from China.

China has a very bad reputation when it comes to foods. How safe are the Chinese produce being sold by NTUC:confused: Id Cold Storage a better place to shop for produce:confused:

When in Sg, my wife buys locally grown organics (even though I am not into organics, I support her decision.) Else, we buy M'sian produce.

We don't believe we'll save much money trying to save on a few cents or dollars buying the cheap stuff. Stuff that go into our system, nothing wrong in being over careful. Not kiasu, but kiasick.

With veggies, no matter from which country, you shld always soak them in water for half an hr and then rinse once or twice more to remove the pesticides. The pricier the veg, the more pesticides the farmer will use. This is obvious, to protect their profits.

Since vegs are grown and not processed, the Chinese farmer or those after him, cannot affect the veg very much. The only thing is the pesticides they used.

Organics are expensive, and it may not always be necessary to go organic if you can take the nec precautions. When buying vegs, actually those with signs of worm bitten attacks are safer,as that means the pesticide level is also probably lower.

I wouldnt say Malaysian vegs are safer. There have been past occasions where Malaysian vegs have been prohibited here by AVA because of high levels of pesticide.

With veggies, no matter from which country, you shld always soak them in water for half an hr and then rinse once or twice more to remove the pesticides. The pricier the veg, the more pesticides the farmer will use. This is obvious, to protect their profits.

I wouldnt say Malaysian vegs are safer. There have been past occasions where Malaysian vegs have been prohibited here by AVA because of high levels of pesticide.

When I was visiting KL some stores were selling ozone cleaning devices. You fill it up with water, then put it the fruits & veggie in the container while ozone is generated. It is suppose to clean dirt, pesticides, etc.

Costs about $200 to $300. With all the food scare problems I'll take a second look.

I've heard of Malaysian produce being rejected but haven't heard of any Chinese cases. This has got me worried about whether the AVA monitors such imports:( I'm not confident about the authorities ability as too many "honest mistakes" have been made.

Trying to eat more veggies in an attempt at a healthier lifestyle. However going through the NTUC produce section I notice that most of our veggies come from China.

China has a very bad reputation when it comes to foods. How safe are the Chinese produce being sold by NTUC:confused: Id Cold Storage a better place to shop for produce:confused:

1ST THING 1ST.............................you sure the veggies aren't made of cardboard ?

This one good advice.

And besides vegetables, another one is rice. Some one in the prc told me them spray the rice stored in silos to prevent pest.

Used to notice tiny bug like creatures in the rice in the past. Now do dont see any in the rice.

When buying vegs, actually those with signs of worm bitten attacks are safer,as that means the pesticide level is also probably lower.

On rice, just an aside.

If you find that your cooked rice is often sticking to the pot, or burnt, or bubbles and pops too much, you should wash the grains more thoroughly, rubbing it between your fingers and palms, and rinsing it until it is quite clear of the whitish colour.

The reason is that during grinding, flour or starch is often sprinkled onto it to make grinding easier and smoother. When cooking, the hot water turns the starch into gluey stuff and this keeps the rice grains stuck together, and only separating with an explosive pop. Also it delays tripping the thermostat since the thermostat works by sensing that all the water is boiled off and the temp of the bottom starts overshooting the temp limit of the thermostat.

And besides vegetables, another one is rice. Some one in the prc told me them spray the rice stored in silos to prevent pest.

Used to notice tiny bug like creatures in the rice in the past. Now do dont see any in the rice.

On rice, just an aside.

While we're on the subject of rice. If you're diabetic you'll notice that eating rice will make you sleepy because it's high on the glycemic index.

Other than choosing red rice you can look into multigrain rice Multigrain rice is a combination of brown rice, millet, pearl barley, buckwheat & sunflower kernel. It was recommended by my doctor as a healthier alternative.

Knn...eat chicken, got prob, eat pork, got prob, eat seafood, got prob, now eat vegge, also got prob...nabei....

China has a very bad reputation when it comes to foods.

The veggies are the least of your problems. It's the chickens from China that you should worry about.

Which ones?, the one that squat and lay an egg or the one that squat & lay you?:D

While we're on the subject of rice. If you're diabetic you'll notice that eating rice will make you sleepy because it's high on the glycemic index.

