Ilovelamb

If i open a fast food restaurant call New MacDonalds

Will I be sue by Mac D?

Re: If i open a fast food restaurant call New MacDonalds

Will I be sue by Mac D?

One mamak open one shop in mudland called McCurry. Tat oso McD sued them. But lost in the court.

You say lehh ???

yes, because they even sue the scots who have family name macdonald for hundred of years.

normally you sue the poor people and weak nobody, you dun go and sue a multi billion dollar massive giant. that will be so crazy.

bingo , im waiting someone like you to give me that answer ....:D

Anything to do with Mac, you will get sued.
E.g Macfries, Macburns, Macreview, Macreform, The New Mac etc.
On the other hand, you may get away with
Temaskfries, Temaskburns, Temaskreview, Temaskreform, The new Temask etc.:D

Big corporations go into legal tussle not to win sometimes. They are only interested to sent a statement to the consumers and audience.

Would you be sued? Yes/ Would you lose? Maybe not/

Macau as a country or city should predates Macdonalds.
MacDonald's first filed for a U.S. trademark on the name on May 4, 1961.
So you tell me why one is longer?

Mac should came out with a new burger called macsinkies.
The meat is very soft and tender and melts in your mouth.
It has been the favourite food of the pappies since 9 August 1965.

MacDonald's is a registered trademark. If you use "New MacDonalds" and you're in the same food business as MacDonald's, you will be sued. You have to check the number of classes of goods and services that the mark "MacDonald's" is registered, apart from food business, of course.

I think it's foolish on the part of Temasek Review to change its name to New Temasek Review.

For a start, TR (blog) is not caught under any trademark legislations because it existed before TR (TH) was registered. TR(TH) could only sue TR (blog) for passing off under common law. But clearly TR (blog) is not in the same business as TR (TH), so I would say TR (blog) has a better case using TR (blog).

Not just the name but also the product matters.

You can sell McDonalds shoes or have McDonalds dental and no problem. But if you have McDonald sandwiches = problem.

Temasek Review is a widely know website for alternative views. I sincerely doubt if anyone will be confused by the Temasek publication with the same name. So name same buy product different.