• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What's really behind the restriction on Thaipusam?

metalslug

http://yoursdp.org/index.php/news/singapore/4489-whats-really-behind-the-restriction-on-thaipusam

Wednesday, 12 January 2011
Teoh Tian Jing

ooibenghock.jpg

Could the new Thaipusam regulations be a knee-jerk response to the gang-related street violence in recent months? The announcement of the restrictions by the Hindu Endowments Board (HEB) seems to suggest so.

Under the new rules, no singing or music is allowed in the procession, and portable music equipment are banned as well. The 2011 guidelines states that "shouting and other forms of unruly behavior is prohibited; participants shall not paint their faces or bodies or wear any form of disguise".

Is shouting considered unruly behaviour? If it is, what do we do about people screaming (often vulgarity) during a football match? And if painting one's face is prohibited, then those who paint their faces during National Day Parades should be disallowed too. What about disguise? Are we also going to ban the lion dance and the bighead doll that accompanies the lion? What about the guy in the Tua Pek Kong costume giving out ang pows?

This is the problem with Singapore. The Government makes rules that arbitrarily discriminate against certain sections of the community. This creates resentment among the people.

When the authorities should be relaxing rules to allow for more spontaneity and expression, it does the opposite and enforces even more conformity in our society.

Singaporeans are, by and large, a tolerant people when it comes to religious and ethnic ceremonies. Hungry Ghost Festival getais, deity processions, Malay weddings, and Chinese funerals have been taking place frequently in our midst and for many decades.

So it seemed more than a little strange that one of the reasons cited was that "residents of new homes along the processions 4km route" had complained about the Thaipusam festival. The procession courses through parts of Orchard Road and Tank Road which means that it does not affect Singaporean heartlanders. So who are the real complainants? Are they Singaporeans?

What about the road closures? Are the complaints because of the inconvenience caused by the closure of the roads? If that's the case, then what about the road closures for the F1 race and National Day parades which occur for several days and weekends. The Thaipusam festival occurs only for one day in a year.

The pervasive social control the government wields on Singapore society applies not only to religious issues. In 1987, then Prime Minister and current Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew said: "If we had not intervened on very personal matters - who your neighbour is, how you live, the noise you make, how you spit, or what language you use. We decide what is right. Never mind what the people think."

The potential for this resentment may not be evident now as the PAP continues to take a heavy-handed authoritarian approach on social issues against segments of the population. But there are indications that resentment is building up, and the PAP may find itself falling from its authoritarian grace simply because the people have had enough.

The PAP deflects political responsibility by getting the government-appointed HEB to announce the restrictions. It doesn't hide anything.

If the new rules are a reaction to the recent gang violence, then it is overkill. Does the police have evidence that Thaipusam festivities are related to violence?

The ban on drums, body painting and music removes the traditional and religious elements of Thaipusam. It will only disappoint those seeking religious solace as they take part in this annual event.

The PAP champions religious tolerance among Singaporeans. It does not seem to practice what it preaches.

tianjing.jpg
Teoh Tian Jing is a member of the Young Democrats, the youth wing of the SDP.

What about Chinese funerals and Malay weddings at void decks? Must die or get married to qualify for drums and music?

http://yoursdp.org/index.php/news/singapore/4489-whats-really-behind-the-restriction-on-thaipusam

Wednesday, 12 January 2011
Teoh Tian Jing

ooibenghock.jpg

Could the new Thaipusam regulations be a knee-jerk response to the gang-related street violence in recent months? The announcement of the restrictions by the Hindu Endowments Board (HEB) seems to suggest so.

Under the new rules, no singing or music is allowed in the procession, and portable music equipment are banned as well. The 2011 guidelines states that "shouting and other forms of unruly behavior is prohibited; participants shall not paint their faces or bodies or wear any form of disguise".

Is shouting considered unruly behaviour? If it is, what do we do about people screaming (often vulgarity) during a football match? And if painting one's face is prohibited, then those who paint their faces during National Day Parades should be disallowed too. What about disguise? Are we also going to ban the lion dance and the bighead doll that accompanies the lion? What about the guy in the Tua Pek Kong costume giving out ang pows?

This is the problem with Singapore. The Government makes rules that arbitrarily discriminate against certain sections of the community. This creates resentment among the people.

When the authorities should be relaxing rules to allow for more spontaneity and expression, it does the opposite and enforces even more conformity in our society.

