• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Floodwater drainage in Sinkapore oredi gone case ! More sorry cummin'......

Tiu Kwang Yew

Sinkapore oredi like fish tank, so-called a badly planned concrete jungle.

You see, when you want more tall concrete thingys, you need to think drainage before you dig in ! You dont just make new drains to join other existing drains !

Orchard rds and malls will continue to see floods for another 50 years as long as there are heavy rains.

This is not exepcting perfection, a well planned concrete junlge can handle any torrential rains or monsoons.

Many parts of sinkapore will also face floods when there are heavy downpours !

yes, frequent flash floods may not be dangerous but it shows the island oredi not liveable in many parts of sinkapore !

The problem lies with planning of inadequate drainage, it will take a huge cost to alter this situation !

Meanwhile, more tongue dancing and more sorry cummin your way .....and flood problem persists for another 50 years....tragic !

Obviously the PAP has exceeded Spore's infrastructure capacity.

Spore Inc makes money from importing foreigners, buidling malls & flats, and nothing from less glamourous infrastructure projects like drainage. When MPs start thinking more about $$$ they neglect the nitty gritty details.

Many of the old civil servants responsible for building & maintaing Spore are now gone. Leaving behind a new generation of paper pushing bureucrates :rolleyes:

Someone please teach me maths. The last orchard road flood they say is once in 50 years.... This time, the rain fall is even heavier than the previous BUT is once in 25 years... How come this one has more rainfall but time period comparison is halved?

Sinkapore oredi like fish tank, so-called a badly planned concrete jungle.

This is not exepcting perfection, a well planned concrete junlge can handle any torrential rains or monsoons.

lianbeng asks u, "they have exchanged concrete jungle for natural forested jungle what u expect? no more trees to absorb rain water and no more soil to absorb flood water liao lor.":D

And the Npark chief has the cheek to say that according to satellite map, singapore green cover has increased from 20++% in the 1980s to nearly 40% now.

lianbeng asks u, "they have exchanged concrete jungle for natural forested jungle what u expect? no more trees to absorb rain water and no more soil to absorb flood water liao lor.":D

Oh my god did the Nparks dude really say that???? That ia just nuts.... We see so much areas being cleared for develoPment. How can the green cover double? Just look at MPS, its one big slab of grey...

Point is how much increase in green cover in built up area not in the ulu areas.

The whole of bukit Timah and Orchard road is concreted over. So when it rains non of the water absorbed by the ground and water rushes into drains/canals.

Last time Orchard MRT behind had huge park where maids hang out on Sundays. Now another building and all the water drain into canal.

Very simple lah, no planning at all.

Someone please teach me maths. The last orchard road flood they say is once in 50 years.... This time, the rain fall is even heavier than the previous BUT is once in 25 years... How come this one has more rainfall but time period comparison is halved?

nothing to do with math, those came out from different ass opening

Hey! below ther gorund there is layer of natural water table. The water table has been diverted by building blocking its pathways and water have to surge upwards and causes flood.

Greed! 50 years of greed for making money and not considering environmental impact is the price Sinkies have to repay for the rest of their lives.

Now just have to wait for one big volcano expode from Indonesia to clean up Singapore. Singapore is an small island only and was a fishing village and will always be a fishing village so learn how to fish when it flood Singapore.

Point is how much increase in green cover in built up area not in the ulu areas.

The whole of bukit Timah and Orchard road is concreted over. So when it rains non of the water absorbed by the ground and water rushes into drains/canals.

Last time Orchard MRT behind had huge park where maids hang out on Sundays. Now another building and all the water drain into canal.

Very simple lah, no planning at all.

lianbeng says, "orchard road and bt timah road are parallel to each other u know? behind eng neo road is istana liao lor. now the whole stretch of bt timah road until mandai all kana concreted for the downtown line liao so how to expect no flooding? is it realistic?":D

My opinion on this.

Rain: The rain that came down yesterday was beyond ridiculous. I'm sure no one here will dispute the fact that we have seldom if ever seen a rain that heavy in the last 20 years. Which means the official word from PUB on how much rainfall there was yesterday probably have some truth to it. We've seen some strange weather in recent years, less rain during the monsoons and more cool weather the previous few years and ridiculous amount of rainfall in the last 2. Is the climate changing? I am incline to believe so.

Drainage System: A lot of pple have been condemning the drainage system claiming it doesn't work. I beg to defer. We have frequent heavy rains and only having 3 serious floods in the last decade proves that it is adequate for most situation. The fact that the floods subside within a short period of time after the rain stops is further proves that the system is doing it's job. We have to put things in perspective, the rains during the Orchard flooding and yesterday's Central area flooding was due to an extraordinary amounts of rainfall within a short period of time. Something which no human engineering in the world could account for given the lack of precedence.

It doesn't mean I don't think the government shouldn't do something about it. As stated above, for all we know, the climate maybe changing. The model they used during the planning of the current drainage system maybe outdated. They need to relook, rethink and remodel the entire system to ensure that this does not happen again

*Oh yeah just to add onto the theory of the Marina Barrage being the cause of all this. I am not totally ruling out that possibility but the barrage was open since 08. We only had our 1st serious flood last year so even if it did play a part. I believe it's a combination of all the above rather then just the barrage alone

My opinion on this.

tm1.jpg

Your opinion is indeed very long. Did u copied it from my PAP textbook?
Anyway flood is nothing compared to me traveling in public transport.

That was a draft entry I was planning to post in my blog. I just posted it here first. If U can find a PAP handbook on this let me know. Next time I just copy and paste from there.

U pple want free speech and opinions and when someone post something which ISN'T condemning PAP(nothing in my article that praise them either), he gets flamed. :oIo::oIo::oIo:

My opinion on this.

Drainage System: A lot of pple have been condemning the drainage system claiming it doesn't work. I beg to defer. We have frequent heavy rains and only having 3 serious floods in the last decade proves that it is adequate for most situation. The fact that the floods subside within a short period of time after the rain stops is further proves that the system is doing it's job. We have to put things in perspective, the rains during the Orchard flooding and yesterday's Central area flooding was due to an extraordinary amounts of rainfall within a short period of time. Something which no human engineering in the world could account for given the lack of precedence.

fat ass,

everytime u need to come out to defend your pap masters is it. fuck u. r u the self-appointed lionel souza of this forum.

what 3 serious floods in last decade?:oIo: its 3 serious floods in last 1.5 years ok. trying to make the problem look less serious than it is right. fuck u.

and what put things into perspective blah blah blah. spare me this type of government dog talk. fuck u. :oIo::oIo:

That was a draft entry I was planning to post in my blog. I just posted it here first. If U can find a PAP handbook on this let me know. Next time I just copy and paste from there.

U pple want free speech and opinions and when someone post something which ISN'T condemning PAP(nothing in my article that praise them either), he gets flamed. :oIo::oIo::oIo:

We have to put things in perspective, the rains during the Orchard flooding and yesterday's Central area flooding was due to an extraordinary amounts of rainfall within a short period of time. Something which no human engineering in the world could account for given the lack of precedence.

fat ass

fuck you pap dog. when u r not praising your pap masters to the sky, u r trying to deflect the blame. fuck u lah. pap dog means forever pap dog :oIo::oIo:

We have to put things in perspective, the rains during the Orchard flooding and yesterday's Central area flooding was due to an extraordinary amounts of rainfall within a short period of time. Something which no human engineering in the world could account for given the lack of precedence.

fat ass

fuck you pap dog. when u r not praising your pap masters to the sky, u r trying to deflect the blame. fuck u lah. pap dog means forever pap dog :oIo::oIo:

Are U telling me now that U are expecting the ministers to be able to control the rain?

fat ass,

stop talking like lky. your fucking 'no amt of engineering blah blah' is copy directly from the old man. fuck u.

btw, i don't expect pap ministers to stop rain. but by building higher walls, ramps to stop rain from entering 1 bldg is just directing the water to the next available bldg. thats why u see water now go to tangs instead of wendys. u better tell your pap masters to think of other solution. simple solution is to let the water flow faster into the drains by increasing the drain capacity/volume. if the marina barrage acts as a tap that is always close that of cos will have flood ok. fuck u. tell me why b4 the marina barrage is in ops, flood are seldom heard of no matter the size of the rain. now even a medium size storm will cause flood. fuck u lah pap dog. u have no brains. u believe what your pap masters tell u. dumb like fuck.:oIo:

fat ass,

stop talking like lky. your fucking 'no amt of engineering blah blah' is copy directly from the old man. fuck u.

btw, i don't expect pap ministers to stop rain. but by building higher walls, ramps to stop rain from entering 1 bldg is just directing the water to the next available bldg. thats why u see water now go to tangs instead of wendys. u better tell your pap masters to think of other solution. simple solution is to let the water flow faster into the drains by increasing the drain capacity/volume. if the marina barrage acts as a tap that is always close that of cos will have flood ok. fuck u. tell me why b4 the marina barrage is in ops, flood are seldom heard of no matter the size of the rain. now even a medium size storm will cause flood. fuck u lah pap dog. u have no brains. u believe what your pap masters tell u. dumb like fuck.:oIo:

If U can provide me with data on rainfall that was similar to the one yesterday or last year in Orchard to another time before the Marina Barrage was built and yet no flood then I will tell U why

I already stated my opinion on this, Weather changing, drainage system planning model maybe outdated. They need to re-investigate this. Read my post again before U anyhow hatam :oIo::oIo::oIo: