• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

political debate

fishbuff

walao.. abbott's ability to debate is atrocious! HK liao!
Gillard is an absolute snake; fork tongued as she used to work as a lawyer.

looks like we are going to see labour in power in this election.

Ash007

Labour is going to win even with Rudd. Every time I hear Abbott I can just tell his policy is too much like Howard's. Notice how he seem to "stammer" having small pauses as if he is trying to piece together his speech properly.

neddy

It is all staged. Not much of a debate. They should have used lie detectors instead of worms. More entertaining. :biggrin:

neddy

Labour is going to win even with Rudd. Every time I hear Abbott I can just tell his policy is too much like Howard's. Notice how he seem to "stammer" having small pauses as if he is trying to piece together his speech properly.

I will vote Liberal again. Tony Abbott is stammering because he is restraining himself. That is what happen when you put an honest man in politics.

He will feel more at home in his swimwear or bike.

QXD

If I could vote, I'd rather prefer Labor for another term, just for the NBN and then get the Libs back again for their biz-friendly policies.

neddy

If I could vote, I'd rather prefer Labor for another term, just for the NBN and then get the Libs back again for their biz-friendly policies.

I cannot believe how in just one term, Labor has squandered away what the Coalition left for Aussies. Now that the cupboard is empty and we are back in deficit, the 2010 election is rather lackluster.

Perhaps, it is a good thing that Kevin Rudd was sacked, but it left Labor in a difficult position now.

But another term with Labor and I do not see how NBN will save Aussies.

But I must say that the NBN is one positive outcome for Labor, at least in Tassie where it is undergoing trials. But Labor will want an internet filter to go along with NBN, and we know why.

But whether there is appetite for Labor to follow through with NBN Australia-wide is to be seen. Labor is notorious for bad management. If Stephen Conroy is removed, or there is a change of policy, then NBN will be finished.

Remember what happened in 1997 with the pay TV crisis after deregulation.

BUT with Labor Fair Work policies, expect higher inflation and higher interest rates. We were lucky that Howard's Workchoices helped Aussies recover from the GFC without much inflation issues.

ManBearPig62

I cannot believe how in just one term, Labor has squandered away what the Coalition left for Aussies. Now that the cupboard is empty and we are back in deficit, the 2010 election is rather lackluster.

Perhaps, it is a good thing that Kevin Rudd was sacked, but it left Labor in a difficult position now.

But I must say that the NBN is one positive outcome for Labor, at least in Tassie where it is undergoing trials. But Labor will want an internet filter to go along with NBN, and we know why.

But whether there is appetite for Labor to follow through with NBN Australia-wide is to be seen. Labor is notorious for bad management. If Stephen Conroy is removed, or there is a change of policy, then NBN will be finished.

BUT with Labor Fair Work policies, expect higher inflation and higher interest rates. We were lucky that Howard's Workchoices helped Aussies recover from the GFC without much inflation issues.

Labor has proved they can't deliver on their promises. Simple as that.

The pollies can promise anything at election time, but can they deliver?

ManBearPig62

Just wondering. I believe (correct me if I am wrong) the main problem with Australian internet speeds is that our undersea link to the US is very congested, and that network traffic to Asia is routed first to the US and then back to Asia.

If the NBN is an intra-country project, it may deliver higher speeds to rural Australia, but I'm not really sure how it's supposed to get rid of this elephant in the sitting room.

n1etzche

oh, it's just that within that term Labor had to deal with that thingy called GFC...so i won't go so far as to say that all has being squandered away. doubt turnbull would have done much differently.

IWC2006

aiya, whoever wins, we still lose.

- living cost will keep going up
- Pay more taxes
- property still as unaffordable
- broadband cost still not competitive
- infrastructure still as bad
- funding on education still lacking
- immigration gets cut (which is not a bad thing, personally i prefer better quality immigrants (more skilled migrants and less asians from certain countries(china,india), less middle-eastern ppl,less boat people)

well, at least you have choice which party to vote.

no matter what, Oz is still one of the most desirable country to live and raise a family. More Sporeans will be migrating..haha

johnsgp1

I will vote for Julia, u know why? cos all aust guys are good-for-nothing, can't think straight with their brains, only with their dickhead...

johnsgp1

- Pay more taxes
- property still as unaffordable
- broadband cost still not competitive
- infrastructure still as bad
- funding on education still lacking
- immigration gets cut (which is not a bad thing, personally i prefer better quality immigrants (more skilled migrants and less asians from certain countries(china,india), less middle-eastern ppl,less boat people)

well, at least you have choice which party to vote.

no matter what, Oz is still one of the most desirable country to live and raise a family. More Sporeans will be migrating..haha

HAHAHAHA...what a 'high' level of living standards u r aiming for....if all the above are what u desire, Singapore is really not a place for u...hahahahah...Burma has all the above, why dun u live there....hahahahahah......wat a arsehole...

