Talent Capital Singapore - Sekhar Sinha?

'I am a Singaporean. My son is going to serve national service. I made the decision to be here, and I will be here forever.' - Sekhar Sinha

I don't think this guy gets it. Its got nothing to do with NS and his decision to stay in Singapore permanently. Its his comments, his attitude and his insensitive remarks that makes him less a Singaporean than anything else. I am aware that NS seems to be the issue that the less articulate Singaporean raise often but it also seems that FTs now use NS as the issue to indicate their status.

The Singapore Govt in its infinite wisdom has been began running a series of ad campaigns on foreign media where they showcase 2 foreigners and 1 Singaporean under the tag "Talent Capital". This week's one has spelling error (the deterioration of quality) depicts and Indian, PRCian and a local. Last week, it was Brit and a Malaysian standing next to a Singaporean. They have also commenced articles via Singapore Sessions onto Monocle, New Yorker and Wired.

Check these out :
1) http://talentcapital.sg/

2) http://www.sedb.com/future_ready/singapore_sessions.html

Will these work or do we end up like DBS which was used in 1997 as the platform to grow a Global Bank similar to HSBC. A strategy never outlined by govt to the locals but involved a clear directive to hire foreign talent across the Bank. It commenced with old man introducing John Olds and Dhanabalan introducing a team of foreigners. 13 years later, father and son from UOB still outrunning DBS. Despite temasek funding to pay for foreign acquisition, it has been a dismal failure and with one CEO having falsified his resume.

Will these now work or will it provide largess to a select few like Philip Yeo's son Gene hitched with one of his invited guest to do his PHD. A conflict of interest, corruption and you can call it whatever you want. It boils down to personal interest over Singapore. If my trip was paid by Philip agency and I am treated like a star by Philip, how would you think that I would treat his son.

To the man in the street, all these means nothing and it surely goes past his head. What he however will end up doing is dealing with the dregs like Sekhar Sinha who somehow think they are the talent capital with their bad manners, uncouth behaviour, and no qualms about callings others "dogs" on a govt sponsored and endorsed site and being recognised as an outstanding contributor.

By the way, he obviously thinks that the words PAP and Singaporean are interchangeable. This from an idiot that has spent more than a decade in Singapore and still can't read the land.

So many white men, Indian men and Chinese men in National Service .

It's like a teen vacation camp .

And they stuck out like a sore thumb !

And they looked like they could do better .

They looked like what the hell am I doing with these little local pigs .

Imagine in a cesspool .

It has never been about "talent capital".
It is all about bringing in the numbers to manage the voting population, and to keep the economy humming so that the infrastucture and ultimately their humongous salaries can be justified.
They already know what their "talent capital" will consist of, themselves, their families, relatives, friends, and a whole bunch of "kwai kwai" Singaporean scholars who will listen to what they say and carry out their instructions.
They certainly don't think that the "talent capital" will come from a bunch of foreigners.
These foreigners can jolly well report to the "kwai kwai" Singaporean scholars, who will in turn report to them.

You do have a point and I wonder if Singaporeans realise the phenomenon ahead of them developing.

We have always talked about the "Elites" but clearly there is indeed an upper class and a significant gap that is showing between them and the rest of Singapore. It is built on property ownership, foreign education and most interesting is what their kids are doing. I remember feeling uncomfortable with Capitaland chief using his position to land a job with his Chinese partners for his son. Then the Philip Yeo and his son Gene issue. To many, corruption and nepotism means something direct but these in principle are breaching ethical standards that a society's norm.

I have been posting in SBF for over a decade and there are probably only 3 others over the years that are within the group of elite and good enough to post information. I have in the main avoided posting anything classified but I expected more to contribute. My sense is that gap is too wide and the desire to cross back to post is not palatable.

By now you must have realised what side of the divide I am in and it troubles me that most Singaporeans have no clue there is a clear divide. Till today, Singaporeans think that holding dual citizenship is an offence. The number of elites holding it especially their kids is quite remarkable. These people do not have to withdraw their CPF.

One of the most amazing site is that Sunday shopping for an elite is mother and daughter attending property soft launch and buying not one but two units and these are premier units which are then flipped. The Elites are so well entrenched financially that he does not need to attend but will be at the golf course doing networking.

As you know the eldest grandson has issues reconciling the farce and the family is having a hard time getting him to return on a permanent basis.

One thing that puzzled me is that many of the PAP MPs that came on board in the last 2 elections were not part of the establishment. The Elites have come to the stage that they are not interested in Politics. Its a mug's game and they left it to the gullible and the wide-eyed.

IThey already know what their "talent capital" will consist of, themselves, their families, relatives, friends, and a whole bunch of "kwai kwai" Singaporean scholars who will listen to what they say and carry out their instructions.

