Bold move: frenchies ban ninja wear!

France bans the burqa
By Dave Clark | AFP News – Mon, Apr 11, 2011 10:11 AM SGT

France -- home to Europe's biggest Muslim population -- on Monday officially banned women from wearing full-face veils in public places.
Other European countries have drawn up bans on the burqa and the niqab but France is the first to risk stirring social tensions by putting one into practice.
The law comes into effect at an already fraught moment in relations between the state and France's Muslim minority, with President Nicolas Sarkozy accused of stigmatising Islam to win back votes from a resurgent far right.
French officials estimate that only around 2,000 women, from a total Muslim population estimated at between four and six million, wear the full-face veils that are traditional in parts of Arabia and South Asia.
But many Muslims and rights watchdogs accuse the rightwing president of targeting one of France's most vulnerable groups to signal to anti-immigration voters that he shares their fear that Islam is a threat to French culture.
Police on Saturday said they arrested 59 people, including 19 veiled women, who turned up for a banned protest in Paris over the ban, while two more were detained as they attempted to travel to the rally from Britain and Belgium.
Some critics worry the law may be hard to enforce, since it had to be drawn up without reference to religion to ban any kind of face covering in public and since police officers will not be allowed to remove women's head coverings.
Anyone refusing to lift his or her veil to submit to an identity check can be taken to a police station. There, officers must try to persuade them to remove the garment, and can threaten fines.
A woman who repeatedly insists on appearing veiled in public can be fined 150 euros (216 dollars) and ordered to attend re-education classes.
There are much more severe penalties for anyone found guilty of forcing someone else to hide his or her face "through threats, violence, constraint, abuse of authority or power for reason of their gender."
Clearly aimed at fathers, husbands or religious leaders who force women to wear face-veils, and applicable to offences committed in public or in private, the law imposes a fine of 30,000 euros and a year in jail.
Foreign extremists, including fugitive Al-Qaeda leader Osama Bin Laden have used the ban to argue France is at war with Islam, and have called for attacks.
Belgium's parliament has approved a similar law, but has yet to enforce it. In the Netherlands far-right leaders have proposed a ban, and in Italy the right-wing Northern League is lobbying for a ban on the French model.
It is hard to gauge the mood of the bulk of veil wearing French Muslim women, but two who agreed to speak to AFP -- who gave their names as Aya and Umm Isra -- said they would not challenge the ban in the street.
But, they added, if they can't wear their niqabs they will likely go out far less often, suggesting the ban could create a hidden underclass.

If they insist on wearing the burqa then they should return to the middle east.
They migrated to France because of the freedom and now having stayed there for so many years they want to follow the strict islamic laws.

these buggers will tell everyone even they are in foreign country, dey still very faithful to their allah.:eek:

I'm inclined to agree with you but let's not forget the frenchies had colonised north africa/middle east for a long time. It's hard to bar the natives from entering their country.

If they insist on wearing the burqa then they should return to the middle east.
They migrated to France because of the freedom and now having stayed there for so many years they want to follow the strict islamic laws.

1. honest, such specimen should never leave its homeland, middle-east.
2. fight, fight, fight and still pray 5 times per day.
3. it could be anything under the black thing.

Those want to wear burga can choose go back to their own country. No one force then to migrate to country that not allow to wear burga.

First arrests as France bans burqa
Paola Totaro, London
April 12, 2011 - 7:11AM

Two women wearing burqas have been arrested by French police just hours after the Republic became the first country in the world to enact laws banning wearing the Islamic veil in public.

The women, part of a small group protesting against the new law in front of Notre Dame Cathedral in central Paris, could face fines of €150 ($205) and be forced to attend "citizenship lessons" - although it now appears likely they will be cautioned because the demonstration was not authorised.

The French ban on face veils began yesterday and is the result of months of heated public debate and parliamentary argument, sparked by President Nicolas Sarkozy, last year.

art_burqa-420x0.jpg

Kenza Drider, a French Muslim of North African descent, wears a niqab outside the Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris. Photo: Reuters

His centre-right UMP government introduced the law as part of a targeted populist strategy aimed at quelling increasing public unrest about rising unemployment, widespread austerity measures and immigration.

Mr Sarkozy also made a call for a wider public debate on the role of Islam in French society, sparking accusations of political cynicism as he battles falling popularity, an increasingly successful far-right leader, Marine Le Pen, and a presidential race in less than a year.

The ban on the face veil in France is also seen to be politically motivated as only an estimated 2000 women – of a population of five million Muslims – wear the veil.

French police, who fear a campaign of provocation, have been issued a nine-page memorandum detailing how women can be detained, where they can be asked to remove the veil for identification and exactly what article of clothing is identified as the veil.

Belgium has also passed a law banning the veil but is yet to enforce it, while other European countries are considering similar rules, including Switzerland and the Netherlands.

Police in France have made it clear that they fear the outbreak of rioting in some areas if the law is enforced, such as in socially distressed areas such as Trappes - but equally if they move against veiled Saudi women shopping on the Champs Elysees.

m&d rights are still inalienable in this country no matter what you people may be trying to say with threads like this from time to time.

Hahaha. Uncle botak, I posted this story before. I was at Sentosa couple of years ago when I saw this arabic man with 3 ninja wives. We were visiting the history museum which was very dark.

Then suddenly the whole group of us were given a big fright by one of the wives was in a dark corner. One of the girls even screamed. My ex and I tried very hard not to laugh out loud.

As we toured on, we saw the arab taking photo of his youngest(slimmest) wife on a rickshaw exhibit - decked face to toe like the your picture above. This time my ex buay tahan liao and burst out laughing hysterically. I dragged her out of the building, trying not to laugh as well! Thats the end of the tour!

Hahaha. Uncle botak, I posted this story before. I was at Sentosa couple of years ago when I saw this arabic man with 3 ninja wives. We were visiting the history museum which was very dark.

Then suddenly the whole group of us were given a big fright by one of the wives was in a dark corner. One of the girls even screamed. My ex and I tried very hard not to laugh out loud.

As we toured on, we saw the arab taking photo of his youngest(slimmest) wife on a rickshaw exhibit - decked face to toe like the your picture above. This time my ex buay tahan liao and burst out laughing hysterically. I dragged her out of the building, trying not to laugh as well! Thats the end of the tour!

Reminds me of my trip to Phuket. 2 ninja women and their husbands on board the ship heading to James Bond Island. On the way we ran into a storm, the boat rocked pretty badly to the point that they started distributing life vest. After we got to the island, we were supposed to head further out to a floating village, the 2 ninja women refused to board the boat. All of us were stuck on the island until the tour organizer managed to get another boat to bring the 4 jokers back to the mainland and we continued onwards