Selfish Joanne Peh hogged Olympic Flame by running slowly

metalslug

http://forums.asiaone.com/showthread.php?t=31900

Selfish Joanne Peh hogged Olympic Flame by running slowly - 10-08-2010, 02:30 PM

20100809.182744_yog1.jpg

RUN faster, Joanne Peh, cried a man by the road. The MediaCorp star shouted back: "No, I don't want to!"

It was probably the slowest 100m the 27-year-old actress has ever run.
But it would be the most unforgettable, for she was carrying the Youth Olympic flame.

Peh, along with radio DJ Shan Wee and news presenter Steven Chia, were at Marymount Road yesterday afternoon as torch-bearers for the Youth Olympic Games,which begins on Aug 14.

Each ran 100m. Peh received the torch from Wee.

She told The New Paper on Sunday minutes after her run: "It felt so unreal. I saw so many cameras and I couldn't believe it.

"The journey was too short, but everybody had their 10 seconds of fun.
"I heard someone telling me to run faster but I didn't want to. I wanted to enjoy my moment."

She admitted she was still reeling from the adrenaline rush.

More than 50 people, including 10 of her fans, had gathered by the road and on the overhead bridge above to watch and take pictures of the actress.

Peh told us excitedly that she had worn matching running shoes and a sports bra to complement the orange torchbearer's outfit.

She joked: "I made sure to tie my hair back neatly, so that it would be away from my face and people would know it's me when I'm running."

The star, who returned on Thursday from a strenuous five-day filming stint in Chiang Mai for her travelogue Activist Journey, had time only for a yoga class to prepare for her run.

Earlier in the morning, a downpour had threatened to dampen everyone's spirits at MacRitchie Reservoir Park.

Local actors Zheng Geping, Randall Tan and Cavin Soh were there as torch-bearers for the Youth Olympic flame. They represented the Celebrities Sports Club.

Zheng, 46, the club's president, said he was very worried to see that it was raining at 9am.

Soh, 38, added that he nearly slept through the run.

"I woke up and the weather was cool and conducive for sleeping. I went back to sleep and contemplated reporting sick," he said in jest.

"Five minutes later, I jolted up and realised that I have to do this. I can't miss this because it's for the country."

No preparations

He, however, did not make any prior preparations.

"It's only 100m. If I have to prepare for it, very paiseh (Hokkien for embarrassing)," the comedian said. Tan's biggest worry was not that the flame would go out but that he would drop the torch.

"So I told Geping, when you are passing the torch to me, make sure you pass it properly," the 37-year-old said.

They were relieved that the rain stopped 20 minutes before the flame - kept in a safety lantern - arrived.

When the torch was lit, Zheng raised it up and cried triumphantly:"YOG Singapore, success!"

The large crowd of YOG volunteers and members of the public clapped and cheered as the actor set off with the torch, before passing it to Tan, who handed it to Soh.

One of the spectators, Ms Chia Choy Min, 56, said it was a once-in-a-lifetime experience for her to see the YOG flame. She was there with two of her friends for their weekly walk around the reservoir and chanced upon the YOG party.

The retiree said: "The flame lit our passion for the games. I'm very proud to be here."

Also brimming with pride was Soh's elderly mother. When she spotted her son running with the torch in the distance, she was heard laughing and saying delightedly: "That's my son, that's my son!"

This article was first published in The New Paper.

what so great about yog, it will probably never be shown on tv around the world.

wahlaneh...
all celebrities same same lah.
they just want u to see them only: "just look at me!":D

I have never heard of Yog until now.

I have heard of Asean games and SEAP games.

wau lah ...well done joanne.....stay longer in tcs and soon u will be as hated as zoe tay

With few exceptions, most of our local celebs are publicity whores. They preen and strut their stuff, craving for attention, money, adulation and of course, awards, prizes, endorsements including PBMs. Some are aspiring MPs wannabes!:D:D

Dangerous if she runs fast. Her boobs will hit her face and KO her.

she smiling because what she is holding, the same size as her angmo bf's prick ....:eek: