Legalise the Triad and Secret Societies in S'pore

It may sound radical, crazy and absurd but I humbly opine it may work - let's register our triads and secret societies under the Registrar of Societies. This way, we will "unsecret" the secret. We will better manage and contain the disease that is now spreading.

Prostitution and gambling are vices that will not be completely eliminated. They have a long history. Let's examine how the police adapted to manage these two vices.

Yes, we have Geylang, Petain Rd and Keong Siak St to cater to the various classes of people who need a release. Malaysian women filled the vacancies in the past. Since the late 90s when PRC women proliferated, it took the police about 8 years before an appropriate response.

When the WLs started congregating in the lorongs of Geylang, whereby various SS would collect protection money from these WLs, police decided that to contain the problem, they had no choice but to finally relent and permit PRC sex workers in Geylang brothels.

Where you have approx 400 WLs standing and soliciting in the lorongs of Geylang in the past, the numbers have shrunk drastically today. How come? Coz the police recognised the need and legalised PRC sex workers in designated brothels. Lesser raids needed. Manpower can be redirected to fight crime. Brothel keepers, customers, legalised sex workers and police all emerge as winners. Indirectly, members of public too coz they get more value from their taxes whereby police resources are not used inappropriately.

Legalising the prostitution trade many years ago contained the vice problem then. Recognising the need to legalise PRC sex workers contained the current status quo.

Let's move on to illegal gambling and illegal lotteries. When the situation escalated and got out of control, what did the police do? They legalised this business to combat the illegal bookies and 4D syndicates by opening up legal avenues to bet and punt. S'pore Pools has many outlets and they are geographically well spread. Very strategic locations indeed.

Take the illegal gambling problems as an example. After decades of denial, haven't we finally given in? We legalised our problems pretty effectively. We have RWS and MBS today to combat the problems of our chaps going to cruise ships and Genting Highlands. Of course, for the 2 IRs, there are other economic benefits too, directly and indirectly.

We now even have access to soccer betting. It started "foot-in-the-door" style with only S-League first. Then graduated to World Cup and others and then to EPL. Now, it is almost everything under the sun.

The ah long problem is also being dealt in similar manner. The ah longs with 20% interest of the past is now finally legalised. As long as lender and borrower agrees, the deal is set. You can even charge 100% monthly interest and it is legal! We had the law amended recently to permit licensed moneylenders to charge the traditional ah long rates and more.

What's wrong with legalising the SS and Triad? You get to monitor its members through registration. You get better command and control over something you have lost control of. The SS/Triad can go to legit biz and its followers can find job opportunities within their organisational structure. Yellow Ribbon project sure to be successful.

They can even form alliances to get better economies of scale in their businesses. They can even have their own disciplinary committees to handle wayward behavior like the recent stabbing and slashing. If there is a dispute that cannot be resolved, why use knives and kill here and there. Get their two best fighters to fight it out in the boxing ring. Who knows we may uncover a gem in a talented boxer who can win us medals in the Asian or Commonwealth Games. Maybe even an Olympic gold medal.

It may well sound crazy but it is worth some thoughts. Earlier use of this - legalising the illegal, has been quite successful, as the three examples illustrated above shows. If problem cannot be contained effectively, why pretend it is under control?

Legalise it to contain and combat the problem. Make sure all parties involved are on a win-win mode. The economic benefits of such a move will force the senior headmen of these triads and SS to behave like the legal OKTs in Geylang - fully compliant. The loss of such benefits is so severe these headmen will behave like religious leaders.

For Mr Ramseth who is of the view that education and upbringing failures should be blamed for many of these problems, no problem. Problem will now be rectified with 369 School of Ethics and Anger Management, Pak Hai Tong School of Stress, Sio Gi Ho Business School, Ang Soon Tong School of Discipline etc. These schools will ensure that whatever faults of our traditional schools and upbringing will be effectively rectified.

You don't understand what it means to be in an SS! You fail to understand the darkside of human nature.

Even if all the crimes were legalised, there will still be crimes!

You don't understand what it means to be in an SS! You fail to understand the darkside of human nature.

Even if all the crimes were legalised, there will still be crimes!

I never mentioned total elimination of anything, be it SS, drugs, gambling, prostitution etc. I am saying, with legalisation and safeguards, you can better managed the 'unmanageables'.

I never said legalise crimes. Crimes must be punished.

SS and darkside of human nature can be managed. Perhaps you have a better solution to this current SS and triad problem? Darkside of human nature? Bro, believe me, if I am not au fait with these matters, I won't be contributing here in SBF. I contribute meaningfully.

For Mr Ramseth who is of the view that education and upbringing failures should be blamed for many of these problems, no problem. Problem will now be rectified with 369 School of Ethics and Anger Management, Pak Hai Tong School of Stress, Sio Gi Ho Business School, Ang Soon Tong School of Discipline etc. These schools will ensure that whatever faults of our traditional schools and upbringing will be effectively rectified.

During my dad's and uncles' times, yes, the gang was like a church. Importance on behaviour and rationality couldn't be over-emphasised and miscreants would be severely penalised without needing other gangs to teach them a lesson. That was education and discipline, not in an academic sense but in a human character sense. The purpose of the gang was economic and united self-defence against brutes and rascals, not to breed brutes and rascals ourselves.

The origins were from our grandfathers' immigrant times. There were rules and principles, no drugs, no robberies, no extortions. Red packets and treats were welcomed out of givers' own free will and tokens of respect. The main businesses were illegal moneylending, bookmaking and lotteries. The gang standing also facilitates the legal side of businesses, e.g. some import, export, transport and distribution of legal goods.

wahlaneh...
ramseth now illegal already got so many problems liao if legalize them no end no finish liao.