Let's face it, Old fart open the flood gate not for Singapore but for his own political reasons, to stay in power, because he knows the locals are waking up to his lies and may soon be voted out and maybe a "Real" court may send him to jail.

So this is not a simple FT integration issue, it's a traitor's last move on "Self preservation", just like what he did in WW2, he gave the same excuse.

Let's face it, Old fart open the flood gate not for Singapore but for his own political reasons, to stay in power, because he knows the locals are waking up to his lies and may soon be voted out and maybe a "Real" court may send him to jail.

So this is not a simple FT integration issue, it's a traitor's last move on "Self preservation", just like what he in in WW2, he gave the same excuse.

PAP is the biggest interest group in SIngapore

Of course they care about their interest: Staying in power

Letting in the FTs is the best way for them to stay in power. They can chase the capable anti-PAP sinkies to other countries and let the new FTs screw over the helpless sinkies.

Peasants please stay away from YOG .

It's the interest of the Exploitative party .
Please guarantee jobs for school teens instead .

You join them meaning you submit to their
command and suppression .

You can slow the internet but you have to hide beneath the shadow of truth ..

Why should any of the first generation elites care? They don't become elites for caring! Their offsprings might care abit but why should they actualize on this care if the alternative of moving away is easier, freer and so much more pleasant.

I would have never returned to Singapore if not for some compelling personal reasons.

Actually the PAP and the Elite are 2 separate and distinct group though overlaps are there. Its a case of the kids from the PAP old guard that crossed over to the elites. During the first 20 to 30 years, the PAP ethos was completely around Singapore but very authoritarian in nature and style. No one from PAP ever contemplated migration or working overseas at all. It was also ruthlessly marshalled by the old man and the old guard including Raja.

I remember when the former Perm Sec Kwa whose sister was old man's wife wanted to send his son overseas when he was having difficulty with Mandarin, his sister stopped him. He was very bitter about it. He saw no reason why his son had to be tied to the PAP.

The first to break this was not from the PAP per se but it was group that the PAP considered politically important and were looked after - the teachers. Typically if both parents were teachers, their pay provided good income. Their kids naturally were better educated and tend to be more articulate. They began to migrate and they were bond breakers that the Govt complained about.

Then the dam broke with Yeo Cheow Tong and his wife and family. The country is now a business, a networking and money laundering hub and the beneficiaries are the elites. The PAP is there only in name and it is made up of gullible idiots like Sekhar Singa and uncles and aunties living in HDB flats.

Dear Scroobal

There are elites in any society :_)). The super rich, super wealthy, the super well connected socially and the super well connected politically, They create dynasties and scions, George Bush and his sons, the Kennedys are as good an example of dynastic politics and the old boys network even in the US. In the UK, the Duke of Westminster comes to mind.

So when and how does an elite in society become self serving and navel gazing ? Does dear old Wee Shu Min become an example for the scions of all elites ?

There is a world of difference between old money elites, new money elites and the political elites of the states and the smaller "elites" or " Lee Kuan Yews" type managers they have spawned. I believe the problems you have stated lies within the last. I would also state that the problem for the first two is that non of them have come forth and contested the self appointed, self selected and self perpetuating political elites.

What is made worse in Singapore is there is only 1 political elite :_)) and one political game to play ..................

Locke

Dear Scroobal

There are elites in any society :_)). The super rich, super wealthy, the super well connected socially and the super well connected politically, They create dynasties and scions, George Bush and his sons, the Kennedys are as good an example of dynastic politics and the old boys network even in the US. In the UK, the Duke of Westminster comes to mind.

So when and how does an elite in society become self serving and navel gazing ? Does dear old Wee Shu Min become an example for the scions of all elites ?

There is a world of difference between old money elites, new money elites and the political elites of the states and the smaller "elites" or " Lee Kuan Yews" type managers they have spawned. I believe the problems you have stated lies within the last. I would also state that the problem for the first two is that non of them have come forth and contested the self appointed, self selected and self perpetuating political elites.

Locke

Political dynasties are after all political dynasties.

Old money, dynastic wealth such as the Rockefellers, Rothschilds are the one who really pulls the strings.

Dear Doors

Elites, political dynasties, business elites elsewhere suffer the ups and downs of less talented succeeding generations, The nature of competition in business and political competition in liberal democracies almost guarantee's ups and downs. The rockerfellors endure but there will come the Steve Jobs and the Bill Gates etc etc etc

I believe part of the evolution problem for Singapore is that whilst business elites will suffer risk and loss of assets and I have know a few or heard a few stories, the political elites are the more or less bullet proof due to la lack of political competition, or a Team B as Ngiam put it

Locke

Any reasonable person would come to same conclusion. It is no longer home. There no anchors, there is no benefit for being a citizen, and the only remaining basis for attachment is nostalgia.

