• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SFI forced to outsource preparation of volunteers’ food to another caterer

Watchman

SFI forced to outsource preparation of volunteers’ food to another caterer
August 23rd, 2010 | Author: Your Correspondent

The embattled caterer for the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) has outsourced the preparation of the volunteers’ food to another catering company after the eruption of the “dog” food scandal just a few days before the YOG was officially launched.

On 11 August 2010, the Temasek Review published an article on the substandard food being given to YOG volunteers attached with a photo from an irate volunteer:

yogfood

“This is what I am eating everyday. Even my dog is fed better food!” she wrote.

It sparked a massive outcry among Singaporeans forcing the Straits Times to publish an article on it the very next day.

Face with mounting pressure from both the volunteers and netizens as well, SYOGOC has little choice but to replace the caterer.

It was reported by Yahoo News that Kriston, which is in charge of the food and merchandise outlets at the Singapore Pavilion at the ongoing World Expo 2010 in Shanghai, China, was called in by SYOGOC on August 12 and started operations at the YOV two days later.

According to earlier press reports, the Singapore Food Industries (SFI) was awarded a $5.5 million dollar contract to cater food for both the athletes and volunteers.

For some strange reasons, all the volunteers interviewed by Yahoo News gave a thumbs-up for the food now:

“Initially the food was really horrible before the first article about the food was out, then it got so much better. I can see the clear difference between the previous and new vendor because now, the menu is changed every day,” said Anthony Ng, a student from Republic Polytechnic.

[Source: Yahoo News, 22 August 2010]

However, according to another YOG volunteer Timothy, there is little improvement in the food he is getting which is worse than what he was given during Chingay rehearsals and Outward Bound School. Timothy claimed that the food are not cooked properly and are either too sweet or bland. (view snapshots of the food here)

SFI needed to be strike of Mindef 's list .

If not the government needed to be taken to task for blatant corruption .

Since NSmen are given similiar or sometimes worst food .

SFI needed to be strike of Mindef 's list .

If not the government needed to be taken to task for blatant corruption .

Since NSmen are given similiar or sometimes worst food .

You said it correctly, during my 'volunteer' days for National Day Parade, in those days, only at the Padang; I was given food packet like that but worse. It was not even fit for animal consumption.

The Bangla/Indian/China etc.. workers receiving their daily food packets are given better food than that...if you give them the food packed for the YOG volunteers; either they down tools en masse or they go to M.O.M.@ Havelock Rd & complain or to their respective embassies.

We, the citizen of SINgapore...have no rights...what a NATIONAL SHAME!:mad:

Y wud any1 with a sound mind, volunteer 4 such stupid event in de 1st place??:confused: 1 2 volunteer, go volunteer 2 help the aged and handicapped lah!! Fuck lah volunteer oredi cumplain bout dog food, wat u bugger 1 huh? Caviar or Truffle?? :confused: reali tui nia mah hai!!:D:D

Most of them are not volunteer. Most of them are staffs come from Government agancies such as CPF, MOE, NEA, etc. They are selected to volunteer for the event and all the while the organizations still pay for their salary.

However, I am not sure about those pretty girls standing around, where they came from? Freelances?

If this story is true, MOF should do an investigation. The YOG was held using taxpayers money. As such, the IM should apply.

And the IM clearly states that winning a contract and “outsourcing” to a third party to earn a comission is clearly not allowed.

How clever! Won the tender... Sub it out to another company and earn a cut... This is their win-win situation.

However, I am not sure about those pretty girls standing around, where they came from? Freelances?

Psst...maybe...those prc on student pass caught doing sideline...then offer a chance to repent...:D:D:p

One one word to describe SFI - COMPLACENT. The same word our gahment has been saying about singaporean. There is no competition for the 'cake' , so why bother to impress ? Minimum cost and mximum profit.:D:D:D
Very malu now. Don't have such big head, don't wear such big hat !:D:D:D

For some strange reasons, all the volunteers interviewed by Yahoo News gave a thumbs-up for the food now:

“Initially the food was really horrible before the first article about the food was out, then it got so much better. I can see the clear difference between the previous and new vendor because now, the menu is changed every day,” said Anthony Ng, a student from Republic Polytechnic.

Something extra added that the volunteers can only say good things about the food henceforth ?

Is there a real 'anthony Ng in RP ? Else the verbatim were from ghost writers, especially during this month.

sfi, ntuc food fair, saats & whatever else... whichever caterer they use or sub-contract to is still own ppl. left pocket transfer to right pocket, right pocket transfer to back pocket, back pocket transfer to chest pocket, chest pocket transfer back to left pocket.

All hawker center willing to take up contract at $3/head/meal for meal with 3 dish(at least one meat plus a slice of fruit and a bottle of drink). Plus free delivery.
Just offer the food contract to hawker center at the nearest sport venue. I'm sure there will be many willing to take up the offer.

Cannot , if like that my scholar director eat what ??? Outsource to hawker ? Cannot ... no REAL PTE SECTOR to compete with SFI.

aiyah, 2 more days to the closure of YOG....... they leave the crumbs for smaller fries to suck it up.

TR is really really bad at reporting actual facts.

SFI didnt and couldnt outsources anything when their YOG contract was TERMINATED

enough said.

SFI didnt and couldnt outsources anything when their YOG contract was TERMINATED

enough said.
if SFI contract for YOG kena terminated, then the "volunteers" aka slaves eat what? pick up the crumbs & left overs from the athletes & officials? beg for food from the athletes & officials?

enough said.

Can you please post up the link where SFI's contract was TERMINATED and the food provision was given to other vendors? Thanks.