Singaporeans are, by and large, a tolerant people when it comes to religious and ethnic ceremonies. Hungry Ghost Festival getais, deity processions, Malay weddings, and Chinese funerals have been taking place frequently in our midst and for many decades.

So it seemed more than a little strange that one of the reasons cited was that "residents of new homes along the processions 4km route" had complained about the Thaipusam festival. The procession courses through parts of Orchard Road and Tank Road which means that it does not affect Singaporean heartlanders. So who are the real complainants? Are they Singaporeans?

What about the road closures? Are the complaints because of the inconvenience caused by the closure of the roads? If that's the case, then what about the road closures for the F1 race and National Day parades which occur for several days and weekends. The Thaipusam festival occurs only for one day in a year.

The pervasive social control the government wields on Singapore society applies not only to religious issues. In 1987, then Prime Minister and current Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew said: "If we had not intervened on very personal matters - who your neighbour is, how you live, the noise you make, how you spit, or what language you use. We decide what is right. Never mind what the people think."

The potential for this resentment may not be evident now as the PAP continues to take a heavy-handed authoritarian approach on social issues against segments of the population. But there are indications that resentment is building up, and the PAP may find itself falling from its authoritarian grace simply because the people have had enough.

The PAP deflects political responsibility by getting the government-appointed HEB to announce the restrictions. It doesn't hide anything.

If the new rules are a reaction to the recent gang violence, then it is overkill. Does the police have evidence that Thaipusam festivities are related to violence?

The ban on drums, body painting and music removes the traditional and religious elements of Thaipusam. It will only disappoint those seeking religious solace as they take part in this annual event.

The PAP champions religious tolerance among Singaporeans. It does not seem to practice what it preaches.

tianjing.jpg
Teoh Tian Jing is a member of the Young Democrats, the youth wing of the SDP.

Commerce and finance services take precedence over every other thing in Singapore . Your religion can wait .
Too much freedom it creates animosity between other groups .

Do you think it's fair to carry your pots and pans parading half naked on a working day .
While the daily commute suffers .
Shop keeps pays high rentals .

Mr. Teoh Tian Jing Welcome To Singkeepoo. The law here IS the garment. What they want to happen, how they want it to happen, when they want it to happen, it WILL happen.

Don't like it? fark off!

Shut the Fcuk up !
My Gahmen says what ,
You peasants just follow !

LeeKuanYew_984619420.jpg

the author wrote they banned all of that cos of the recent gang violence seems like many keling gangsters attend these events to create trouble.

its no secret lah this event attract lots of troublemakers..

you can go see for yourself, its very obvious. they would purposely go out of the way to taunt the poodles, play to the crowd, etc. almost like pros

its no secret lah this event attract lots of troublemakers..

you can go see for yourself, its very obvious. they would purposely go out of the way to taunt the poodles, play to the crowd, etc. almost like pros

I saw before at Serangoon Road Thaipusam, what you say is no exaggeration. Their own civilian crowd control people are behaving to police and public as if they own the road.

what do you expect from these shit skinned anjandi monsters. Go to their keling clubs like asoka and you can see this type of keling rubbish too.

Please remember to ask your mentor Ilovelamb first before you anyhow shoot, ok?

Goh Meng Seng

:rolleyes:

http://singsupplies.com/showpost.php?p=645301&postcount=3

09-01-2011, 02:31 PM

My Reputation: Points: 240 / Power: 5

Default Re: Thank you for your support!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Debonerman View Post
What? Farewell speech?

Haha... more like a final rally speech in virtual SBF before the real battle begins upfront in reality...

Goh Meng Seng

Power is freedom. PAPpies have power. Therefore, they can decide on who and how you worship. Simple, really. :)

I seriously find no valid reasons to tone down the celebrations. Its only 1 day and its part and parcel of the multi-racial society of Singapore, part of celebrations,

If its for safety and health reasons (eg: banning of firecrackers) ok, understandable.

Noise ?? Come on...F1 also creates alot noise...

Looking at this guideline:

===
===
Like that -Chingay and National Day parade must also be banned.

those foreign indians already make enough noise everywhere in work. no need to make noise on the streets lor

hahaha...this move will not go down well with the Hindus.
expect maybe 3-5% vote swing here.....
must say thks to the kuku guy.....

Thaipusam same same like a gang fight, got knifes... See blood... Pain and grossly sight!

Not many people enjoy such things expect Ah Nehs.