8 warning signs that your spouse has become your 'sibling'

MarrickG

8_warning_signs_married_couples_have_become_more_like_siblings-thumbnail.jpg

You are married, but both you and your partner look like slobs at home and sex has become an obligation rather than a pleasure. If you can relate to all these things, you and your partner might have become sibling spouses.

The June issue of Simply Her magazine looks at couples who start to behave like 'siblings'.

There are several warning signs you can look out for to determine if you and your spouse are indeed becoming more like siblings.

8 warning signs you’re becoming sibling spouses

1. You don’t have a problem walking in on each other in the bathroom.

2. You sleep in the same bed but it doesn’t feel like there’s anyone else there but you.

3. When you receive news – good or bad – he’s not the first person you text.

4. You both look like slobs at home.

5. On the rare occasions you share a meal, you don’t have anything to say to each other.

6. You squabble over the silliest things, the way you and your brother did.

7. You rarely give a thought to what he thinks. Neither does he care what’s on your mind.

8. You can’t remember the last time you had sex. What’s worse, you’re not in the least turned on by him.

Wah jialat liao, I think I got all 8!

But then a lot of married men also told me that love will turn into just a relationship/companionship after a few years so its common. Its not a bad thing and it certainly won't warrant a divorce.

Wah jialat liao, I think I got all 8!

But then a lot of married men also told me that love will turn into just a relationship/companionship after a few years so its common. Its not a bad thing and it certainly won't warrant a divorce.

Eating the same cookie crumbles everyday...doesn't taste good after many years..and one do not even bother to look at the package anymore..or the contents either..after a long while...one will give up the cookie crumbles for the more exotic Made In PRC...cookies!:D

It is true after a while...sex becomes boring:p

Simple, its called the Coolidge effect. Males are known to be excited if there are new pussy around. Old ones just means its the same all the time.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coolidge_effect

Coolidge effect
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
In biology and psychology, the term Coolidge effect describes a phenomenon—seen in nearly every mammalian species in which it has been tested—whereby both males and females exhibit continuous high sexual performance given the introduction of new receptive partners.[1][2]
Contents [hide]
1 Origin of the term
2 Empirical evidence
3 On simultaneous hermaphrodites
4 See also
5 References
[edit]Origin of the term

The term comes from an old joke, according to which U.S. President Calvin Coolidge and his wife allegedly visited a poultry farm. During the tour, Mrs. Coolidge inquired of the farmer how his farm managed to produce so many fertile eggs with such a small number of roosters. The farmer proudly explained that his roosters performed their duty dozens of times each day.
"Tell that to Mr. Coolidge," pointedly replied the First Lady.
The President, overhearing the remark, asked the farmer, "Does each rooster service the same hen each time?"
"No," replied the farmer, "there are many hens for each rooster."
"Tell that to Mrs. Coolidge," replied the President.
[edit]Empirical evidence

The original experiments with rats followed this protocol:[3] A male rat would be placed into an enclosed large box with four or five female rats in estrus. He would immediately begin mating with all of the female rats repeatedly until eventually exhausted. Although the females would continue nudging and licking him to continue, he would not respond. However, if a novel female were introduced to the box, he would become alert and find the ability to mate once again with the new female. This phenomenon is not limited to Rattus norvegicus.[4] It is attributed to an increase in dopamine levels and its subsequent effect upon the limbic system.[5]
Human males experience a post-ejaculatory refractory period after sex. They are incapable of engaging in sex with the same female after ejaculation and require time to recover full sexual function. In popular reference, the Coolidge effect is the well-documented phenomenon that the post-ejaculatory refractory period is reduced or eliminated if a separate female becomes available.[6] This effect is cited by evolutionary biologists as a reason why males are more likely to desire sex with a greater number and variety of partners than females.[6]
While the Coolidge effect is usually seen demonstrated by males—that is, males displaying renewed excitement with a novel female—Lester and Gorzalka developed a model to determine whether or not the Coolidge effect also occurs in females. Their experiment, which used hamsters instead of rats, found that it does occur in lesser degrees in females.[7][8]
[edit]On simultaneous hermaphrodites

A 2007 study focusing on the Coolidge effect in simultaneously hermaphroditic species confirmed the validity of the Coolidge effect in freshwater snail Lymnaea stagnalis.[9] Biomphalaria glabrata, another simultaneous hermaphrodite freshwater snail, does not exhibit sex-specific effects of partner novelty, and thus there is no Coolidge effect in the species.[10]

Simple, its called the Coolidge effect. Males are known to be excited if there are new pussy around. Old ones just means its the same all the time.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coolidge_effect

No wonder the emperors of old..have so many wives..concubines..servant giirls..and eunuchs...they sure have variety..that is spice of life? no?:D

While lesser mortals like us..have to content with The Coolidge Effect...

No wonder the emperors of old..have so many wives..concubines..servant giirls..and eunuchs...they sure have variety..that is spice of life? no?:D

While lesser mortals like us..have to content with The Coolidge Effect...

The coolidge effect applies to everyone. Not just the emperors. The eunuchs are there to ensure all the children are sired by the emperor.

I find the following quote interesting. Sure explain why places like Geylang are still popular. Its part of the human psyche.
Human males experience a post-ejaculatory refractory period after sex. They are incapable of engaging in sex with the same female after ejaculation and require time to recover full sexual function. In popular reference, the Coolidge effect is the well-documented phenomenon that the post-ejaculatory refractory period is reduced or eliminated if a separate female becomes available.[6] This effect is cited by evolutionary biologists as a reason why males are more likely to desire sex with a greater number and variety of partners than females.[6]

Even experiments on female indicate the Coolidge effect is in females as well. Perhaps that is why SPGs goes for ang moh, novelty, new partner, etc.

Lester and Gorzalka developed a model to determine whether or not the Coolidge effect also occurs in females. Their experiment, which used hamsters instead of rats, found that it does occur in lesser degrees in females.[7][8]

The coolidge effect applies to everyone. Not just the emperors. The eunuchs are there to ensure all the children are sired by the emperor.

I thought the emperors needed extra variety with the Eunuchs?...heh heh

Closest story I could remember is from the phrase 断袖之癖. I think its a general that he committed the act with. The film, Broke back mountain, probably got its title from the phrase as well.

http://baike.baidu.com/view/50100.htm

【典 故】

西汉建平二年,有一天,汉哀帝下朝回宫,看到殿前站着一个人,正在传漏报时,哀帝随口问:“那不是舍人董贤吗?”那人忙叩头道:“正是小臣董贤。”董贤是御史董恭的儿子,在汉哀帝刘欣还是太子时曾当过太子舍人。
  就是这一瞥,哀帝忽然发现,几年不见,董贤越长越俊俏了,比六宫粉黛还要漂亮,他不禁大为喜爱,命他随身侍从。从此对他日益宠爱,同车而乘,同榻而眠。
  董贤不仅长得像美女,言谈举止也十足地像女人,“性柔和”、“善为媚”。
  哀帝对董贤的爱之深,可用一个例子来说明。一次午睡,董贤枕着哀帝的袖子睡着了。哀帝想起身,却又不忍惊醒董贤,随手拔剑割断了衣袖。
  后人将同性恋称为“断袖之癖”,便是源出于此。

As for eunuchs there are stories that the wives,concubine uses them to have "clean" sex instead. I suppose when the emperor is the only one with a dick, you got to use other means to satisfy yourself.

is it just me or is it common for all couples married for more than 10years?