• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Cheap Super foods provide fiber, Omega, vitamins, etc

Hawker food is not nutritious & that's probably why you see so many uncles & aunties at our clinics with all kinds of chronic diseases.

Now with the increased cost expect the hawkers to cut back on ingredients & portions. So your likely to get less salt, MSG & carbohydrates :)

I've been looking into foods that are healthy & reasonably priced. I suggest people supplement their diets with Chia seeds & hemp.

It's simple to take. I mix chia seed & hemp poweder with yoghurt. You can also include them in shakes, with milk, water, etc

You can google & find out about all the nutrients that they provide: fiber, omega 3, vitamins etc. I'm using products which are organic & can be eaten raw. In the raw form they are very nutritious.

I have seen chia seeds being sold in our local supermarket in small packets but I get them from the US because of the better prices. Here is what I got:

http://www.iherb.com/Healthy-Origins-White-Chia-Seed-16-oz-454-g/13253?at=0
http://www.iherb.com/Nutiva-Organic-Hemp-Protein-Fiber-16-oz-454-g/4705?at=0

You may find it cheaper else where but iHerb does provide good service to International customers.

Aiya!,eat also will die, don't eat also will die, might as well just eat and dieeeee........!

lianbeng says, "if hawkers sell healthy food nobody will eat and hawkers no business leh. eat urself lah.":D

Fish for taman at bedok jetty and store in freezer.

Drink chinese bitter tea and cook taman fish porridge.

Cheap and good.:D

Fish for taman at bedok jetty and store in freezer.

Drink chinese bitter tea and cook taman fish porridge.

Cheap and good.:D
:(

Fish is a good source for omega 3 but many don't have the luxury of time to cook everyday. The Chia seeds are ready to eat raw. Chia seeds also contain alot of other extra nutrients not found in fish.

Our body needs alot of different nutrients. The more varied our diet the less likely we'll get ill. Even if you eat fish you can still benefit from the extras chia can provide.

Aiya!,eat also will die, don't eat also will die, might as well just eat and dieeeee........!

It depends on how you go. Dying peacefully in your sleep or from a protracted illness

If you get cancer or other chronic illness, it will be painful to you & those around you. It will also be costly $$$.

My recent health screening report.
BMI=21.5
Blood pressure=130/80
HDL-C this is the good cholesterol, the more the better
friends asked me what i eat to have so much?
I can only think of one thing, i eat a lot of fishes.
never like spare parts. The rests all makan.
My uric acid always very low?? last year below the low level, funny.
A friends only 30+ took medication for oily liver, he never
eat even a single leaflet of vegetable. His favourite is fried chicken wing.
I don't smoke and seldom drink.
j90io3.jpg
34q4dc5.jpg

wkpb9s.jpg
j0ece9.jpg

It depends on how you go. Dying peacefully in your sleep or from a protracted illness

If you get cancer or other chronic illness, it will be painful to you & those around you. It will also be costly $$$.

Agree, too much of anything also not good. Eat moderately and do not overindulge.
Maintain a healthy diet.
Cheers.

Fish is a good source for omega 3 but many don't have the luxury of time to cook everyday. The Chia seeds are ready to eat raw. Chia seeds also contain alot of other extra nutrients not found in fish.

Our body needs alot of different nutrients. The more varied our diet the less likely we'll get ill. Even if you eat fish you can still benefit from the extras chia can provide.

You are just lazy and poor

Cooking can take less than 20 minutes

U just prefer to eat shit outside like Economical Rice because it's cheaper and convenient

You are just lazy and poor

Cooking can take less than 20 minutes

U just prefer to eat shit outside like Economical Rice because it's cheaper and convenient

Do you even cook? I don't mean preparing instant mee or soemthing out of a can, but cooking a healthy meal from scratch.

I do and it takes more than 20 minutes. Yes it takes under 10 minutes to steam the vegetables but you need time to skin & cut the vegetables e.g. onions, garlic, carrots, etc. I usually prepare more than 1 vegetable. Also need time to shop for the ingredients before hand.

Don't forget about the other components of a meal e.g. rice, potatoes, etc. There is also the washing up of the dishes.

Agree, too much of anything also not good. Eat moderately and do not overindulge.
Maintain a healthy diet.
Cheers.

