• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

now USB 3.0 thumb drives faster than HDD!

motormafia

Not faster than all HDDs but faster than most old HDDs.

talent_talent_usb_3.0_flash_drive_news.jpg

http://www.everythingusb.com/super-talent-usb-3.0-raiddrive-17951.html
video at above URL

Firmware Boosts Super Talent RAIDDrive’s USB 3.0 Speed to 370MB/s

November 24th, 2010
Firmware Boosts Super Talent RAIDDrive’s USB 3.0 Speed to 370MB/s
Ads by Google
Sold.sg
Get Top Products at a Bargain Sign Up and Try it for Free today !
www.sold.sg

When you absolutely, positively have to have one of the fastest storage solutions on the market that can fit into the palm of your hand the SuperTalent RAIDDrive is probably what you are going to reach for. It may be a bit bigger than the average thumb drive as it basically uses the same "shell" as the SuperCrypt, but boy is it ever faster than your typical thumb drive too! Heck it makes even "fast" USB 3.0 flash drives like the Express Drive seem S-L-O-W! When it was originally released, it easily was able to hit above 300MB/s via its USB 3.0 interface, and it appears that the engineers over at SuperTalent were NOT letting it go "full throttle" as the freakin' USB 3.0 controllers couldn't handle anymore than that... so why bother.

We know that these engineers can work wonders as the Express Drive firmware update may not have made it that much faster but it did make it run cooler. So, what does THIS firmware update do for the RAIDDrive? Well boys and girls, SuperTalent has decided that the newer USB 3.0 controllers coming down the pipe are worthy of getting the "full speed" treatment! Yes, they just recently announced that they will be unlocking the RAIDDrive's full capabilities via a firmware update. The end result, is a flash drive that is rated to hit an amazing 370MB/s when connected to a Fresco Logic FL1009 USB 3.0 host controller. A 55MB/s boost in performance is what we call a free firmware upgrade! Though we do have to wonder if this means the already warm running RAIDDrive will run even WARMER as the controller and NAND have to work that much harder. To find out, you will have to wait a little while as the firmware update hasn't been posted to their website... YET, but we expect that to change in the very near future. Check out the video demo after the jump.

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2009/11/04/super_talent_usb_3_thumb/

USB 3.0 thumb drive pops up

* Alert
* Print
* Retweet
* Facebook

Super Talent goes SuperSpeed

By Chris Mellor • Get more from this author

Posted in Storage, 4th November 2009 09:56 GMT

Flash vendor Super Talent is leading the pack again and has come up with a USB 3.0 thumb drive.

Its SuperSpeed USB 3.0 RAIDDRive comes in 32GB, 64GB and 128GB capacities and works with current USB 2.0 ports, but obviously at USB 2.0 speed. Plug it into a proper USB 3.0 port and it transfers data much, much faster, at up to a nominal 4.8Gb/s. It should be ten times faster than USB 2.0, which runs at up to 480Mb/s, and this will make a big difference to large data transfers.
Super Talent USB 3.0 drive

SuperTalent's RAIDdrive: fast

In the real world we might assume USB 2.0 delivers 30-32MB/s and USB 3.0 will give us 320MB/s. Super Talent says we can actually expect 200MB/s in USB 3 mode but reach 320MB/s by using a separate UAS Protocol driver. That will make backup to external disk a very pleasant experience.

The RAIDDRive uses what Super Talent calls "multiple pairs of differential serial data lines technology" to boost performance. It measures 95 x 37 x 13.5 mm and will be available in December from Super Talent's resellers. No prices were revealed. ®

HDD also USB 3.0

Seagate boards USB 3 train

* Alert
* Print
* Retweet
* Facebook

seagate_blackarmor_ps110.jpg

BlackArmor external drive gets new interface gear

By Chris Mellor • Get more from this author

Posted in Storage, 6th January 2010 11:58 GMT

Seagate has upped its BlackArmor external drive interface from USB 2.0 to the faster USB 3.0.

A steady USB interface changeover is underway as the 5Gbit/s SuperSpeed USB 3 interface colonises the external drive interface landscape. LaCie and and others have already announced product and both Western Digital and Seagate have revealed similar plans in time for CES in Las Vegas.

