MP Lim Biow Chuan exposes bus standards online

MarrickG

limbiowchuan.carolinechia.jpg

FACEBOOK is fast becoming the direct platform for Singapore politicians to broadcast their messages directly. More so, after the recent General Election.

And the efforts from the politicians themselves and the interest from netizens shows no signs of abating.

As traditional media often comes with space constraints in newspapers, or time constraints on television or radio, the social nature of Facebook has allowed more awareness of issues at the ground level to be shared with the public, especially if they may not be big enough to overshadow other competing news.

Member of Parliament (MP) for Mountbatten - Lim Biow Chuan - did his own spot checks on the ground after complaints about the regularity of some bus services during the election campaign period.

He posted this on May 16 on his Facebook page at 4.48pm then: 'I received complaints about the regularity of some bus services during the campaign period. This morning, I waited at the bus stop from 8am to 9am with LTA (Land Transport Authority) officer to do an audit and was horrified at the result. Will be writing to PTC (Public Transport Council) and LTA to lodge a formal complaint about the service standards of the bus services.'

On Thursday at 2.30pm, he posted this next update on his investigations: 'Was at bus stop next to Block 56 Cassia Crescent this morning for 2nd informal audit. Results are slightly better although there is room for improvement. For service 70, a total of 8 buses came within a period of 50 mins. Service 197 need to improve. Will feedback to PTC for their follow up with SBS. Then monitor to see whether there are improvements.'

Earlier in the week, MP for Sembawang GRC (Admiralty) - Vikram Nair - posted a YouTube video of himself drinking tap water during a house visit to prove that the water in Blk 686B Woodlands Drive 73 is safe for consumption.

This was to reassure residents' concerns after the body of a dead domestic worker was earlier found in the block's water tank on May 16.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reactions from Facebook users on MP Lim Biow Chuan's page:

'Sir really appreciate your ground work. You didn't allow the LTA officer or your grassroots smoke you.' - Ong Delion

'Glad you came down to see things first hand! Great job, sir!' - Brenda Chia

'Mr Lim, thank you for your personal investigation. Service 158 is a good example. I am seeing a very positive commitment to improve the issues. If I can add, Facebook can be a good channel not to get a watered-down feedback. Of course some posting are not constructive, however like a Malay saying goes, if there's no wind the leaves will not ruffle.' - Jumali Sayuti

'Dear Sir, fyi, there are many other services which you will 'be horrified' with. Nothing beats seeing it for yrselves isn't it???? Really thumbs up for such efforts taken. Maybe you can consider checking out just how crowded our trains are also, especially the peak period.' - Jennifer Lee

'Good job. It's nice that you communicate what you are doing. Do continue. Hope you won't get the brush off from PTC/LTA. Hope they won't offer the traditional solution of tweaking the routes and increasing services as the solution will only...be stop-gap measures that do not address the root of the problem... and please tell them you won't accept them to put up more ERP gantries in your area just to 'solve' the problem.' - Serene Chew

SMRT and SBS Transit buses met service standards in 2010, says PTC

SINGAPORE: The Public Transport Council (PTC) said both the SMRT and SBS Transit buses have met the Quality of Service (QoS) standards set.

This was shown in a review conducted by the Council of the bus operators’ performance and service provision.

The review compared the performance of the bus operators’ in the six month period of June 1 to November 30 last year with the previous six—month period. The review measured the performance of the buses in terms of their reliability, safety and availability among others.

The Council said over the six months, SBS Transit maintained its performance, while SMRT improved on its adherence to schedule.

The Council said the next review results will be announced in October this year.

PTC Chairman Gerard Ee said the council is pleased that both public bus operators met the QoS standards set and have also recently undertaken further service improvements.

And he hopes the operators will continue to do more to further improve the quality of public transport for commuters.

http://news.xin.msn.com/en/singapore/article.aspx?cp-documentid=4770085

—CNA/ac

lianbeng says this lim blow chuan was formerly Chief Defence Force (CDF) everyday got ahmad drove him to n from MINDEF in his personal MID car - what does he know about buses/mrt trains?:mad:

I think PTC should reveal the technique they employed to make such checks. During morning rush hour or when? How they do it? Check arrival time at interchanges or at busiest roads?

Perhaps we should have a website where commuters can rant about late / non-arrival of buses and then investigate the causes. Its like how airlines will investigate AOGs / late arrivals / departures except i expect the numbers to be larger.

really, Singapore's bus system has still alot of catch up. In London, you can even have the full bus route on every bus stop and if i don't recall wrongly, even the arrival time.

yah SBS will counter by saying, London fares more expensive...fuck, keep increasing fares but no visible increase in service.

Further, i think each MP should dedicate two days a week to check out the bus / train in their SMC / GRC. another 2 days to walk around the HDB blocks to check out the cleaniness.

lianbeng says this lim blow chuan was formerly Chief Defence Force (CDF) everyday got ahmad drove him to n from MINDEF in his personal MID car - what does he know about buses/mrt trains?:mad:

cass888 says lianbeng is more stupid that he originally appeared. Lim Biow Chuan has always been a lawyer, is either a CPL or LTA only and is not related to Lim Neo Chen that lianbeng was thinking of.

Din they used to have those TVs onboard buses?
What happened to those? Heard they wrote off a bundle.

Din they used to have those TVs onboard buses?
What happened to those? Heard they wrote off a bundle.

Please, please, you want them back? I so happy that they are gone, and who cares they wrote off a bundle.;)

cass888 says lianbeng is more stupid that he originally appeared. Lim Biow Chuan has always been a lawyer, is either a CPL or LTA only and is not related to Lim Neo Chen that lianbeng was thinking of.

lianbeng apologized to cass888 for shooting the wrong guy - paiseh lah same surname mah.:o

Come on Mr Lim BC, the standard of bus services in SG is not THAT bad.
Don't wait until the PM starts all this empathetic and caring for the people nonsense then you start trying to show how empathetic and caring you are ok?

In your previous term, did you ever take the bus once to check on the standard of services? :rolleyes:

Further, i think each MP should dedicate two days a week to check out the bus / train in their SMC / GRC. another 2 days to walk around the HDB blocks to check out the cleaniness.

These people goes around with an entourage. They are too disruptive.

Wonder when PAP will start slapping their own pple for showing up their shortcomings.