• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Blank cheque issued for more foreigners!

Jan 17, 2011

Singapore's fertility rate hits record low of 1.16

By Li Xueying

ST_18659938.jpg
-- ST FILE PHOTO

THE average number of children that a Singapore woman would bear in her lifetime dropped to yet another nadir last year.

Preliminary estimates of the Total Fertility Rate put it at 1.16, down from 1.22 - already a record low - the previous year, announced Deputy Prime Minister (DPM) Wong Kan Seng on Monday.

Meanwhile, the number of new permanent residents has also gone down.

A total of 29,265 foreigners were granted permanent residency last year. This is half of the 59,460 given in 2009. But the number of new citizens held steady at 18,758, a little shy of the 19,928 in the previous year.

Speaking at the Singapore Perspectives Conference organised by think-tank Institute of Policy Studies, DPM Wong also laid out the long-term thrust of Singapore's population strategy.

haizzz, prc wans to lower down population, spore wans to increase population.
so how? draft more prc into spore.:eek::eek::eek:

if the cost of living is not going down, it will be very hard to get ppl to have kids here. Just look at Japan, same problem they are facing except Japan at least has 120 million people whereas we only have 5 million.... so we need more people!

Difference?

Singapore uses the short-term solution, Japan seeks the long-term solution.

My reply seem missing.... Have posted a few but cant be seen...
Is there a ruling for new members ha?

My reply seem missing.... Have posted a few but cant be seen...
Is there a ruling for new members ha?

hahaha......dude, u jialatliow.....what a nick...u made sam kor mad!
he don't like to be called ballless!!!!

posting seen now... dun scold me.... new here... still fresh

When you do a posting, do you see this redirect message?:confused:

Thank you for posting! Your post will not be visible until a moderator has approved it for posting. You will now be taken back to the forum. If you opted to post a poll, you will now be allowed to do so.

posting seen now... dun scold me.... new here... still fresh
dat burger's ofcos mad wif u ... u've made him work harder 2 make ur posts appear ... :o

but datz ze way 2 do tings here ...

PRs firing blank - No better then Singaporean local

KNN CCB. Your thread should also be saying the PRs are also FIRING BLANKS TOO. So much so for these scholars.

I think our government is very short sighted in their implementation,executing and thought process of the immigration policy

You import people or PR to replace the population.Sure you can. But you must bring in quality PR to enhance the stocks. Quality PR are people with much higher ability and much higher income to come in. They will have incentive to reproduce and stay here. Reason is because they have the money mah willing to give their child a stable place and of course our WORLD CLASS education.

You bring in quality of PR who is more or less the same like average Singapore or much worse, from 3rd world nation. No wonder they don't want to give birth. Because when you bring in such people, they will start to scramble with citizen for the same sort of resource, ex public housing . They are more or less like Singaporean in terms of their financial status. Now, we just found out that PRs are also firing blanks. So how ? what is the next step ? Import more people from Africa ?

We need a comprehensive welfare policy for the citizen of Singapore. So that if foreigners are to see that citizen is so being treated so well , they will scramble to become citizen of Singapore, couple with stable environment.

KNN, pay this bunch of jokers so much , and then they import people with either the same or just marginally better then local quality to compete with us for resources. What are all these scholars thinking of ? Worse, after PRs get their free education or almost free education, they scoot off after that. Leaving us (tax payers )to foot the bill for their subsidize education. They sell off the and withdraw all their CPF after making a tidy sum. KNN !!!

What is there to FUCKING DEFEND ??? Defence budget 11 billion a year , yes a lot of money , but where is the spirit and who do we defend ???? This piece of small little rock , the PRs or the LEEs ... ?

Singapore fertility rate falls to record low

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20110117-258649.html

Singapore fertility rate falls to record low

Mon, Jan 17, 2011
AFP

SINGAPORE, Jan 17, 2011 (AFP) - Singapore's fertility rate slumped to a new low in 2010, meaning the city-state must keep bringing in foreign workers to support economic growth as the population ages, a senior cabinet official said Monday.

The resident fertility rate - or number of babies born per woman per year - dipped to 1.16 last year, down from the previous record low of 1.22 in 2009, said Deputy Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng.

The rate is well below the 2.1 babies needed for the population to replenish itself naturally.

"The key hurdle to achieving a sustainable population lies in our weak local fertility rate," said Wong, who also oversees a body that coordinates population policies.

"For more than 30 years, we have not been having enough babies to replace ourselves," he said in a speech to a forum organised by the Institute of Policy Studies.

While the government has pledged to put the interests of Singaporeans first, the country needs to continue employing foreign workers, Wong Deputy Prime Minister Kan Seng said.

He said the government would continue encouraging couples to produce more children, but admitted that raising the fertility rate would take time.

"For the foreseeable future, we will need to tap on immigration to augment our population, to support economic growth and to mitigate the impact of ageing," he said.

Singapore has for years rolled out the welcome mat for foreign workers, whose numbers rose drastically during the economic boom from 2004 to 2007.

But after the 2008 global financial crisis, the government took a fresh look at its open-door policy following complaints from citizens that foreigners were increasingly competing for jobs, housing, medical care and even for space on metro trains.

Re: PRs firing blank - No better then Singaporean local

love_story_undaunted_and_unafraid_she_has_stuck_by_through-thumbnail.jpg

Pinoys or men of the land ?