• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SAF hero who voluntarily extended his national services by 8 months

†††††

He volunteered to extend his NS stint - by eight months
By Jermyn Chow

ST_IMAGES_P1BLURBS29-DE0.jpg

WHILE most of his peers are counting down to the day they finish their national service, Third-Sergeant Muhammad Hashnul Nizam wants it to go on and on - for 8-1/2 months more, in fact.

The specialist from the 3rd Battalion Singapore Guards (3 Guards) had completed his mandatory two-year NS stint in June this year, and was supposed to work on an oil tanker and study to qualify to be a senior ship officer.

But the full-time national serviceman (NSF) decided to put his ambitions on hold. He extended his national service to the end of February next year, foregoing the $2,300 salary of a sailor.

3rd Sgt Hashnul is part of a small, little-known group of NSFs who voluntarily extend their mandatory stints.

His reason for doing so? He could not bear to leave the nine soldiers reporting to him at a time when they were about to be put through gruelling military exercises to test their combat readiness.

'Many of my friends thought I was crazy when I first told them,' said 3rd Sgt Hashnul, 23, who gets $1,200 a month in NS allowance.

'When I come back from training looking very tired, some of my friends and colleagues would ask jokingly whether I regretted extending my stint.'

He doesn't, because of the camaraderie he shares with his fellow guardsmen. 'We have already been through thick and thin, shed tears, shared food, water, jokes. We have become very close,' he said.

The Ministry of Defence (Mindef) said that on average, about 200 NSFs a year have volunteered to extend their two-year tour of duty since the Voluntary Extension of Service Scheme was introduced in 1996. About 20,000 men are enlisted into the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) every year.

Their reasons range from wanting to pitch in and help their units get through the SAF's battery of tests to assess a battalion's combat readiness, to be part of overseas training exercises, or to be involved in projects like the National Day Parade and the recent Youth Olympic Games.

Responding to queries from The Straits Times, Mindef spokesman Desmond Tan said NSFs may opt to extend their service stints beyond their Operationally Ready Date (ORD) 'if there is an organisational requirement for them to do so'.

Such servicemen will still get their monthly allowance, annual leave and medical benefits.

The period of voluntary extension will count towards their Operationally Ready National Service (ORNS). In addition, they will be eligible for recognition given to NSmen, such as NSmen tax relief.

Some extend by a week and others for several months. 3rd Sgt Hashnul's stint is among the longest. The extension scheme is limited to nine months.

National service was cut from 2-1/2 years to two years in 2004 because the SAF was relying more on technology. At that time, it was also seeing a surge in pre-enlistees because of more births starting from the 1988 Dragon Year till around 1997.

The Straits Times understands that the number of soldiers who have extended their stints has increased in recent years as the SAF becomes involved in more training exercises overseas and is roped in to organise national events.

The SAF deploys NSFs in overseas training exercises, as well as peacekeeping and disaster relief missions.

About 400 have been deployed on such missions this year. In total, about 2,500 have been sent on overseas missions since 1989.

One of them was Corporal Jeremy Lim, 23, who pushed back his ORD by more than two months to sail with the Republic of Singapore Navy to patrol the Gulf of Aden to fight piracy.

'It's a once-in-a-lifetime experience to be part of a real-life operation. I wouldn't miss that for anything,' said Cpl Lim, who completed his NS stint last week.

SAF driver Lance Corporal Bernard Yong, 24, extended his NS for three months so that he could go for a one-month training stint in Oklahoma in the United States.

For 3rd Sgt Hashnul, staying on has allowed him to broaden his horizons. He was the only NSF commander to be selected to train for more than a month with the US Marines in San Diego in California recently.

His commanding officer in 3 Guards, Lieutenant-Colonel Mohd Fahmi Aliman, said: 'He never shied away from any challenge and all his men and contemporaries respect him...truly a commander who leads by example.'

Indeed, 3rd Sgt Hashnul said the two-year NS stint may be 'quite short' for a commander to learn everything.

'I've learnt how to become a better and tougher man who can withstand any pressure or stress...I just hope to give back to a place that has taught me so much and allowed me to make a difference.'

HE cannnot even stand setia properly! GOSH! what a disgrace though I salute him for his efforts.

I personally give him a pad on his back... Tell him that this country is safer with u around!!!

Hahahaha...

Wow, front page news for this.

If they were to do this for every American (or British or Australian) soldier who extend their tour of combat duty in theaters of war like Vietnam, Iraq, Afghanistan, ect2 , there will be no space for other news.

Wonder how many real combat mission he has been on . Ever fired a live round at a real (not simulated) enemy before?

bery goot wat :rolleyes:
so the 2300 job can give to another person who needs it.
giving to him is a waste. he shd sign on and hug the bushes.
knn.:oIo:

Wow, front page news for this.

If they were to do this for every American (or British or Australian) soldier who extend their tour of combat duty in theaters of war like Vietnam, Iraq, Afganistan, ect2 ,
there will be no space for other news.

Wonder how many real combat mission he has been on . Ever fired a live round at a real (not simulated) enemy before?

I would post this on the front page with the caption, Crazy dude self pwn: volunteerily extend NS by 8.5 months

3rd Sgt Hashnul, 23, who gets $1,200 a month in NS allowance

$1.2K ??? is that how much they are getting now? my time including with gds vocation pay only about $220 ++ wtf. and now also not entitled to any of the 9k cpf. wtf.

I hope he will not live to regret his decision when he start to experience insufficient funds to purchase his first HDB flat.

perhaps he need a medical check-up? on his mind? i can't see the logic?

and Army, you cannot suka suka want extend they extend for you.

It is good if he is doing it for the country that belongs to Singaporeans. But he didnt know that he is doing it for the country that belong to the famiLEE.

It is a wasted of his time.

the 2300 job is a BS lar, for him.. take 1200 better than sitting in void deck singing and play guitar.. hehehe

I really don't know what to say! But then, he's a Mat. So it's understandable. Since he loves SAF so much, why can't he just sign on as a regular? :confused:

aiyah, propaganda again la! he's not the 1st how extended his NSF term. some ppl in the past have extended their's for tons of reasons; waiting for NUS/NTU semester to start, waiting for letter of acceptance from overseas varsities, waiting for employment response etc.

this joker decided to extend his service citing some noble camaraderie reasons is just pure methane emitting BS. if he wants to sail, he can go ahead & sail.

he may not regret it now, but he will surely regret it later, bcos he probably will miss 1 reservist cycle due to the 6mth SAF100 notice period. if he's lucky, he skips 1st yr reservist cycle & rejoins his unit for the next cycle. if he's unlucky, he'll be posted to a different unit, where he will fulfill his reservist cycles with total strangers.

by then, i truly expect to see if ST will still feature him & will he still stand his ground in all that talk about camaraderie... :D:D

Aiz! After the way the govt treated his countrymen, he still wants to do this!

Once a Mat, always a Mat. To be walked all over, and says WELCOME over it.

3rd Sgt Hashnul, 23, who gets $1,200 a month in NS allowance

$1.2K ??? is that how much they are getting now? my time including with gds vocation pay only about $220 ++ wtf. and now also not entitled to any of the 9k cpf. wtf.

Wonder how much regulars getting now?

I guess is either 1 of the following reason anyone will do that :

1) That person is of abnormal mind or he watched to many combat movies.
2) he wanted to sign on as regulars but was rejected, thus he extend NS to earn some credits
3) his family is very rich. He does not mind spending extra 8.5 mths on it or he does not know what else he can do besides combating.