!

Darkside of human nature is not permanent. It can change with the right incentive which is almost always $$$$$ and more $$$$$$$. Before the brothels were legalised in Geylang, these pimps, for the sake of making a living, were terrible chaps - hooligans and rascals.

When the police "invited" them to be legal pimps, they took the challenge and soon realised that the licensed brothel biz was better than striking 4D. Averagely, you are looking at 30k monthly for the OKT.

The easy $ made will always be gone coz these pimps love to gamble on anything under the sun - horse, dogs, matchsticks, soccer, pai kow, see kee puay etc.

My point is, when you stand to lose greatly, whatever you have or soon will have, you tend to be on your best behavior for fear of losing your pot of gold.
Many SS and triad chaps also converted to Christianity while in jail and remain goody goody after release. Some became counsellors and pastors.

Nothing is permanent. Darkside can change to brightside and vice versa.

ramseth now illegal already got so many problems liao if legalize them no end no finish liao.

The gang even had a reputable Chinese physician as honorary senior member. The gang protected him against extortion threats from other gangs. He didn't have to pay the gang any due. Just give good treatments and discounts to gang family members, and especially when gang members themselves who sustained gangfight injuries, don't report police. :D

There'd be brutes and rascals out there. Fighting was unavoidable, but not without a good cause, and with fair warning and an honorable fight. Those days when negotiations over disputes broke down, time and location would stated for a declared war. The neighbourhood concerned would be informed and an unofficial curfew came into effect to avoid innocents caught in the clash. Of course the police knew too. They'd wait till the clash almost done, then come round-up whoever still hadn't or couldn't run. :D

wahlaneh...

Bro wahlaneh, the strategy is to legalise the illegal to gain better command and control. Agree with the you - the illegal currently has many problems. Do we sit still and do nothing? Can it be worse if we legalise their existence? Do we have anything to lose given the status quo today?

The gang even had a reputable Chinese physician as honorary senior member. The gang protected him against extortion threats from other gangs. He didn't have to pay the gang any due. Just give good treatments and discounts to gang family members, and especially when gang members themselves who sustained gangfight injuries, don't report police. :D

There'd be brutes and rascals out there. Fighting was unavoidable, but not without a good cause, and with fair warning and an honorable fight. Those days when negotiations over disputes broke down, time and location would stated for a declared war. The neighbourhood concerned would be informed and an unofficial curfew came into effect to avoid innocents caught in the clash. Of course the police knew too. They'd wait till the clash almost done, then come round-up whoever still hadn't or couldn't run. :D

wahlaneh...
hahaha pls lah ramseth a fight is a fight lah got honorable fight one meh?
u think those hk kungfu movie iszit?
even those shaolin 少林高僧 monks or kunlun 昆仑派道长 taoists or e-mei 峨嵋派弟子nuns in 射雕英雄传 or 神雕侠侣 when they fight no such thing as honorable one lah.:D

Bro wahlaneh, the strategy is to legalise the illegal to gain better command and control. Agree with the you - the illegal currently has many problems. Do we sit still and do nothing? Can it be worse if we legalise their existence? Do we have anything to lose given the status quo today?

wahlaneh...
maybe i misunderstood ur point soli.:o

wahlaneh...
hahaha pls lah ramseth a fight is a fight lah got honorable fight one meh?
u think those hk kungfu movie iszit?
even those shaolin 少林高僧 monks or kunlun 昆仑派道长 taoists or e-mei 峨嵋派弟子nuns in 射雕英雄传 or 神雕侠侣 when they fight no such thing as honorable one lah.:D

Of course they're honorable fights, no need swordsman novels. A dispute irreconciable, leading to proper one-to-one, or gang-to-gang, state time and location, exclude innocent public and be prepared to accept whatever outcome win or lose, that's an honorable fight. Staring or shouting matches resulting in fights are dishonourable fights.

>

Election 2 (Triad Election) HK teaser trailer

Wo Shing is Hong Kong's oldest Triad Society. Under the leadership of current Chairman Lok, it has grown to become the most feared crime organization in the city. Jimmy, an educated gangster, wants to go clean by building a legitimate business empire. His profit-making enterprises have made him a favorite in the upcoming Chairman election. But his popularity also brings him to the attention of the Chinese authorities as he is the perfect middleman to bring the Triads and the Central Government into peaceful co-existence. The Chinese authorities offer Jimmy access to Mainland's business market should he choose to lead Wo Shing for the next two years. The irony is not lost on Jimmy: in order to escape the Triads, first he has to become its leader. As Jimmy unwillingly embarks on a violent campaign trail, he discovers his future, as well as the future of Wo Shing, hang in the balance of a far greater power

>

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AgBdHFgPmEY&feature=related

?

Triads are cowards and lazy bums who earn a living by threatening the lives of decent folks.

Don't try and glamourize something that is as despicable as cowardice!

You're confusing between triads and street gangs. Most traditional triads were headed by registered clan association elders and merchants with registered businesses. The men weren't idling and waiting for a fight, extortion or robbery; they were labourers like coolies, drivers etc. The forming of triads was like having a disciplined NS, for protecting interests and livelihoods, just in case. And yes, there'd been cases, there'd be brutes and rascals forming street gangs to try to bully for money without working.

i thought it was already legalised ? :confused:

so many sports club around.. especially those lion dance ones

Wahahaha...:D

There are already a legalised Triad in Sinkapoor.

They're called PAP and their enforcers are known as MIWs.

The rest of the street gangs are alffiliated to them in a hierachical way ala militia.

Sinkapoor is just a small city state and the mayor got the most power in the past 60 years. Go figure this out yourself.