Other than choosing red rice you can look into multigrain rice Multigrain rice is a combination of brown rice, millet, pearl barley, buckwheat & sunflower kernel. It was recommended by my doctor as a healthier alternative.

I tried the brown rice, the mutigrain...still prefer the normal rice, eating rice & feeling sleepy & not doing work is call, 'jiat liao bee'...many MIW suffer from.:D

I thought too much MSG makes one sleepy? no wonder generation of Asians fall asleep after their lunch..

Knn...eat chicken, got prob, eat pork, got prob, eat seafood, got prob, now eat vegge, also got prob...nabei....

Man made processes, chemicals, pollution, genetically modified.... has all contributed to the corruption of our food chain.

How ironic that we have to pay more for food without all the extras. Organic simply means food grown the old fashion way, without all the extra chemicals, pesticides, genetic modification, etc.

When in Sg, my wife buys locally grown organics (even though I am not into organics, I support her decision.) Else, we buy M'sian produce.

We don't believe we'll save much money trying to save on a few cents or dollars buying the cheap stuff. Stuff that go into our system, nothing wrong in being over careful. Not kiasu, but kiasick.

Very truth. Best go for organic. Also save the earth.

I tried the brown rice, the mutigrain...still prefer the normal rice, eating rice & feeling sleepy & not doing work is call, 'jiat liao bee'...many MIW suffer from.:D

I thought too much MSG makes one sleepy? no wonder generation of Asians fall asleep after their lunch..

We've all been brought up to what "good" rice is. It's hard to change years of upbringing.

I see many parents bringing their kid to MacDonalds for a wholesome meal:eek: Just imagine how screwed up these kids will be. Spore's healthcare system will be over burdened.

I can handle feeling sleepy but its affecting something, probably hormonal levels. I sometimes feel angina pains after a heavy starchy meal.

I read somewhere that MSG contributes to obesity. I try to avoid it but it's hard. Even find it in frozen breaded fish :(

We've all been brought up to what "good" rice is. It's hard to change years of upbringing.

I see many parents bringing their kid to MacDonalds for a wholesome meal:eek: Just imagine how screwed up these kids will be. Spore's healthcare system will be over burdened.

I can handle feeling sleepy but its affecting something, probably hormonal levels. I sometimes feel angina pains after a heavy starchy meal.

I read somewhere that MSG contributes to obesity. I try to avoid it but it's hard. Even find it in frozen breaded fish :(

We were brought up on White Rice, Fragrance rice, but once a while, we had unpolished rice for gruel. Wonder what good is unpoilish rice? My mum don't used MSG at home cooking at all, only, when I started working have to eat out, no choice to be introduced to the world of MSG & all sorts of preservatives.

It is not healthy eating anywhere, we just have to moderate our intake that is all we can do.

Ever watched a health program that said if diabetic, should eat brown rice, if not eat white rice should only eat half bowl due to high GI...

Even half a bowl of white rice can be too much.:(
Diabetes also cannot eat potatoes which leaves things as sweet potatoe, brown rice, multi-grain as the only staples that don't leave you lethargic

For any diabetics out there who wants a good list of the glycemic index, you can visit fthe ollowing site:
http://www.mendosa.com./

. Wonder what good is unpoilish rice? My mum don't used MSG at home cooking at all, only, when I started working have to eat out, no choice to be introduced to the world of MSG & all sorts of preservatives.

It is not healthy eating anywhere, we just have to moderate our intake that is all we can do.

I remember when I was young we fed the dogs brown rice because it was good for them:D Little did I suspect that people would in the future(today) eat it for their health.

In the old days, health was never a concern because food was still grown organically. I still remember someone from the nearby kampong who would delivery to my grandfathers place life chickens & fresh eggs. He had a bicycle with a rattan cage at the back with life chickens. Once a chicken was picked he would bleed the chicken. That's as fresh as you can get.

I don't know of anyone who cooks at home who would willingly put msg in their food.:eek:

Unfortunately MSG is included in all kinds of processed foods: biscuits, cookies, frozen foods, canned foods,.... The only way to avoid MSG, trans fats is to eat at home :(