tony chat ....i need your advice .

tony , im getting sick of tokyo , i thought of moving to koh samui with my wife . how can i stay in thailand ? must i get a job there ( my wife is not thai ) ? im planing to do some online business in thai . making my own art and sell online .

OMG, you are asking the wrong person. In the 1st place, he isn't in thailand. And he only use thailand to mask his sinkie comments. Who knows he ask you to takeover an agogo bar he is working in. :p

If you want to start a business, getting those which are already established may be easier for you.

www.sunbeltasia.com

If you are looking for visa issues, work permit allotment,
www.thaivisa.com

They have tonnes of visa applications, see the one which is suitable for you. And steer clear of tonychat, he will brain fry you. :p

btw, why don't stay in outer parts of Japan which is near to sea, instead of going Koh Samui? Koh Samui is quite a commercial island and it gets stale like staying in Bangkok or like what you said stale in Tokyo

OMG, you are asking the wrong person. In the 1st place, he isn't in thailand. And he only use thailand to mask his sinkie comments. Who knows he ask you to takeover an agogo bar he is working in. :p

If you want to start a business, getting those which are already established may be easier for you.

www.sunbeltasia.com

If you are looking for visa issues, work permit allotment,
www.thaivisa.com

They have tonnes of visa applications, see the one which is suitable for you. And steer clear of tonychat, he will brain fry you. :p

btw, why don't stay in outer parts of Japan which is near to sea, instead of going Koh Samui? Koh Samui is quite a commercial island and it gets stale like staying in Bangkok or like what you said stale in Tokyo

thanks for the information bro , the reason why i chose koh samui is because it is cheaper to stay compare to japan . cause im starting my new art business online ( freelance artist , which means i dont need to rent any shop )and im not sure if i can make money out of it . im just sick of city life , and also my business in japan is not doing well ( time for a change ). for sin$1500 a month i could rent a nice beach front villa . http://www.thailandretreats.com/index.php?PropertyType=rentals

Well, selling artwork don't earn a lot of money, because there are many many artists in thailand. A lot of them are really very very good and with flair for art. Most of them live on art and happiness and not money. But money from selling their artwork can help them live a local's lifestyle. Many of these artists sell their artworks at the place they reside or sub to small art gallery owners who sell to bigger galleries or sell at big flea markets like chatuchak. Living a local's lifestyle would probably means you earn 10-20K baht a month. Anything more would be considered better life.

Seriously, I don't really like koh samui because its quite commercial and considered one of the "higher end" islands in thailand. Standard of living is higher than elsewhere.

Well, selling artwork don't earn a lot of money, because there are many many artists in thailand. A lot of them are really very very good and with flair for art. Most of them live on art and happiness and not money. But money from selling their artwork can help them live a local's lifestyle. Many of these artists sell their artworks at the place they reside or sub to small art gallery owners who sell to bigger galleries or sell at big flea markets like chatuchak. Living a local's lifestyle would probably means you earn 10-20K baht a month. Anything more would be considered better life.

Seriously, I don't really like koh samui because its quite commercial and considered one of the "higher end" islands in thailand. Standard of living is higher than elsewhere.

yes , i do know that there are alot of good artist in thai ..and you can find alot of cheap art work in chatuchak . but im not selling to the thai market , or the tourist . im selling to the world like japan and america through internet . and i have already done my research that thai dont have gourd art lamp http://www.etsy.com/shop/studiotempera . each gourd art lamp can fetch alot of money in japan starting from sin$200 a piece .

as my wife is japanese , she can help me get into japan market easily . i even thought of setting a one day gourd making lamp course which student can bring back their self-make art piece back home as Souvenir ( koh samui have a lot of japanese tourist ) . my target are japan market .

i can even create job for the thais ( as thais are good in art and i can pay them cheap salary ... ) as they can help me with my art .

the reason that art work in thai are cheap beacuse they never do branding .....i have learn alot from the japanese ...in order to sell something expensive you must do branding , packaging and create limited edition stuff . make customers feel like they want to buy just because it is cool to have it .

. i even thought of setting a one day gourd making lamp course which student can bring back their self-make art piece back home as Souvenir ( koh samui have a lot of japanese tourist ) . my target are japan market .

i can even create job for the thais ( as thais are good in art and i can pay them cheap salary ... ) as they can help me with my art .

the reason that art work in thai are cheap beacuse they never do branding .....i have learn alot from the japanese ...in order to sell something expensive you must do branding , packaging and create limited edition stuff . make customers feel like they are buying just because it is cool to have it .

Instead of teaching, you can just sell and use their cheap thai labour to mass produce your art piece. What happened if your student go out and compete with you on the same product. I am also working on selling my own form of art but there are many materials which can be sourced cheaply in thailand.

bro, that is the problem with mass production ...it will lower down the price of your art . look at thai ...all the art work is the same ...thats why selling so cheap and ppl can buy the same art from another shop .

i dont worry my student or workers going out compete with me ...as i said , i will do my own branding and create limited edition arts . for example , mac and burger king are selling burgers , but both are making money .

bro , what kind of art are you doing ...

bro, that is the problem with mass production ...it will lower down the price of your art . look at thai ...all the art work is the same ...thats why selling so cheap and ppl can buy the same art from another shop .

i dont worry my student or workers going out compete with me ...as i said , i will do my own branding and create limited edition arts . for example , mac and burger king are selling burgers , but both are making money .

bro , what kind of art are you doing ...

