• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HDB Rules : Some HDB buyers in a fix over cash proceeds rule

• Thread starter Thread starter Yip Hon
  • Start date Start date
Y

Yip Hon

Some HDB buyers in a fix over cash proceeds rule
Half of gains must go towards next flat but they have spent money

By Teo Wan Gek

Published: July 22 2010,

The Straits Times

A SMALL number of HDB buyers now face a cash shortfall and cannot buy replacement homes of their choice, due to changes to the HDB loan policy in March.

These buyers sold their flats before a new rule stated that buyers must use 50 per cent of their cash proceeds to finance their next flat. They are now stuck because they have spent the cash.

A Straits Times check with 16 MPs found that a small number of such buyers have showed up at their Meet-the-People sessions.

Aljunied GRC MP Cynthia Phua has five constituents caught out by the policy change; Dr Lim Wee Kiak, an MP for Sembawang GRC, has seven; Mr Yeo Guat Kwang, also of Aljunied GRC, has two and Madam Ho Geok Choo of West Coast GRC has 10.

These buyers are divided into two groups: downgraders who sold their flats and used the cash proceeds to settle debts, or genuine upgraders who need a bigger flat for their families.

Among those who sought Madam Phua’s help were a couple who sold their flat in 2006. When they tried to buy a flat this year, they were surprised that the loan amount granted by HDB was reduced by half the cash proceeds from the first sale.

HDB changed its loan policy in March to make second concessionary loans available to downgraders. Such loans were previously given only to upgraders. HDB also laid down a new rule – loan applicants must use the full CPF proceeds and half the cash proceeds from the sale of the previous flat or $25,000, whichever is less, to finance their next home. The change was to encourage financial prudence.

While Madam Phua supports the move to prevent home owners from cashing out on their flats, she does not think it is fair for those who sold their flats before the policy change in March to be subject to the new requirement.

“HDB will now give a loan only less half of the cash proceeds amount, but that’s not enough money to buy a new home and most of them have already spent their cash proceeds,” she said.

During Monday’s Parliament sitting, Madam Phua appealed to National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan on behalf of her constituent who sold his flat in 2006.

Mr Mah said in reply that the HDB gave home buyers a second subsidised loan so they could buy something they really needed. “If you have already made a lot of money, then I think it is only fair that the HDB takes that into account, irrespective of when you have sold a flat,” he said.

He also felt that home buyers like the one Madam Phua cited were “rare”, as most bought a second flat soon after they sold their first. Still, he promised to review appeals on a case-by-case basis.

The HDB also provided figures to show that the policy change benefited large numbers of downgraders.

Between March and May 31 this year, HDB approved 2,439 applications for a second concessionary loan. Of these, more than half were downsizing or moving to a flat of the same size. These buyers would not have qualified for a second subsidised loan if the policy had not been changed.

On Monday, Mr Mah stressed that the size of the second loan could not be independent of the proceeds from the sale of the previous flat. If it were, that would create a “perverse incentive” for people to upgrade and downgrade “to automatically get a larger HDB loan”.

PropNex chief executive Mohamed Ismail said the policy change has helped many flat owners who faced financial hardship and needed to downgrade to a smaller flat. Before the change, they could not apply for a second HDB loan. Many were also unable to secure a bank loan because of their bad credit history, he said.

The new rule has made some more cautious. Mr Jerry Lee, 31, a property agent with HSR Property, has had five clients change their minds about selling since March. “Many of them wanted to cash in on their property, but the policy change has made them think twice before selling.”

This is in short a measure to curb speculation

Not a bad thing

HDB rules should not be retroactive lah. Those that sold before should not have to fall under this scheme. It is totally unfair to them. Many may have used the money to help their kids with education, settle old debts. So really unfair. These guys played by the rules and rules then were that you could come back for another bite of the HDB loan.

Consumers can always choose to take bank loan for their next hdb purchase, then they wun be affected by the new policy change as it binds only on hdb loan applicant.

but what's stopping the bank from mirroring the government's guidelines? after laying up treasures pieces by pieces, bits by bits, cents by cents by Singaporeans, yet they have no access to low interest rate loans from the same pool of money.

