• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Feedback from grassroots activists has been 'honest - PM

PhuaTeKor

Do you think PM is saying the MPs choose to ignore all the 'honest' feedback from the grassroots activists? :eek:

PM: Unfair to criticise grassroots activists
Their feedback is honest but MPs 'may not have interpreted it correctly'
By Rachel Chang

ST_IMAGES_P1PM30.jpg

PM Lee going from table to table to toast PAP volunteers from his Teck Ghee ward at an appreciation dinner at Orchard Hotel last night. He also thanked PAP volunteers across the island, noting that many took personal leave during the campaign period.-- ST PHOTO: DESMOND WEE

PRIME Minister Lee Hsien Loong on Sunday defended the work of grassroots leaders and volunteers, rejecting charges that they shielded People's Action Party (PAP) politicians from negative sentiments on the ground.

Calling such blame 'unfair', he urged activists not to be discouraged by such talk.

Speaking at a dinner to express appreciation to PAP volunteers from his Teck Ghee ward last night, he noted that 'there's been some criticism of the shortcomings of grassroots activists, both in the party and in the PA (People's Association)'.

'People say they stood between residents and the MPs to shield the MPs and they didn't speak up candidly enough when giving feedback, so MPs didn't get a good sense of what was on the ground.

'Some grassroots leaders and activists have been discouraged by this feedback,' he said. 'My response to them is, don't be discouraged.'

In fact, feedback from grassroots activists has been 'honest', he added.

Is is a HONEST mistake lah!, let us proceed with our Mee Siam mai HUM meal!

Appreciation dinner at Orchard Hotel?

Who pays? Party or government?

Appreciation dinner at Orchard Hotel?

Who pays? Party or government?

Don't ask, don't tell, or is it don't tell, don'r ask? the party is the government & the government is the party.

I heard this from a PAP / PA grassroots worker (call him A) who had volunteered to actually serve. During the recent elections, the grassroots leaders mobilized them to work the ground. On one occasion, they were called to a meeting where the following conversation (paraphrased) took place.

Grassroots Leader: OK, we need people to attend our rally tonight. How many people can you bring?

Silence.

GL: Come on, the party needs you.

B: Ten!

C: 20!

GL turns to A.

A: None.

GL: What?

A: OK, one. Myself.

GL: Can't you get friends, family?

A: No, many are going to the WP rally.

GL: What?! (Turns to someone else.)

The rest of the group of about 20 made promises of between 10 to 20 tag-alongs. They also gave A the cold shoulder.

During the rally, A looked at the dismal crowd and asked some of those who promised to bring people along where their people were. Almost everyone said they tried but few or no one had gone. They also advised A to just give a number the next time he was asked a similar question, and that there was no way the GLs could check. He was also told that if he did not 'cooperate', the GROs would leave him out in future.

A switched over to WP after that.

Lan cheow la. Grassroots in the form of PA has not done anything to reach out to the younger generation of Singaporeans at all. All they were doing is stick to their comfort zones, and bring elderly folks to zoo or 1/2 day JB shopping trips. If dun reach out to younger generation, can get honest feedback from the ground?

These grassLOOTERS are just that - looter, for contracts, for being able to drop names during conversations with friends, colleagues, business associates etc. There is one bugger who always use these words "As Minister was telling me the other day....."

The only way we deflate this Por Lam Par's ego was just to move on the conversation as though we never heard him.

It is quite a well-known fact that people who join grassroots are just there to build connections with ministers and not to serve.

so which is it?

Party activists not being honest or party leaders not listening?

Seems to me it is a big problem if the leaders of the country are unable to feel the sentiments of the ground and need to rely on another layer (grassroots organisations) to feel the ground. This sounds awfully like the ancient dynasties in China where the emperor will never understand the suffering of the people unless he decides to travel incognito to feel the ground.

If LKY were to do that, he would end up black, blue and red at the cul-de-sac and his hatchet hand on the floor, separated from the body. Years of ivory tower living and smoking on pride has led to a debilitated brain
that had few convolutions to start with.

It is quite a well-known fact that people who join grassroots are just there to build connections with ministers and not to serve.

This fact is well known, but hard to proof, as one need evidence to volley accusations, but it is not an invisible fact; for my ex-neighbour join grassroots fo that guanxi. So was the coffeeshop owner nearby also, the wife can be seen on RC photographs joining all the visible activities, for example, line dancing. Before that, hardly seen at the grass roots.

Yes, and very true.
For eg. Why would HO Bee n Tat Hong bosses volunteer this TP/bishan GRC
grassroots. They are so busy n rich. Why did they not want to stand in as MP???
How much hv Chua Tian Poh gained n in recent years printing newsletters, magazines,hard-cased books for all the households ??????
Not only businnesss gain, BUT as a SHIELD for the donations they made.
these people only serves the MPs while the commoners serve them.
Dont believe ? Come to one of the function and u can see who is more
outstanding.

Yes, and very true.
How much hv Chua Tian Poh gained n in recent years printing newsletters, magazines,hard-cased books for all the households ??????
outstanding.

Don't forget that is also an UPGRADE for your sons or daughters, especially if you own a coffee shop, you VOLUNTEER for grass loot sorry oops! roots, like one Rin Tin Tin, you get the ministars to come by to 'limp' kopi.

Is is a HONEST mistake lah!, let us proceed with our Mee Siam mai HUM meal!

1. aiyoh! sheep wayang again and again.
2. in front of sheep, blah sheep!, in front of the devil, do evil, in front of GOD, preach GOD words.
3. pinketon is everything mah!

This fact is well known, but hard to proof, as one need evidence to volley accusations, but it is not an invisible fact; for my ex-neighbour join grassroots fo that guanxi. So was the coffeeshop owner nearby also, the wife can be seen on RC photographs joining all the visible activities, for example, line dancing. Before that, hardly seen at the grass roots.

It is hard to prove because if asked. all will openly deny that they join grassroots for guanxi and know more powerful people. But it is quite known that relatives of grassroot people do get benefits like priority in elite schools or free parking lots. Quite a strong rumour I say. Take away all these perks and you will see the numbers dwindle by 75%.

Yes, and very true.
outstanding.

To gather more business and benefit without having to face the spotlight. Why be the public figure when you can be the 'unseen hand' that benefits without being scrutinised in public.