• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Now Singapore Airlines is forced to change Rolls-Royce engines on three superjumbos

/ASIA\

Now Singapore Airlines is forced to change Rolls-Royce engines on three superjumbos

By Richard Shears
Last updated at 12:19 PM on 10th November 2010

Singapore Airlines is to replace British-built Rolls-Royce engines on three Airbus A380 planes it was announced today. A superjumbo was flown back to Singapore without passengers after oil was reportedly spotted on one of the giant turbines while at Heathrow airport. Engines on this airliner and two others in Australia will be replaced with new versions of the same model which exploded on a Qantas jet last week.

article-0-0BFEF6CD000005DC-505_468x286.jpg

Checks: A Singapore Airlines Airbus A380. Three of the jets will each have one of their Rolls-Royce Trent 900 engines replaced after traces of oil was found

Shares in Derby-based Rolls-Royce are likely to tumble further today following further embarrassing news about its Trent 900 engine. They fell 10 per cent in the first two days after the Qantas failure, wiping £1.2billion off the company’s value.

Share prices rallied yesterday to 607.5p, cutting the fall to £871million, after the announcement that a £750million deal has been signed with a Chinese airline. The decision to ground replace one turbine each on three Singapore Airline jets was made as a 'precautionary measure', the airline said.

It is understood just one engine on each of the jets will be replaced after tests showed signs of oil stains. It was reported the A380 crew at Heathrow Airport refused to fly an A380 bound for Singapore after oil was allegedly found in one of the turbines, but Singapore Airlines said later that this was 'absolutely incorrect.'

Reports suggested that passengers who were due to depart from London were informed that Rolls-Royce had placed an embargo on one of the Trent 900 engines. Rolls-Royce spokesman Roger Hunt said that checks were being carried out on A380 superjets, but he could not confirm if an embargo had been put in place. 'This is a process of ongoing checks,' he said. 'Safety is our highest priority.'

article-1328310-0BFCB5A7000005DC-946_468x318.jpg

Taking a hit: The Rolls-Royce jet engine plant in Derby

Singapore Airlines said earlier this week that inspections had not revealed any problems with the engines on its fleet of 11 A380s.
'Any further checks that may be recommended by the manufacturers will of course be done and in the meantime we continue with our regular routine checks,' said a spokesman for the airline.

The decision to fly the superjets back to Singapore without passengers resulted in disruptions in London, Melbourne and Sydney, where the three affected aircraft were preparing to take passengers to the island republic.

The developments followed last week's drama when a Rolls-Royce engine on a Qantas superjet exploded after take-off from Singapore, resulting in the plane returning to the airport.

article-1328310-0BEDBAFB000005DC-340_468x313.jpg

Disaster: Debris from the Qantus A380, which made an emergency landing in Singapore last Thursday, that fell to the ground in in Batam, Indonesia

It has since emerged that the drama was far more serious than first reported. The number two engine's explosion is understood to have caused significant damage to hydraulic systems that prevented spoilers - wing panels that create drag to slow the aircraft - from operating.

Rolls-Royce has told Qantas it has made good progress in understanding the cause of the engine failure on QF32. While this has not been revealed, some experts have suggested that the enormous thrust needed to get the aircraft off the ground caused the engine turbines to crack under the strain.

Re: Now Singapore Airlines is forced to change Rolls-Royce engines on three superjumb

that is nothing. if SQ change the engine to GE, then i salute them.

RR, just another british company to die. the problem is gov dun help industries.

not like france or italy.

Re: Now Singapore Airlines is forced to change Rolls-Royce engines on three superjumb

RR is a good company and in such complex design issues can happen. They have excellent safety record. Even GE has issues.

This is a preventive measure and i think its a good idea. better change things before shit happens.

that is nothing. if SQ change the engine to GE, then i salute them.

RR, just another british company to die. the problem is gov dun help industries.

not like france or italy.

SQ cannot change, they have already signed long term maintenance contracts with RR for the Trent 900 engine. This is one of the problems. If the RR engine has a fault, the people maintaining it are RR employees signed under contract with SQ. What is their incentive to reveal to SQ there is a fundamental flaw?

Dear PAP

The problem is that all the airlines have opted for the total care package including Quantas. All other airlines flying Rolls Royce have elected to continue with operations except QF.

Rollys Royce for its reputation has to to reveal fundamental flaws and replace the parts concerned. but even that takes time including redesign and analysis. I suspect there will be a regime of extra inspections and longer one's concentrating on specific turbine areas as any fundamental flaws are worked out.

Locke

What is their incentive to reveal to SQ there is a fundamental flaw?

Even if SIA knew there was a problem they would be very reluctant to change the engines. We've already seen how quickly SIA cleared the A380 for operational use.

They now don't have a choice because the other airlines are doing the change & if anything happens SIA will loose face :rolleyes:

Dear Johnny

Have you thought that maybe its just that Rolls Royce found something and that the other checks with airlines with similar rolls royce engines found nothing ?