If you want to eat healthy you have to prepare it yourself that's why so many Sporeans are/will get ill as they do not realise how bad the food in Spore really is:rolleyes:

If you eating out in Spore you are likely to encounter transfats, MSG, high salt, etc which are all unhealthy.

Indeed, cooking healthy food takes time and effort. I usually, cook small pieces of salmon, pan fry in olive oil. Raw salad in a bowl with some cherry tomatoes and some fresh mushrooms in butter. You mentioned that the chia seeds can be eaten raw? Can it also be cooked in anyways? Pan fry?

Do you even cook? I don't mean preparing instant mee or soemthing out of a can, but cooking a healthy meal from scratch.

I do and it takes more than 20 minutes. Yes it takes under 10 minutes to steam the vegetables but you need time to skin & cut the vegetables e.g. onions, garlic, carrots, etc. I usually prepare more than 1 vegetable. Also need time to shop for the ingredients before hand.

Don't forget about the other components of a meal e.g. rice, potatoes, etc. There is also the washing up of the dishes.

Indeed, cooking healthy food takes time and effort. I usually, cook small pieces of salmon, pan fry in olive oil. Raw salad in a bowl with some cherry tomatoes and some fresh mushrooms in butter. You mentioned that the chia seeds can be eaten raw? Can it also be cooked in anyways? Pan fry?

It's a bad idea to heat olive oil as it oxidises in heat. I use virgin coconut oil for my cooking because it doesn't oxidise so easily. However olive oil is healthy if used as is, in a salad dressing. You can sprinkle the raw chia seeds over the salad to give it the crunchy feeling.

You can also use virgin coconut oil instead of butter because too much butter is unhealthy. Whereas coonut oil is very healthy. Different brands of virgin coconut oil have different tastes, so you might want to experiment among the different brands. The one that I use is:
http://www.iherb.com/Nutiva-Coconut-Oil-Organic-Extra-Virgin-54-fl-oz-1-6-L/7311?at=0
If you read the cooments, there are more positive than negative comments:)

The nice thing about Chia seeds is that it has a long shelf life & can be eaten raw without any preparation. Heating any food will reduce its nutrional content.

friends asked me what i eat to have so much?
I can only think of one thing, i eat a lot of fishes.
never like spare parts. The rests all makan.

Studies have shown that people who eat fish at least once a week have a 60% lower risk of heart disease. Fish contributes to the drop of cholesterol & lowering of triglycerides.

Tell your friends to use fish oil supplements e.g. krill if they don't like eating fish

Studies have shown that people who eat fish at least once a week have a 60% lower risk of heart disease. Fish contributes to the drop of cholesterol & lowering of triglycerides.

Tell your friends to use fish oil supplements e.g. krill if they don't like eating fish

Thanks.
Many people have high uric acid which leads to gout but
mine is always low, what i eat to have it so low, i am still puzzle.
One time fews months before i went for health screening i drank a lot
of high protein milk and my uric acid became very low, is this the cause

Thanks.
Many people have high uric acid which leads to gout but
mine is always low, what i eat to have it so low, i am still puzzle.
One time fews months before i went for health screening i drank a lot
of high protein milk and my uric acid became very low, is this the cause

It's a case of hereditary, age & diet. High uric acid is caused when you eat foods high in purines, eg.
* Beer, other alcoholic beverages.
* Anchovies, sardines in oil, fish roes, herring.
* Yeast.
* Organ meat (liver, kidneys, sweetbreads)
* Legumes (dried beans, peas)
* Meat extracts, consomme, gravies.
* Mushrooms, spinach, asparagus, cauliflower.

However it is when you are older that you see the problem e.g. ghout, because the uric accumulates in the tissues.

So even if you have low uric acid now. When you are older & your kidneys don't work as eficiently you might get all kinds of problems like ghout :(

It's a case of hereditary, age & diet. High uric acid is caused when you eat foods high in purines, eg.
* Beer, other alcoholic beverages.
* Anchovies, sardines in oil, fish roes, herring.
* Yeast.
* Organ meat (liver, kidneys, sweetbreads)
* Legumes (dried beans, peas)
* Meat extracts, consomme, gravies.
* Mushrooms, spinach, asparagus, cauliflower.

Look like almost everything cannot eat.