I know a family of a British Expat whose kids did all their schooling here at UWC. They moved back to the UK when their kids were ready to enter Uni. I went thru the kid's facebooks recently. Not a single Singaporean in over 800 friends for both kids. There were many asians but they were all UWC, American School friends. How did the evolve to such an extent. 20 years in Singapore and nothing to show for it.

I would have never returned to Singapore if not for some compelling personal reasons.

I don't think Steve Jobs and Bill Gates, with all their money can buy their influence in the Council of Foreign Relations or Trilateral Commission.

http://www.cfr.org/about/membership/roster.html?letter=R

David Rockefeller
David Rockefeller, Jr.
John D. Rockefeller IV
Nicholas Rockefeller
Steven C. Rockefeller

David Rockefeller is founder, honorary chairman, and lifetime trustee of the Trilateral Commission. Mr. Rockefeller serves as honorary chairman of the Americas Society, the Council on Foreign Relations and Rockefeller University. He is also former chairman of the Rockefeller University Council, and chairman emeritus of the Museum of Modern Art in New York City. A graduate of Harvard College and the University of Chicago (Ph.D.), Mr. Rockefeller served as an officer of the Chase Manhattan Bank from 1946 to 1981. He was chairman and chief executive officer from 1969 until 1980, and continued as chairman until his retirement in 1981. He served as chairman of the bank's international advisory committee from 1981 to 1999 and remained a member of the international council of J.P. Morgan Chase until 2005. Mr. Rockefeller has also been involved in numerous other business, cultural and educational organizations. His publications include Unused Resources and Economic Waste (1940), Creative Management in Banking (1964), and Memoirs (2002).

From Henry Kissinger’s 25th tribute to David Rockefeller on the occasion of the U.S. Group’s 25th Anniversary Evening, December 1, 1998: “David’s function in our society is to recognize great tasks, to overcome the obstacles, to help find and inspire the people to carry them out, and to do it with remarkable delicacy..

http://www.trilateral.org/membship/bios/dr.htm

The issues is not exactly elites but where their actual homes are. We are not talking about Bill Gates working from Germany or Jerry Yang doing something from somewhere. I am talking about Singapore elites that have homes or building homes in the West and using the Singapore as an ablution facility.

You will see the elites getting into politics in their home country and political dynasties evolving. In Singapore's case, they are no longer doing that. They are standing far away and doing their bidding from elsewhere.

What if I told you that about 15 years ago, their kids stopped joining the PAP. In the US, the UK, France, you can clearly see the father - son link in politics. Its the same in OZ, where every cabinet has seen the sons of previous cabinet member holding posts.

It appears that most have failed to grasp the issue in this ofrum. It sounds to me that they are all milking the Singapore cow while farm house has been abandoned.

Dear Scroobal

What is made worse in Singapore is there is only 1 political elite :_)) and one political game to play ..................

Locke

Dear Doors

The Bill and Melinda Gates foundation is I believe nothing to be frowned. Personally if either Jobs or Bill wanted in I doubt the CFR could say no.

Locke

Bro, better stick to commenting about HDB flats. You are better at it. If you read properly, I am talking about the disintegration of the politcal dynasty in Singapore and their kids abandoning politics in Singapore altogether. This became apparent in the last 2 elections. We are talking about the Arthur Lims of the world whose 3 kids now reside overseas and Singapore is no longer home.

Political dynasties are after all political dynasties.

Old money, dynastic wealth such as the Rockefellers, Rothschilds are the one who really pulls the strings.

Bro, better stick to commenting about HDB flats. You are better at it. If you read properly, I am talking about the disintegration of the politcal dynasty in Singapore and their kids abandoning politics in Singapore altogether. This became apparent in the last 2 elections. We are talking about the Arthur Lims of the world whose 3 kids now reside overseas and Singapore is no longer home.

My apologies for being off topic.

But the point I am driving at, Rockefeller has set up a brain trust/think tank such as the Council of Foreign Relations to preserve their power. They have a deciding voice in the American political system, regardless which party gets voted in.

You think it's by coincidence, components of Standard oil, Exxon and Mobil merged back into a single entity.

Perhaps it's time, the exceptional family in Singapore needs to fade way from politics but wield power from the financial institutions they control in Singapore.

Let the technocrats they have hand-picked to run the day to day functions.

Dear Scroobal

I do wonder whether we are seeing the same problem but from differing ends. Firstly the moneyed elite , the wealthy will have the ability by definition to live anywhere else but in Singapore. I can't help but think back to my year and how many of them have left and how many of them have stayed. At the risk of over simplification, Singapore will have to be a different place politically and culturally before they come back.

But as to the political elite what I do see is the son's and daughters of those politically well connected getting very early into the grass roots game, those mid twenties, early thirties etc etc, building and using the network as a form of career advancement within the civil service and glcs.

Locke