Thanks

Locke

SQ cannot change, they have already signed long term maintenance contracts with RR for the Trent 900 engine. This is one of the problems. QUOTE]

i guess we are stuck with the RR engine.
no choice, i never flew on a380 anyway, not likely anytime soon, most of the time i travel on 747.

Dear Johnny

Have you thought that maybe its just that Rolls Royce found something and that the other checks with airlines with similar rolls royce engines found nothing ?

Thanks

Locke

Just compare how the 2 airlines handled the affair.

Qantas grounded all their flights & continued to investigate whereas SIA quickly cleared the engines for operational use. It took SIA only 24 to 48 hours to determine there was no problem:eek:

It never even occured to SIA to wait for the outcome of a more thorough investigation being conducted by Qantas & Rolls Royce. Obviously $$$ is more important than the safety of their passengers:mad:

If there are Sporeans still choosing to take SIA, better prepare your wills. With SIA's attitude, expect the worse :rolleyes:

Now I am even scared of flying these 380....look at the statement given by air bus...Engines on the A380 malfunctioned four times before the disintegration on the flight from Singapore to Sydney. All of the planes landed safely.

Fly at own risk

Dear Johnny

Its not only SQ are airlines like Lufthansa are using Rolls Royce as well and they have cleared the engine for use.

Locke

Dear Johnny

Its not only SQ are airlines like Lufthansa are using Rolls Royce as well and they have cleared the engine for use.

Locke

Sorry don't know much about Lufthansa's A380 so can't comment about them.

However in Spore we are all more familiar with SIA & the various problems with this airlines. Have personally flown economy and business.

It is just surprising that there are people making excuses for this airline. You remind me of a naughty child making excuses to justify their actions i.e. the other kids are doing it :eek: What kind of justification is that:confused:

I think it's more important to compare to what Qantas did. They were willing to take steps sacrificing $$$ for the safety of the crew & passengers.

The actions of SIA shows that it is not a world class airlines.

SQ cannot change, they have already signed long term maintenance contracts with RR for the Trent 900 engine....

Not true lah. Even the car or TV that you buy has warranty for at least one year, or even extended warranty. If your car is under warranty, it's good to have the parts replaced - like having a new engine in your car.

SIA being such a big and careful company and customers of Boeing, Airbus and Rolls Royce, is sure to have all sorts of warranty and insurance. Temasek Holding being Government owned ensure as many safeguards are in placed.

Sorry don't know much about Lufthansa's A380 so can't comment about them.

However in Spore we are all more familiar with SIA & the various problems with this airlines. Have personally flown economy and business.

It is just surprising that there are people making excuses for this airline. You remind me of a naughty child making excuses to justify their actions i.e. the other kids are doing it :eek: What kind of justification is that:confused:

I think it's more important to compare to what Qantas did. They were willing to take steps sacrificing $$$ for the safety of the crew & passengers.

The actions of SIA shows that it is not a world class airlines.

Lee Hsien Yang sits on the International Advisory Board of Rolls Royce.

I didn't know that but am not surprise. There are rewards for being a "member"

It must be because of his vast experience as an SIA passenger :rolleyes:
Heard that LKY is some kind of "advisor" to some international banks.

Angmos are not stupid, they don't throw money away.
Makes one wonder what they got in return :confused:

Dear Johnny

As I said the comparison is not only SQ and Quantas but SQ Quantas and Lufthansa who all fly the A380 with Rolls Royce Trents and have it in service at the present.

If your accusation is that SQ is putting profits before safety then yes It would apply equally to Lufthansa as well would it not ?

What can be seen thus far is that QUANTAS has decided to go beyond the recommendations of both Airbus and Rolls Royce, whereas Lufthansa and SQ have decided to follow their directives. is one necessarily safer or better PR wise, but that is a very different issue from one one action being dangerous and another being safe.

Locke

I didn't know that but am not surprise. There are rewards for being a "member"

It must be because of his vast experience as an SIA passenger :rolleyes:
Heard that LKY is some kind of "advisor" to some international banks.

Angmos are not stupid, they don't throw money away.
Makes one wonder what they got in return :confused:

He is on the advisory boards of TOTAL, J P Morgan, Moscow School of Management SKOLKOVO, and Daimler-Benz.

If your accusation is that SQ is putting profits before safety then yes It would apply equally to Lufthansa as well would it not ?

Simple, I don't know how Lufthansa has handled the affair.

However we all know how SIA has handled the situation compared to Qantas. This is an airlines which claims to be world class.

Why are you making excuses for SIA?
If SIA has another incident like what happened in Taiwan, it's not going to help them.

He is on the advisory boards of TOTAL, J P Morgan, Moscow School of Management SKOLKOVO, and Daimler-Benz.

Heard that F&N wass bought by the Japanese. is he still there :confused:

He must have gotten a platinum handshake from Singtel. Add the allowances from all these "advisory" positions he must be making quite alot of peanuts.