If you have some capital and 100% discipline, a professional gambler is a great profession. Believe me, it can be done and you don't need to pay income tax. Also, you are not troubled by rental, staff problems, customer problems etc. It is recession proof too. That's my profession now! I hit my target winnings 90% of the time.

bro ...when i was staying in singapore , do you believe that i dont even know how to buy toto and 4D , and my visit during chinese newyear i dont even gamble .

i have friends also full-time risk taker but gambling is not my cup of tea .

wish you huat everyday . :)

the reason that art work in thai are cheap beacuse they never do branding .....i have learn alot from the japanese ...in order to sell something expensive you must do branding , packaging and create limited edition stuff . make customers feel like they want to buy just because it is cool to have it .

tonychat is going to scold you a sinkie for creating jobs for the thais and paying them cheap salary:p

Which is a nicer view? Sea view or Greenery view on the mountains and hilltop. Anyway why in particular Koh Samui? Been there once and it gives me a feeling of being on a commercialised island. Every thing you do there makes you like a tourist more than a long stayer.

Back to staying in thailand, you can't just extend your visas like a tourist visa again and again. To stay there for long, you need a work permit or PR or business. Or another way is to invest a certain sum of money. (the rules for thailand always change). Thaivisa website should offer lots of info on this.

Actually I am paying income tax religiously and even inflating it to pay more for the past 4 years already. From loans or PR application elsewhere in future or migration, I think having a good income tax return helps.

tonychat is going to scold you a sinkie for creating jobs for the thais and paying them cheap salary:p

Which is a nicer view? Sea view or Greenery view on the mountains and hilltop. Anyway why in particular Koh Samui? Been there once and it gives me a feeling of being on a commercialised island. Every thing you do there makes you like a tourist more than a long stayer.

Back to staying in thailand, you can't just extend your visas like a tourist visa again and again. To stay there for long, you need a work permit or PR or business. Or another way is to invest a certain sum of money. (the rules for thailand always change). Thaivisa website should offer lots of info on this.

there are mountains in koh samui too . i chose koh samui because if i need anything i can buy from there instead having to travel hours to city just to get a packet of rice and because i still need to keep in contact with the rest of the world too. yes , koh samui have been commercialised but there are still many remoted places in koh samui too . im not going to stay at their town . i have been there before too ,and i rented a bike to explore the island ...im surprise that far end of the island is still not yet develop . and beautiful too .

by the way , i saw the link you send ...there is a one year visa .anyway my wife need to visit her parents in japan and i need to visit mine in singapore so i dont mind after one year i go back japan or singapore just for a month then back to thai again ...:)

ps: i have some sentimental memories on that island ...

Hi Drifter, when is the best time to visit Japan Hokkaido and Wakayama.

Thanks fo the feed back

Weird, How can you be sick of Tokyo? It is much better than sinkieland.

Are you old enough to retire? You can get a retirement visa but need 800K baht( About S$35k) in your Thai bank account. Check with Thaivisa.com

IF i am not wrong, you have to be 55 years old for that.

If you wanna do online biz, how are you going to accept money, you better have a way to set up a Thai paypal account. You need a proper Thai bank account first. You cannot use your paypal account in Japan, Paypal will block you out. OR get a Real merchant account. or use worldpay. check with Thaivisa.com

Anyway, i dun really wanna give help on these things because other worthless sinkies will get the tips and benefit from it.

I am not selfish, i just dun want to help sinkies. You seems ok, not that much a sinkie so i close one eye, share a bit.

When you open this thread, a sinkie who thinks he knows a lot starts polluting this thread. gees.. That is such a turned off.

I always advise people who wanna have an unsinkified life in thailand to go visit Thaivisa.com to get more info. That is the best place for it.

Thaivisa.com is run by a guy who is either formerly from google or have some association with google and he has a team to run the whole forum. I dunno if the management team has changed. Good luck to you.

bro ...when i was staying in singapore , do you believe that i dont even know how to buy toto and 4D , and my visit during chinese newyear i dont even gamble .

i have friends also full-time risk taker but gambling is not my cup of tea .

wish you huat everyday . :)

Don't be greedy. Bring 1k, win 300, run, run, run. I tested it for 30 days. Ok for 28 days. 2 days lost 1k each day. Win 6.4k a month. Enough for expenses since flat and car paid up. Kids grown up too. I supposed we are all born to do something and that something covers the A to Z, from architecture to zoology.

Actually I am paying income tax religiously and even inflating it to pay more for the past 4 years already. From loans or PR application elsewhere in future or migration, I think having a good income tax return helps.

Agree. Sometimes you need to inflate income tax to secure high loans or PR application. I am slightly more fortunate. I have settled my HDB and car loan and need about 5k spending money monthly.

Horses and soccer bets I gave up. Always lose. Casino, baccarrat games better. Overall, I am winning. Lost the first 2 months and slowly studied why I lost. Now, I think I discovered a good strategy but discipline is critical.

Many are aware of the strategy but few have the discipline to leave immediately even if you are there for 15 minutes. The earlier you win the harder to leave.