• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PM Lee says S'pore must study nuclear option

streetcry

By Hoe Yeen Nie | Posted: 01 June 2011 2136 hrs
<table width="260" align="right" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody><tr> <td width="20" align="right"> </td> <td width="240" align="right">
phpZO3cnL.jpg
</td> </tr> <tr> <td valign="top" height="60"> </td> <td class="update" valign="top" height="80"> <table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody><tr> <td width="138" bgcolor="f6f6f6">Photos </td> <td width="47" bgcolor="f6f6f6">1 of 1</td> <td width="18" bgcolor="f6f6f6"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnPrev" value="<< Previous" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_previous.gif" type="image" width="18" height="15"></td> <td width="19" bgcolor="f6f6f6"><input id="bntPlay" value="Play - Stop" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_stop.gif" type="image" width="19" height="15"></td> <td width="18" bgcolor="f6f6f6"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnNext" value=" Next >> " src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_next.gif" type="image" width="18" height="15"></td> </tr> </tbody></table>
dotline_240.gif

Germany's Chancellor Angela Merkel (L) and Singapore's Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong during their meeting at the Istana.</td> </tr> <tr> <td> </td> <td class="update"> </td> </tr> <tr> <td> </td> <td> <table style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #cccccc" width="240" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody><tr> <td valign="top" width="100%"> <table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="1"> <tbody><tr style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #ffffff"> <td> <table style="width: 238px; height: 69px;" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody><tr> <td class="topic" valign="top" align="left">
</td></tr><tr><td valign="top" align="left" bgcolor="#CCCCCC">
</td></tr><tr><td valign="top" align="left"><table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr><td>:*:
</td> </tr> </tbody></table></td> </tr> <tr> <td valign="top" bgcolor="#CCCCCC">
shim.gif
</td> </tr> </tbody></table> </td> </tr> </tbody></table></td> </tr> </tbody></table> </td> </tr> </tbody></table> <table width="510" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody><tr> <td colspan="4"><hr size="1" width="510" align="left" color="#dddddd"></td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="4" valign="middle" width="510" height="30">
</td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="4"><hr size="1" width="510" align="left" color="#dddddd"></td> </tr> </tbody></table>

SINGAPORE: Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong again stressed that Singapore has not made a decision on nuclear power but it is an option that must be studied.

He said this at a news conference on Wednesday with German Chancellor Angela Merkel, who is in Singapore for a two-day visit.

Germany had on Monday announced it would shut down its nuclear reactors by 2022.

It is Dr Merkel's first visit to Singapore as German Chancellor.

Mr Lee also noted that she is his first foreign visitor after he was re-elected to Parliament, just as he was her first foreign guest when Dr Merkel became Chancellor in 2005.

Both leaders made clear that Singapore-German relationship is an important one for the two countries.

Singapore is Germany's main trading partner in Southeast Asia, while German companies have long made their presence felt here, particularly in manufacturing.

Latest figures show that bilateral trade amounted to some S$20.5 billion in 2010.

Germany is also Singapore's biggest trading partner among the EU countries.

Both leaders agreed over the hour-long discussion to increase cooperation in R&D and support for enterprises.

They also agreed on the importance of ASEAN and the EU ties.

Dr Merkel said: "Cooperation between the EU and ASEAN needs to be further enhanced, needs to be further developed to the benefit of both, because these are after all two economic regions that wield quite considerable economic clout, and therefore lend themselves ideally to co-operate even more in the future."

What was not on the table was nuclear energy. He said Singapore is still exploring the option.

Prime Minister Lee said: "We need to understand it, because I think this is something which will not go away. And even if we don't do nuclear energy, our neighbours will do nuclear energy, and we need to understand the implications for us."

Asked about his choice for the post of IMF chief, Mr Lee said this would be decided on merit.

He said: "I would not say that I'm looking for an Asian candidate. I think we want to look for the best person who can do a very difficult job, which is crucial towards the stability of the global monetary system."

Asked by German media about the significance of Mr Lee Kuan Yew's retirement from the Cabinet, Prime Minister Lee said that even when Mr Lee Kuan Yew was still in the Cabinet, decisions were already being made by PM Lee and the younger ministers. The senior Mr Lee would interject and express his views at times.

"What has happened is that now that he has retired, this has become more visible, and that's all," he said.

Dr Merkel also met President SR Nathan at the Istana, as well as Mr Lee Kuan Yew.

