Elites Trapped in Flood Water + Felt Powerless Woh!

Heavy rain causes flash floods in hotspots, leaves trail of damage & disruption
By Hetty Musfirah | Posted: 17 July 2010 1318 hrs
<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=260 align=right><TBODY><TR><TD width=20 align=right> </TD><TD width=240 align=right>
phpIThalp.jpg
</TD></TR><TR><TD height=60 vAlign=top> </TD><TD class=update height=80 vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=138>Photos </TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=47>1 of 2</TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=18><INPUT id=btnPrev disabled onclick=Prev(); value="<< Previous" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_previous.gif" width=18 height=15 type=image></TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=19><INPUT id=bntPlay onclick=Play() value="Play - Stop" src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_stop.gif" width=19 height=15 type=image></TD><TD bgColor=#f6f6f6 width=18><INPUT id=btnNext disabled onclick=Next(); value=" Next >> " src="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/images/butt_next.gif" width=18 height=15 type=image></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
dotline_240.gif

A cab seen near The Nexus condominium at Bukit Timah Road gets toppled by the flash floods caused by heavy rains in Singapore on 17 July 2010</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD class=update> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD><TABLE style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #cccccc" border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=240><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width="100%"><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #ffffff"><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=topic vAlign=top align=left>Related News </TD></TR><TR><TD bgColor=#cccccc vAlign=top align=left>
shim.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top align=left><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=subheader vAlign=top width="4%">•</TD><TD class=bodytext width="96%"><TD class=bodytext width="96%">Flash floods in low-lying areas of S'pore receded: SCDF</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD bgColor=#cccccc vAlign=top>
shim.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD class=topic vAlign=top> Video </TD></TR><TR><TD bgColor=#cccccc vAlign=top>
shim.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top align=left><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width="40%" align=left>
</TD><TD class=bodytext vAlign=top width="60%" align=left>Heavy rain causes flash floods in hotspots, leaves trail of damage & disruption</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top background=images/dotline_240.gif align=left>
shim.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD bgColor=#cccccc vAlign=top>
shim.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top>Special Report </TD></TR><TR><TD bgColor=#cccccc vAlign=top>
shim.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top align=left><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=subheader vAlign=top width="4%">•</TD><TD class=bodytext width="96%">Photo Gallery: Flash floods in Singapore, 17 July 2010 </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

SINGAPORE: Heavy and intense rain triggered flash floods and left a trail of damage and disruption, as much of Singapore slept.

The floods were mainly in the hotspots in the eastern and central parts.

The National Environment Agency's Meteorological Services said the downpour was caused by unstable weather conditions in the region, partly brought on by Typhoon Conson.

The downpour started at about 4.40am swiftly wreaking havoc over two hours.

Traffic was hit, congestion was reported along several roads, like Braddell and Upper Thomson.

At one condominium carpark in Bukit Timah, residents fought to save their vehicles but could do little.

Public bus services were disrupted.

Some trees were no match against the wrath of nature.

About 60 people who were stranded were evacuated from about 20 locations islandwide.

In some residential areas like Carlisle Road, the water was knee-high, subsiding only after 30 minutes.

One resident, Jeraldine Lee said: “I woke up early in the morning and the water was everywhere. Water in front of the porch area and the water was covering half of my wheel, and I had to move my vehicle backwards a little just to make sure that no water got in.”

Another resident Rosalyn Lazar said: “We have been sitting in the car until 8.25am, waiting for someone to come and help us and the water came into the car.

“The water outside was more than in the car so I could not open the door. Luckily, the windows were opened, before the engine died. Who do I call? Who do we call in such an emergency? I just felt so powerless.”

Over at Goodman Road, near Tanjong Katong, some residents waited for hours before they could tow their cars to drier ground.

Others said the flood water also knocked out power supply.

Andy Lee, resident at Goodman Road, said: “The power in the house went out. The water level reached a certain level and then tripped the power.”

A resident of this bungalow called the Police for help.

Suzanna Chuang, resident at Goodman Road, said: "I was shocked because I have never seen so much water in the house before. Even the carpark area was flooded."

National water agency, PUB, said during the two-hour downpour, some 178.4 millimetres of rain were recorded in the central areas, while 179.6mm of rain were recorded in the eastern areas.

That's more than the average total monthly rainfall of about 159 millimetres for July.

=> So it's OK to play taichi?

More showers with thunder can be expected over the next few days.

PUB, Traffic Police and SCDF officers were onsite to help.

PUB said its field teams and contractors have been helping residents and building management to pump out flood water from their premises.

The gates at Marina Barrage were opened to maintain the water level at Marina Reservoir within the normal range.

=> There it goes. This is the root cause of the problem. And who pushed for this barrage? The Lau CB that said two is enough in the 1970s and what have u not!

PUB has advised the public to be careful as flash floods may occur in the event of heavy storms and to report any obstruction in drains or to check the flood situation.

=> So donch blame them if you kena trap in flood again!

The public can also call PUB's 24-hour Call Centre at 1800-284 6600.

The public can obtain the latest weather reports, including heavy rain warnings, by tuning in to radio broadcasts, calling NEA's weather forecast hotline at 6542 7788, visiting the <DEV1BLANK>NEA website</DEV1BLANK> or accessing <DEV1BLANK>Weather@SG</DEV1BLANK>. - CNA/vm

20080328-joke-desk-block.jpg

Another resident Rosalyn Lazar said: “We have been sitting in the car until 8.25am, waiting for someone to come and help us and the water came into the car.

“The water outside was more than in the car so I could not open the door. Luckily, the windows were opened, before the engine died. Who do I call? Who do we call in such an emergency? I just felt so powerless.”

This Sinkie really deserved to be drowned. Water so high until cannot open door still don't want to climb out the open window? Unless she is too fat or too old, well then, maybe her time is up anyway.

for once, makapaa's headlines is actually factually correct...

the recent floods have affected mainly landed properties, condo carparks and business owners.

few poor HDB based peasants suffered financial losses from the floods.

I do wonder if the PUB have any of these rubber dinghy as part of their flood equipment.

This is serious, no joke. If Orchard Rd, Bukit Timah and other low lying areas flooded for days and water is deep, the only mode of moving around is by a rubber dinghy!!

3586142324_3cd1e5083b.jpg

Q: Did you vote pap last time?