Seagate BlackArmor USB 3.0

Seagate's BlackArmor PS110 is a 500GB unit with a - presumed - 2-platter, 2.5-inch Constellation hard drive spinning at 7,200rpm and a 3Gbit/s SATA interface inside it. WD's USB 3.0 My Book uses the same SATA drive interface. The PS110 comes with a USB 3.0 Performance Kit: essentially a PC Express card and cables. This bypasses the lack of an installed base of USB 3.0 desktop and notebook PCs.

Seagate says we should expect data transfer speeds up to three times faster than a USB 2.0 external drive, and says it has reached this speed in real-world testing. It quotes sustained 100MB/sec transfer speeds, which will happily shorten backup and large file transfer times. The company claims a "25GB HD movie can be transferred in 4.2 minutes versus the 13.9 minutes it would take using a traditional USB 2.0 drive."

The PS110 USB 3.0 product comes with Acronis backup software - an automated full-system backup routine - plus a bare-metal recovery facility called SafetyDrill+. The product is compatible with Windows XP, Vista and 7 and can be bought from Seagate.com in the US for a manufacturer’s suggested retail price of $179.99. ®

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/usb-3.0-flash-drive-superspeed,2691.html

Five USB 3.0 Flash Drives For Your Pocket
2:00 AM - July 29, 2010 by Thomas Soderstrom
Table of contents

* 1 – In A Rush?
* 2 – Chaintech Apogee Astro And OCZ Enyo
* 3 – Power Quotient International (PQI) SSD S533-E
* 4 – Super Talent’s Express Drive And SuperCrypt Pro
* 5 – Test System Configuration
* 6 – Transfer Diagrams: Sequential Reads

* 7 – Benchmark Results: Sustained Reads
* 8 – Benchmark Results: Repetitive Transfers And Access Times
* 9 – Operations Per Second
* 10 – PCMark Vantage
* 11 – Conclusion

Do you carry around large amounts of data? Do you need to transfer it between devices in a hurry? We're examining five new USB 3.0-based portable storage solutions that might fit your needs. This time around, the focus is on maximizing portability.

Imagine if you were in a real-life role similar to Daniel Zavitz in the film Enemy of the State. You’re locked in your apartment when you realize you have to transfer a huge video file quickly before leaving. Bad guys will be busting your door down any second. If your options were based on modern USB 3.0 solutions, which drive would you grab?

By now, everyone who follows technology knows the performance advantages of USB 3.0. Early USB 3.0 devices have already reached five times the performance level of the fastest previous-generation parts, and the newer standard leaves room for that performance gain to double. Yet, fitting the extra technology into ultra-portable form factors has been a huge challenge for drive manufacturers, and our roundup requests received mixed responses from the many companies that announced products last winter.

It turns out that most of those announcements were purely paper launches, as many of the devices still haven't seen the light of day. That’s a shame, because we were hoping our first large roundup would include at least a half-dozen thumb drives. Expanding today’s article to include pocket-sized 2.5”-based drives would have allowed many more companies to participate, though most of those solutions use far more fragile mechanical hard drives than the flash we have on the bench.

We finally decided that the only fair way to compare the performance of different-sized drives would be to limit this review to flash-based devices and then pick a capacity that everyone could match.

The upper capacity limit for key-sized drives appears to be 128 GB, while the performance of larger units typically falls off below that capacity level. The 128 GB capacity thus appeared to be the perfect size at which to compare today’s pocketable flash-based storage solutions, and three out of four manufacturers in today’s roundup agreed to send the appropriate drive model. The fourth manufacturer informed us that its 128 GB unit was out of stock and, knowing that this would be a portability-versus-performance article, still offered its larger-format 160 GB unit as its closest-matching product. We agreed to test it.

Two of the companies that had originally agreed to send 128 GB models instead sent 64 GB and 32 GB parts; that's why you won't find matched capacities across the products we compare today. We still include these parts to complete the roundup, and it’s obvious that those two companies feel their smaller parts are fast enough to run with the big boys. Putting aside our best-laid plans, we forged ahead to determine which of these drive best fits the portability needs of on-the-move users.

usb-30-ufd.jpg

Sinkies will not enjoy full benefits of the new thumbdrives because of Trek Technology patent which was upheld in Singapore. That is why you can't find cheap thumbdrives giveaways for corporate gifts. Another reason why I shouldn't buy their flu-card or sars-card or spanish flu card.