The German Chancellor was also hosted to a state dinner by Prime Minister Lee. Her visit ends on Thursday.

- CNA/ir

The French have it right, imho. Time to wean off the addiction to oil. :)

I bet there are alot of special interest groups working behind the scenes. This nuclear group stand to make alot of $$$ when Spore goes nuclear.

By Hoe Yeen Nie | Posted: 01 June 2011 2136 hrs
<table width="260" align="right" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody><tr> <td width="20" align="right"> </td> <td width="240" align="right">
phpZO3cnL.jpg
</td> </tr> <tr> <td valign="top" height="60"> </td> <td class="update" valign="top" height="80"> <table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody><tr> <td width="138" bgcolor="f6f6f6">Photos </td> <td width="47" bgcolor="f6f6f6">1 of 1</td> <td width="18" bgcolor="f6f6f6"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnPrev" value="<< Previous" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_previous.gif" type="image" width="18" height="15"></td> <td width="19" bgcolor="f6f6f6"><input id="bntPlay" value="Play - Stop" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_stop.gif" type="image" width="19" height="15"></td> <td width="18" bgcolor="f6f6f6"><input disabled="disabled" id="btnNext" value=" Next >> " src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_next.gif" type="image" width="18" height="15"></td> </tr> </tbody></table>
dotline_240.gif

Germany's Chancellor Angela Merkel (L) and Singapore's Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong during their meeting at the Istana.</td> </tr> <tr> <td> </td> <td class="update"> </td> </tr> <tr> <td> </td> <td> <table style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #cccccc" width="240" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody><tr> <td valign="top" width="100%"> <table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="1"> <tbody><tr style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #ffffff"> <td> <table style="width: 238px; height: 69px;" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody><tr> <td class="topic" valign="top" align="left">
</td></tr><tr><td valign="top" align="left" bgcolor="#CCCCCC">
</td></tr><tr><td valign="top" align="left"><table width="100%" border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0"><tbody><tr><td>:*:
</td> </tr> </tbody></table></td> </tr> <tr> <td valign="top" bgcolor="#CCCCCC">
shim.gif
</td> </tr> </tbody></table> </td> </tr> </tbody></table></td> </tr> </tbody></table> </td> </tr> </tbody></table> <table width="510" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"> <tbody><tr> <td colspan="4"><hr size="1" width="510" align="left" color="#dddddd"></td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="4" valign="middle" width="510" height="30">
</td> </tr> <tr> <td colspan="4"><hr size="1" width="510" align="left" color="#dddddd"></td> </tr> </tbody></table>

SINGAPORE: Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong again stressed that Singapore has not made a decision on nuclear power but it is an option that must be studied.

He said this at a news conference on Wednesday with German Chancellor Angela Merkel, who is in Singapore for a two-day visit.

Germany had on Monday announced it would shut down its nuclear reactors by 2022.

It is Dr Merkel's first visit to Singapore as German Chancellor.

Mr Lee also noted that she is his first foreign visitor after he was re-elected to Parliament, just as he was her first foreign guest when Dr Merkel became Chancellor in 2005.

Both leaders made clear that Singapore-German relationship is an important one for the two countries.

Singapore is Germany's main trading partner in Southeast Asia, while German companies have long made their presence felt here, particularly in manufacturing.

Latest figures show that bilateral trade amounted to some S$20.5 billion in 2010.

Germany is also Singapore's biggest trading partner among the EU countries.

Both leaders agreed over the hour-long discussion to increase cooperation in R&D and support for enterprises.

They also agreed on the importance of ASEAN and the EU ties.

Dr Merkel said: "Cooperation between the EU and ASEAN needs to be further enhanced, needs to be further developed to the benefit of both, because these are after all two economic regions that wield quite considerable economic clout, and therefore lend themselves ideally to co-operate even more in the future."

What was not on the table was nuclear energy. He said Singapore is still exploring the option.

Prime Minister Lee said: "We need to understand it, because I think this is something which will not go away. And even if we don't do nuclear energy, our neighbours will do nuclear energy, and we need to understand the implications for us."

Asked about his choice for the post of IMF chief, Mr Lee said this would be decided on merit.

He said: "I would not say that I'm looking for an Asian candidate. I think we want to look for the best person who can do a very difficult job, which is crucial towards the stability of the global monetary system."