IWC2006

I will vote for Julia, u know why? cos all aust guys are good-for-nothing, can't think straight with their brains, only with their dickhead...

strictly speaking Tonny abbot is uk-born and a rhodes scholar from Oxford, so he definitely got the brain. However he doesn't talk intelligently or either that he gives people the impression he is not tongue-sharp.

IWC2006

HAHAHAHA...what a 'high' level of living standards u r aiming for....if all the above are what u desire, Singapore is really not a place for u...hahahahah...Burma has all the above, why dun u live there....hahahahahah......wat a arsehole...

stupid, we are talking abt Oz, what is it has to do with Spore. U chose to vote based on genda, isn't it half a brain similiar as the majority of the local-born Aussies? haha

neddy

Are you still in Singapore? If so, you can keep quiet and enjoy your floods over there.

From your response, you have no idea what it is like to live in a REAL world.

Thank goodness that I am in Australia and looking at political issues and not in Singapore and worried sick over what the govt there is up to.

Take the example of your CPF, the govt is changing the CPF policies all the time and you cannot do anything about it.

The Singapore govt run a fear campaign to put down its voters all the time. Over here, Aussies will smell a fear campaign from far.

neddy

(Actually, we are too caught up by unimportant issues)

- Pay more taxes = We are still getting a reduction in income tax, thanks to the Rudd govt promise.

- property still as unaffordable = RBA and the banks are acting as brakes and it is succeeding

- broadband cost still not competitive = Blame Nick Minchin for giving Telstra the monopoly over copper wire

- infrastructure still as bad =That belong to NSW Labor & the worst unionists from Sussex St. Frankly, if everything is efficient, my life will not be as laid back.

- funding on education still lacking = It is not the funding, but the left-wing education system and too much cooks telling the education sector what to do, eg outcome-based education

- immigration gets cut (which is not a bad thing, personally i prefer better quality immigrants (more skilled migrants and less asians from certain countries(china,india), less middle-eastern ppl,less boat people) = we need more people because up to 45% of the working people will retire over the next decade.

well, at least you have choice which party to vote. = May vote Sex Party for Senate. :biggrin:

no matter what, Oz is still one of the most desirable country to live and raise a family. More Sporeans will be migrating..haha = Agree. :biggrin:

johnsgp1

Are you still in Singapore? If so, you can keep quiet and enjoy your floods over there.

From your response, you have no idea what it is like to live in a REAL world.

Thank goodness that I am in Australia and looking at political issues and not in Singapore and worried sick over what the govt there is up to.

Take the example of your CPF, the govt is changing the CPF policies all the time and you cannot do anything about it.

The Singapore govt run a fear campaign to put down its voters all the time. Over here, Aussies will smell a fear campaign from far.

Ya, i am still in Singapore, i am enjoying the rain and the flood here, at least the problem is quickly contain,no sweat....what about the fire over in OZ? Is the govt still advicing ppl to stand their ground to protect their houses??what a good policy, do u agree?
Our CPF policy is good, thanks for your concern, do u know that in USA, their govt do have have money to pay for their civil servants?
And take a look at Italy and Greek, and France...haha, they now have to swallow their pride to work longer hrs and may not retire also...

Sing is running a fear campaign?? let historian be the judge...let's hope OZ is not running a hopeless campaign...and u better kiss China arse and hope they continue to buy from OZ. If not u really need to eat kangaroo meat...hahaha

johnsgp1

stupid, we are talking abt Oz, what is it has to do with Spore. U chose to vote based on genda, isn't it half a brain similiar as the majority of the local-born Aussies? haha

Hi arse hole, who wrote the above statement? u point a finger at me, without realising a big dick is sticking into ur throat...if u want to stick to ur OZ affair, why wrote anything abt singaporean at all??
damn arse..

johnsgp1

strictly speaking Tonny abbot is uk-born and a rhodes scholar from Oxford, so he definitely got the brain. However he doesn't talk intelligently or either that he gives people the impression he is not tongue-sharp.

who cares where he was born or where he graduated from? Who know he may be Tony Hayward no. 2..talking without using brains...

neddy

Don't ever underestimate our pollies, except for the Greens and the ones from state ALPs sitting in the backbench.

I am having a lot of fun with the political campaign, esp the cartoons. My partner will probably vote for the Australian Sex Party because they have something good to offer. hahaha

A vote for Greens and we can kiss Australia Good-bye.

I think ALP is going to win govt.

737228-nicholson-cartoon.jpg