The ruling elites MUST go..... Please I urged all 66.5% to wake up to their senses... our national coffer was raped to pay them exorbitant salary, our investment agency were used to make investment that lose more money that those paper gains.. Singaporeans are systematic replaced for cheaper overseas imports. .... Singaporeans... or is there such a term or it should be technically be re-named - localized batteries.... used worn and to be excreted soon to be replaced by foreign imported cheap, double strength, alkaline industrial batteries.....

Red Pill or Blue Pill..... you.... battery

dun change the law for these losers

rule is rule.

make them suffer.

dun change the law for these losers

rule is rule.

make them suffer.

I believe your words are too harsh for comfort. Do you mean to say those who sold their flats @ profit are all losers?

Let me give u a numeric figure why this new rule is not fair at all.

Example:
6 years ago Mr Tan Bought a HDB 4 room flat for $150,000. He sold the flat for a profit at the price of $350,000. After repaying the house loan, resale levy and 50% of the profit proceed for payment of 2nd flat, how much is Mr Tan left with?

Bought price: $150,000
Sale Price: $350,000
Nett Profit: $200,000

Reserve Profit for 2nd Unit = $100,000
HDB Resale Levy = $40,000

FINAL BALANCE = $60,000!

With $60,000 Mr Tan can hardly renovate the new flat and furnish the new home!

So Mr Tan is a loser?

You are such a pain the arse that I hope your mother regretted giving birth to! On behalf of all "losers" out there, "YOUR TIME WILL COME!"

My mantra had always been 3 seconds are all you need for a change in life! Why? 3 seconds for Singapore Pools to announce the next TOTO winning numbers, 3 seconds a new life is born into the world, 3 seconds .. the guy laying on the side of road knocked down by a car motionless COULD BE YOU!

The evilness and sarcasm:oIo: you shown would be repaid back to you in double!

MIW is starting to realize that the Sinkies are selling their flats to go to NZ/Aust

Obviously one simple move is to do something like this :)

The paper scholars obviously want their figures to look good!

Do not forget COV will chew up most of the remainder profit, prior to even before yuo start talking to contractors for renovation.

Ya and if you buy another flat BE it second hand or first from govt, worst if u buy from open market. with 60K left after COV of maybe 20-30K what's left?

KNNLBCCB PAP!

Last time, after all the FTs came in, Citizens took comfort that only Citizens can apply new flats and enjoy HDB loan twice, PLUS once in 5 years time to "vote" other than that all remain equals with FTs and Citizens.

Now with this scheme, the govt conveniently takes away their responsibility to grant citizens their 2nd concessionary interest rate loan for their HDB flats, effectively forcing HDB would be owners to take loan from private banks.

Last time, you can take full loan to pay HDB flat, now they WIPE CLEAN your CPF ordinary account before you can take any loan if you buy a flat.
Last time, if you suay suay *(unlucky) lose your job default your payment as CPF now empty due to being wipe out by initial payment, plus no income into CPF, HDB no matter what will not evict you from the HDB.

BUT

if you take loan from private banks, you default your payment anywhere after 3 months they can evict you and sell your flat to recover their loan. And dont forget by then perhaps you had already paid up nearly 50% of the loan. For example you bought a flat for 300K. Loan 150K from bank. then suddenly you defaulted! Presumed for example sake you had paid nothing to the bank yet not the last 6 months u moved in. Bank will compound the interest so that your outstanding loan is maybe about 170K. So the bank will sell your flat for anything above 170K. So someone offers 200K, or market was bad then the best price offer was 200K. The bank took 170K leaving the defaulter with 30K back into CPF then now the defaulter owe CPF 120K!

The vicious cycle of poverty and evilness perpetuating the PAP's policies!

Why vote for OPP even if OPP candidates ARE IDIOTS?

Because no matter how IDIOTIC OPP candidates are, it is a lesser evil to have idiotic unknown at the helm than ONE that systematic squeezed the citizens for every drop of whatever the former is worth, then systematic displacing jobs in favor of FTs. The ruling elites do not care a HOOT about the rank and files.

People may I urge you all, PAP must GO! even if you do not see the effects of their policies now, our children and their children will suffer and they will curse us why did not we made the change when we have the chance to?

Solve one problem create another problem. Now many apply PR/citizen because of the rule change for school fee, hospital fee ,.......
With new citizen fighting for new flat and PR for resale market. Sure push the price up.