"It can do more than what an ordinary dumb, dumb SD card can do which is just to store data," Tan said.

Singapore Court of Appeals confirmed the validity of Trek Technology's patent for its ThumbDrive, calling it "novel and inventive"

Sinkies will not enjoy full benefits of the new thumbdrives because of Trek Technology patent which was upheld in Singapore. That is why you can't find cheap thumbdrives giveaways for corporate gifts. Another reason why I shouldn't buy their flu-card or sars-card or spanish flu card.

"It can do more than what an ordinary dumb, dumb SD card can do which is just to store data," Tan said.

Singapore Court of Appeals confirmed the validity of Trek Technology's patent for its ThumbDrive, calling it "novel and inventive"

That is the SHIT that came out of LKY's #1 crony Yong Pang Sai's asshole!

:mad::mad: Fuck LKY & Yong Pang Sai :oIo::oIo::oIo:

aiya...need to hav mobo dat support usb3.0 lah...if donch have lan lah lor...not worth changing mobo for for dat....;)

Can add USB 3.0 host adapter card:

http://www.synchrotech.com/products-pcie/pcie-usb_00.html

http://www.synchrotech.com/products-pcie/pcie-usb3-superspeed-host-adapter_01.html

PCI Express to SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Host Adapter 2 Ports 15-pin SATA Power Connector

PCI Express to USB 3.0 More Like This Harnessing the powerful PCI Express capabilities on modern motherboards, the x1 PCI Express to USB 3.0 Host Adapter provides full USB SuperSpeed capabilities for up to Up to 5Gbps maximum transfer rates for high performance USB 3.0 peripherals. The adapter provides two external USB 3.0 ports. The PCIe card to USB 3.0 adapter is fully backward compatible with existing USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 devices, and connects with USB based printers, modems, speakers, scanners, and hundreds of other devices while enabling the use of high performance device that were once reserved only for high speed buses like eSATA and FireWire. Easy USB installation makes adding new hardware a breeze, with no complex configuration, confusing plug-ins, or IRQs. Connect up to 127 USB products to PCs. Ready for use with self-powered devices, or plug any available 15-pin SATA Power Connector into the onboard connecter for devices requiring bus power.

pcie-usb3-superspeed-host-adapter_01.jpg

wah faster than ssd. But not all ssd. Use pci-e ssd will be faster and yeah you need to change mobo. Most likely won't be implemented on lga 775 chipsets. Sandy bridges will be coming out soon so it's pointless buying core i mobos.

All mobos must first have USB 3.0 support if not would be like transition then from USB1.0 to USB2.0. Probably take another year or so to fully takeoff, when all mobos have USB3.0

http://sammyboy.com/showpost.php?p=637606&postcount=10

Ref above, add host card is a solution for your concerns.

USB 3.0 (RAID) flash is a faster and better solution than SSD.

Why?

Because USB 3.0 has got STANDBY +5V supply in a single connector. SATA SSD needs 2 connectors one SATA one power connector, it made cabling issues and size issue.

USB 3.0 can be plugged outside the casing & removed and exchanged like thumb-drives any time. SSD (SATA) is pseudo permanent installation that require opening up casing. i.e. Removable vs Fixed drives.

The problem so far with USB 3.0 is that mobo only provided 2 of them on the backside. There is no more inside, nor there is anything of USB 3.0 at the front of PC casing. This is an issue.

Even if you installed one of those PCI-express host card it is still at the hind of PC and not in front.

I don't like to ass fuck the computers with my thumb(drives) :D I prefer like CB in front. :p

90% of new mobo already have got USB 3.0 on board, but limited to 2 USB ports only. e.g. they would give you 2 ports of 3.0 and 4 to 6 2.0 or some similar combinations.

I am waiting to see some Video capturing devices and Digital Cameras come with USB 3.0 to completely replace IEEE1394. Transferring huge videos from cameras to PC via USB 2.0 is still not fast enough for me.