• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sky high HDB flat prices

Watchman

Sky high HDB flat prices
Posted by Ng E-Jay on October 23, 2010
25 Comments

By David See Leong Kit

Editor’s Note: This letter was submitted to the mainstream press, but rejected for publication. We reproduce this letter with the kind permission of the author.

I refer to the commentary “Buying a flat? Choose wisely” (TODAY Oct 15) by National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan.

The following two fundamental issues have not been addressed by the various market cooling measures introduced so far.

(1) Root cause behind high prices of HDB new and resale flats

Sky-high prices of HDB flats will naturally push up private property prices. Thus this issue affects all Singaporeans, even those aspiring to own private property.

In the 1970s, at HDB Marine Parade Estate, prices of 3-room, 4-room and 5-room new flats were $17,000, $20,000 and $35,000 respectively.

In 1990, 5-room new flats cost around $70,000. Such prices then reflected a “cost-based” pricing approach.

But following the 1996 property bull run, HDB switched to a “market-based” pricing approach. It confirmed that “the prices of new HDB flats are based on the market prices of resale HDB flats, and not their costs of construction”.

In 2000, the total breakeven cost (comprising construction cost, land cost and other related costs) of a 5-room new flat was an estimated $120,000.

However, under market-based pricing, HDB will first look at the prevailing market price of, say $260,000 of a 5-room resale flat. It will then pick a slightly lower figure of, say $200,000 as the selling price of the new flat — despite its actual breakeven cost of $120,000.

HDB will then proclaim the new flat buyer is getting a so-called “market subsidy” of $60,000, the difference between resale flat market price and new flat selling price. There is really no “cash subsidy” given to the buyer, and HDB is actually making a profit of $80,000 for each flat sold.

The financial losses reported in HDB audited statements could well come from “transfer pricing” accounting between HDB, Singapore Land Authority and Ministry of Finance.

A plate of chicken rice cost $3 in HDB coffeshops and $20 at hotel coffeehouses. It is illogical for HDB to proclaim that every person eating chicken rice in HDB coffeeshops is getting a “market subsidy” of $17 per plate!

HDB’s “market-based” pricing approach is the root cause of prices of new flats and resale flats chasing each other in a never-ending upward spiral — which is detrimental to buyers of both new and resale flats.

Why then is HDB not doing the right thing as a not-for-profit low-cost public housing developer through passing on to our citizens the economy-of-scale cost savings in its huge developments by pricing new flats on a cost-based breakeven basis?

HDB flats are public housing developed with public funds. Thus, HDB must be transparent and accountable in its public replies through disclosing detailed cost figures for all its housing projects.

(2) Are HDB new flats now really affordable?

Even a taxi driver could say that, while he was able to afford a $35,000 5-room flat previously, he is rightly worried how his children could afford to buy a similar flat that is now costing close to half a million dollars.

It is misleading for HDB to just proclaim its flats are “affordable”, without clearly specifying that a 30-year loan period was assumed.

Of course, if you stretch a home loan to as long as 30 years, even private property will become “instantly affordable”.

For a couple with combined $8,000 monthly income, a 30-year HDB loan of $500,000 at 2.6 per cent interest and $2,000 monthly loan instalment may appear affordable. But at the end of 30 years, they would have coughed up a whopping $800,000 in total capital and interest repayments.

A financially prudent loan period would be around 15 to 20 years.

For a couple with combined $8,000 monthly income, a 30-year HDB loan of $500,000 at 2.6 per cent interest and $2,000 monthly loan instalment may appear affordable. But at the end of 30 years, they would have coughed up a whopping $800,000 in total capital and interest repayments.

Rubbish. A $500,000 housing loan would require a monthly repayment of about $1,400.00 at current rates. In fact, CPF pays you more interest than the bank charges you.

Like that also still not happy. Geez.

Rubbish. A $500,000 housing loan would require
a monthly repayment of about $1,400.00
at current rates. In fact, CPF pays you
more interest than the bank charges you.

What rubbish !

Most young couple do not have that much in
their CPF to cover 80% of the property price .

david was actually asking the government to consider absorbing the market's cost of finance for their home purchase

What rubbish !

Most couples will have more than $1,400 a month in CPF OA to pay for the installments.

What rubbish !

When a couple is starting out, not to mentioned about 500k loan, when even the downpayment is a big headache.

When you are earning hundreds of thousand, one may ask what is the big problem, but when you are just starting out, that is another question altogether.

Rubbish. A $500,000 housing loan would require a monthly repayment of about $1,400.00 at current rates. In fact, CPF pays you more interest than the bank charges you.

This one a typical sinkie and never own a flat before. Possibly quite young.

Have you even considered the electrical bills, water bills, property tax, various licenses, internet and phone bills, conservative charges?

And when you have children, allowances, school fees, clothings for kids, food allowances for the family.

In war, ur 500k property becomes $5 and if your cash is tied down, you cannot immigrate.

Our ministers r smarter, they have large and cheap properties aboard. Some large properties r even cheaper than a HDB.

Beat that goon

couples dun juz starting out working earning few thousands monthly.

and at this economic, also dunno when you able to earn the few thousands.
prices keep goin up but salary stays the same.

Which well were you born in?

No HDB flat? Had one and sold it already. No time to wait for HDB, bought resale with grant.

Instead of complaining about the system, used the sale profits for two downpayments on modest condos. Now one pays for the other. How else do you think I know that $500k loan the installment is about $1,400-$1,600 or so?

Even the average uncles and aunties knew how to use the system. Before they had the new rule I know of one uncle/auntie (no relation though) who flipped 3 brand new HDB flats in 17 years and stored $500k in the bank.

The only goon is you whining and letting the rest of the society leave you behind.

This one a typical sinkie and never own a flat before. Possibly quite young.

Have you even considered the electrical bills, water bills, property tax, various licenses, internet and phone bills, conservative charges?

And when you have children, allowances, school fees, clothings for kids, food allowances for the family.

In war, ur 500k property becomes $5 and if your cash is tied down, you cannot immigrate.

Our ministers r smarter, they have large and cheap properties aboard. Some large properties r even cheaper than a HDB.

Beat that goon

Even the average uncles and aunties knew how to use the system. Before they had the new rule I know of one uncle/auntie (no relation though) who flipped 3 brand new HDB flats in 17 years and stored $500k in the bank.

Wahlau, you mean every Sporean who hopes to own a HDB flat must become a property agent & flip properties :eek:

Here I thought public housing was meant to be to affordable to the general public :rolleyes:

Wahlau, you mean every Sporean who hopes to own a HDB flat must become a property agent & flip properties :eek:

Here I thought public housing was meant to be to affordable to the general public :rolleyes:

Why do you think 66.6% are happy? Probably at least 10-15% in that category appreciated the system and will tell the foumers not to talk cock when they KPKB about 99 year lease, high prices etc. Because the government put the proof of the pudding in the eating - their actual bank deposits increased.

Even now, a family earning about $6k combined income can buy an HDB flat, sell it at about $100k-150k profit after 5 years and use it to buy an EC, which becomes private in 10 years and if they want to sell will be $200k-$300k more. Pity about the $10k income ceiling though.

The only people who are really disadvantaged are the couples who are earning >$10k combined and haven't bought their HDB/EC. They may not have saved enough money for downpayment for a condo yet. The net should be widened to catch these.