Foreigners allowed to use foreign licences temporarily

metalslug

http://www.todayonline.com/Singapor...s-allowed-to-use-foreign-licences-temporarily

Foreigners allowed to use foreign licences temporarily
05:55 AM Aug 17, 2010

Foreigners who become Singapore citizens or permanent residents could be allowed to temporarily use their foreign driving licences to drive here, according to proposed changes to the Road Traffic Act. But the Deputy Commissioner of Police could also make a prohibition order for such drivers if needed.

Enhanced powers for the Deputy Commissioner of Police are also in store under the Road Traffic (Amendment Bill).

For example, he could suspend a driver's licence if he was being investigated for any traffic incident resulting in serious injury or death, or serious damage to any building or structure.

In addition to a police station, the police could also conduct breath tests either at or near the place where a suspected drink driver is arrested. LEONG WEE KEAT

Another Foreigner/ new citizen friendly policy. Our way to welcome them!

THIS IS FUCKING RUBBISH!

MANY FTs BUY THEIR DRIVING LICENSE. MANY CANNOT DRIVE PROPERLY OR DO NOT KNOW THE ROAD LAWS HERE.

HOW CAN THE SCUMs ALLOW THIS?

IS IT ANY WONDER THERE HAVE BEEN MANY FATAL TRAFFIC ACCIDENTS IN SINGAPORE RECENTLY?

IN THE US, BRITAIN, OR ANY REAL 1st WORLD COUNTRY; A FOREIGNER IS MADE TO SIT THROUGH HIGHWAY CODE AND TESTED AT LEAST ONCE BEFORE THEY CAN DRIVE THERE. ALTERNATIVELY, YOU NEED A INTERNATIONAL DRIVER'S LICENSCE.

CHOW CHEE BYE, A FUCKING AH NEH, AH TIONG OR EVEN MALAYSIANS AND INDONS ARE FAMOUS FOR BUYING THEIR DRIVERS' LICENSE.

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();}else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

IN THE US, BRITAIN, OR ANY REAL 1st WORLD COUNTRY; A FOREIGNER IS MADE TO SIT THROUGH HIGHWAY CODE AND TESTED AT LEAST ONCE BEFORE THEY CAN DRIVE THERE. ALTERNATIVELY, YOU NEED A INTERNATIONAL DRIVER'S LICENSCE.

Rubbish. Everybody knows that in the US and Canada, you can drive using your Singapore driving licence. The only reason for the IDP is that the old licence did not indicate your date of birth.

IN THE US, BRITAIN, OR ANY REAL 1st WORLD COUNTRY; A FOREIGNER IS MADE TO SIT THROUGH HIGHWAY CODE AND TESTED AT LEAST ONCE BEFORE THEY CAN DRIVE THERE.

In most 1st world countries, foreigners can use their existing licenses for up to a year before they are required to sit for a driving test.

Rubbish. Everybody knows that in the US and Canada, you can drive using your Singapore driving licence. The only reason for the IDP is that the old licence did not indicate your date of birth.
Hi cass888, i can understand in your countless defeats and embarassment in the infraction war against the OA.
I will release you if you promise to behave. :D

In most 1st world countries, foreigners can use their existing licenses for up to a year before they are required to sit for a driving test.

Yes, for my experience, I am only allow six months. Not only have to sit for the highway code but also the practical test itself.

Flung my first theory test though. LOL

Singapore license really no can do. I can understand why!

This is ultra unfair and extremely DUAL STANDARD when famiLEE LEEgime treated Singaporeans very harsh with driving licenses, they are so slack to treat foreigners here, their drivings in SG will endanger Singaporeans and cause lethal road incidents.

:mad::mad:

One country TWO SYSTEM ? 一国两制 ?

一国两治 ? one country ruled in two different ways ?

Another Foreigner/ new citizen friendly policy. Our way to welcome them!

First the famiLEE LEEgime welcomed (with ass wide-opened) foreigners with their foreign passports into our country to treat it as if they own it. And made us 2nd class citizens.

Now they do the same with driving licenses?

Why don't famiLEE LEEgime welcome foreigners to come here with their free-speech and fair political system and embrace that? See what they did to Mr. Alan Shadrake & Mr. Gopalan Nair & sued the foreign media defamation?

One govt how many systems?

:rolleyes:

We need more Indian drivers on the roads. Locals need to learn how to
1)ignore traffic lights
2)drive against the flow of traffic
3)bribe Traffic Policemen
4)honk like no tomorrow
And Indians don't need to take driving test, they just buy their licenses. We should do the same

Does the policy apply to licences from selective countries only, or to all foreign countries? I know singaporeans can drive in the united states and some other foreign countries with a singaporean licence. Why? Because people believe in sinkieland's check and controls in awarding driving licences.

In PRC, sinkies cannot rent a car and drive with sinike licences, imo bec of the traffic orientation is different.

So, can a singaporean stationed overseas who do not have a singapore driving licence, get any foreign licence and be allowed to drive during his visit back home? If not, is there a double standard? With 5,000 dollars one can obtain a driving licence in the capital, poorer provinces...few hundred also can get liao.... that is someone take the test on behalf.

Quote:

"For example, he could suspend a driver's licence if he was being investigated for any traffic incident resulting in serious injury or death, or serious damage to any building or structure."

So?.....that are more and more foreign students coming, there is also a first time for the accident to happen, what good in the above example?

Also, people in foregin lands may have bribed their way out of an accident offense or pay the victim's family. Like that got record to check meh? :rolleyes:

More accidents awaiting to happen and I sincerely pray it don't happen to my related ones.

This type of prostituting policy for FTs, at the expense of citizens safety.

This is ultra unfair and extremely DUAL STANDARD when famiLEE LEEgime treated Singaporeans very harsh with driving licenses, they are so slack to treat foreigners here, their drivings in SG will endanger Singaporeans and cause lethal road incidents.

:mad::mad:

One country TWO SYSTEM ? 一国两制 ?

一国两治 ? one country ruled in two different ways ?

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_567351.html

Singapore

Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story

Aug 17, 2010

Motorists beware

<!-- by line --> <!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --> <!-- story content : start -->
MOTORISTS involved in serious traffic accidents may soon have their driving licences suspended immediately.
The Bill tabled in Parliament on Monday by Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Home Affairs Wong Kan Seng will bring that prospect to pass.
The Act currently states that the licences of drivers involved in accidents that result in serious injury or damage to public property will be suspended only after the driver has been formally charged in court.
The proposed amendment will give the Traffic Police the authority to immediately suspend the licences of drivers undergoing police investigation, if they are deemed to be a danger to other road users.
The Bill, which Parliament will debate at its next sitting, will also place illegally or dangerously parked vehicles under the jurisdiction of the Land Transport Authority, instead of the Traffic Police.

<!-- story content : end -->
c.gif

Spore recognises Canadian licenses.

If you have a Canadian license & want to drive in Spore you just have to convert it to a Spore one. No need to retake theory or practical test.

I use to have both a canadian & Spore licence. I lost my Spore license because I did not renew it within a year of it's expiry. Fortunately I had my Canadian licence & got it convered. :)

Actually, what is wrong with foreigners being able to use their licenses. Singapore license can also be used in certain first-world countries, it is only right of us to be fair and allow them to use the licenses. Of course, allowance should be based on the country of origin. Like bolehland, I am afraid, a straight prohibition + retake theory and practical tests.

On an unrelated issue, driving in Singapore is expensive and stressful.

There need to be more volunteers to expose their misdeeds !