Asked by German media about the significance of Mr Lee Kuan Yew's retirement from the Cabinet, Prime Minister Lee said that even when Mr Lee Kuan Yew was still in the Cabinet, decisions were already being made by PM Lee and the younger ministers. The senior Mr Lee would interject and express his views at times.

"What has happened is that now that he has retired, this has become more visible, and that's all," he said.

Dr Merkel also met President SR Nathan at the Istana, as well as Mr Lee Kuan Yew.

The German Chancellor was also hosted to a state dinner by Prime Minister Lee. Her visit ends on Thursday.

- CNA/ir

If pinky decides to bring Singapore into the nuclear club, it is a violation of the http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Southeast_Asian_Nuclear-Weapon-Free_Zone_Treaty

Singapore must then be brought to the UN for sanctions

SG will have Nuclear Power in future
All the money will flow back into US
Thanks guys :)

I think that's a great idea. If by then, PAP still in power, Singapore deserves to have a nuclear plant. Hopefully there will be a meltdown and the whole island is radioactive.

@Ivebert: US sure needs the money man... I doubt you are even in the US. How is the unemployment line and negative interest rates? Tsk tsk... Must be in some backwater state... People redneck, you yellow neck lol

In this case, i do concur with the dragon prince, our energy security cannot be relied on imported oil or developing renewal energy. In this aspect, we have to kia see a bit. Besides, the Indonesians are exploring Nuclear Energy and if it proves viable for them, they will go ahead and build it and tell the UN and ASEAN to screw itself.

With all decisions, you need to strike a balance between probability and consequences. Its like playing russian roulette... 16.7% of being unlucky but the consequence is final.

What are chances of a nuclear disaster? One in a millon? One in a billion? How will the probability change if any of the variables are adjusted? Human/mechanical/structural errors, sabotage from a disgruntled neighbor, employee etc...

All this we do not know but what we do know is that a nuclear accident is fatal to the island. Yes, island. In this instance, we will really be PeeSai :D:D:D

The ones making the decisions can easily move out to other countries where they have stashed their loot.

Guess who'll be stuck in Spore to face a meltdown:rolleyes:

The ones making the decisions can easily move out to other countries where they have stashed their loot.

Guess who'll be stuck in Spore to face a meltdown:rolleyes:

Please lah!! :rolleyes::rolleyes:

U think Singapore is in the middle of Pacific Ocean?

Just walk over the causeway to Johore lah

Cheebye!

Please lah!! :rolleyes::rolleyes:

U think Singapore is in the middle of Pacific Ocean?

Just walk over the causeway to Johore lah

Cheebye!

Just look at how much havoc the forest fires in Indonesia caused. The winds will spread the nuclear fallout to Indonesia, Malaysia, Australia(Xmas Island). ....

Our neighbours in JB will definitely join us if there's a meltdown in Spore. Even KL might not be safe.:eek:

Just look at how much havoc the forest fires in Indonesia caused. The winds will spread the nuclear fallout to Indonesia, Malaysia, Australia(Xmas Island). ....

Our neighbours in JB will definitely join us if there's a meltdown in Spore. Even KL might not be safe.:eek:

Then take another flight from there to another place

BTW nuclear energy is now safe
Fukushima was just unlucky

Then take another flight from there to another place

BTW nuclear energy is now safe
Fukushima was just unlucky

yes..nuclear energy is now much more safer..what about the nuclear waste?

Hide inside water tank in woodlands?

Need some place more permanent.

Those flats in Woodland will probably be demolished to make way for taller flats.

Better to bury it with LKY.

1st is Ah Tiongs...
2nd they brought in Ah Nehs... shoot !
3rd the Pinoys ...

4th... i am expecting North Koreans... :eek:

He buay song that Angela's rank in list of world's most powerful women higher than his wife lah. :D

The probability of a nuclear disaster in Singapore is bery high if they admit or Pinoy fakes and Indian fake snakes into Sinkieland. If Sinkie go ahead of a nuclear plant better open up the istmus of Kra so there is alternative road for ships to pass. Sinkies can go fuck kite then.

With all decisions, you need to strike a balance between probability and consequences. Its like playing russian roulette... 16.7% of being unlucky but the consequence is final.

What are chances of a nuclear disaster? One in a millon? One in a billion? How will the probability change if any of the variables are adjusted? Human/mechanical/structural errors, sabotage from a disgruntled neighbor, employee etc...

Once upon a time, I remember the MIWs said they don't need casinos in Singapore. Now we have two. Perhaps just a matter of time when 2 nuclear facilities would be build on the island. ;)