• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Jobless PMET who earned $7,000 before tried out car polishing

Watchman

singapore-workers.jpg

Hi Gilbert,

I am a 45 year old Singaporean (born and bred!) male. Since I lost my last job (paid $7k per month in local GLC) in 2005, I have not been able to find suitable PMET job which is in line with my level of experience. Despite thumbing down my c.v. and trying to get lower paying jobs, I have not had success. During this time, I have tried out many things, with the latest being a car polisher at a start up car polish company.

Singapore has no welfare system. It is a double edged sword. Look at all the grandma and grandpa selling tissue paper at the hawker centres. My heart fills with anger and shame when I see them. These people have fallen through the crack with no resources to fall back on.

In a wealthy country like Singapore, we have people living in desperation. That is why I have given up on our system. It is too meritocratic and elite. There is no heart in anything we do. With a country ruled by logic and managed like a company, is it any wonder that many local born people are thinking of living? This feels like a transient country. It was never like this when I was a young man 20 years ago.

I wish you luck in Australia. If I can pluck up the courage and get enough money to start somewhere else anew, I will definitely leave this land.

Sigh, times are indeed hard now and everyday on the MRT, I see more and more foreign talents who are so beloved by my fellow countrymen. I have given up on finding a real job and I think your book can help me out. Can I get a free copy of your book?

Cheers,
Tommy (name changed)

NB: We have allocated Tommy a career counsellor to help him with his career options – Gilbert

what's new in sinkieland? I was a victim framed by lan jiao langs,everyday,without fail, I have been thinking of leaving...Another thing I observed,PAP dotes on lan jiao langs a lot.

manokie

This guy is a loser

When he was earning $7k, did he support unemployment benefits and welfare????

Now he gets what he deserves - NOTHING

lifeafter41

singapore-workers.jpg

Hi Gilbert,

I am a 45 year old Singaporean (born and bred!) male. Since I lost my last job (paid $7k per month in local GLC) in 2005, I have not been able to find suitable PMET job which is in line with my level of experience. Despite thumbing down my c.v. and trying to get lower paying jobs, I have not had success. During this time, I have tried out many things, with the latest being a car polisher at a start up car polish company.

Singapore has no welfare system. It is a double edged sword. Look at all the grandma and grandpa selling tissue paper at the hawker centres. My heart fills with anger and shame when I see them. These people have fallen through the crack with no resources to fall back on.

In a wealthy country like Singapore, we have people living in desperation. That is why I have given up on our system. It is too meritocratic and elite. There is no heart in anything we do. With a country ruled by logic and managed like a company, is it any wonder that many local born people are thinking of living? This feels like a transient country. It was never like this when I was a young man 20 years ago.

I wish you luck in Australia. If I can pluck up the courage and get enough money to start somewhere else anew, I will definitely leave this land.

Sigh, times are indeed hard now and everyday on the MRT, I see more and more foreign talents who are so beloved by my fellow countrymen. I have given up on finding a real job and I think your book can help me out. Can I get a free copy of your book?

Cheers,
Tommy (name changed)

NB: We have allocated Tommy a career counsellor to help him with his career options – Gilbert

Noted on the article having loss the job at 2005 and now it is 2010. Is it an old article or that he has been unemployed for the last 5 years.?

Orion

There are many arrogant ppl like him in GLC companies that earn 5k and above...they feel so blessed...until they got axed. By then, it too late to complaint, their youth is wasted and they have no second chance.

A lot of ppl do not realize that if they do not support good changes, it will also happen to them in the future...bad karma

toolanliao

A lot of ppl do not realize that if they do not support good changes, it will also happen to them in the future...bad karma

well said. these are probably pap supporters when they're in cushy jobs, believing in whatever pap say about the economy.

did he vote PAP?

When he was at GLC, did he become a "MEMBER"?, join the grasslooters, the People's Affordable Party as a cadre, or just join as member...his future is assured.

Did he save, when he earned 7K a month?:rolleyes:

There are many arrogant ppl like him in GLC companies that earn 5k and above...they feel so blessed...until they got axed. By then, it too late to complaint, their youth is wasted and they have no second chance.

1. honest, in sheepishland, you could be some asset today, and by tomorrow, you are a total liability.
2. there is nothing that lasts forever and good.
3. sheep here do not "prepare" for contingency especially when things start to turn otherwise and subsequently, bad.
4. never expect a bed of roses throughout life.
5. take stock of life man! and accept the truth too.

Orion

1. honest, in sheepishland, you could be some asset today, and by tomorrow, you are a total liability.
2. there is nothing that lasts forever and good.
3. sheep here do not "prepare" for contingency especially when things start to turn otherwise and subsequently, bad.
4. never expect a bed of roses throughout life.
5. take stock of life man! and accept the truth too.

Yo bro.

I agree with you bro, :smile: They are all sheeps...when they are comfortable, they just think 'I am doing well now, thanks to the PAP gov. Why must i vote for the opposition?', and fear to vote for the oppositon just because the Payapa says, vote them and regret or other nonsenses.

Singapore is now 6th in the world ranking in terms of Public Debts. This ranking tells how many poor are there in Wealthy Singapore. PAP likes to mention USA public debt but the CIA world ranking did not even put USA on it...so much for Singapore. Still thinking of competing against HK, TW, South Korea that had low public debts relative to their GDP? Impossible! Sinkapore government expenses is also one of the highest in the world. Those millionaires teachers, policemen, civil servants...It is a lucky thing Singapore havent gone bankrupt yet.

Leave Singapore. Sells the homes and go aboard. This is the only way out. Only fools cannot tell Sinkapore is now sinking.

When he was at GLC, did he become a "MEMBER"?, join the grasslooters, the People's Affordable Party as a cadre, or just join as member...his future is assured.

Did he save, when he earned 7K a month?:rolleyes:

Don't think the Spore system is sustainable, how can tax payers support so many mult-millionaires :confused:

Even if "Prostitutes Also Pay" there are just too few chickens to pluck especially with so many cheaper foreigners :biggrin:

Received_by_Kings

This guy is a loser

When he was earning $7k, did he support unemployment benefits and welfare????

Now he gets what he deserves - NOTHING

Exactly! He only thinks about himself. When he made that salary nobody remembered him complaining about the non-existent welfare system. Now that he has nothing, he attacks it.

"Since I lost my last job (paid $7k per month in local GLC) in 2005, I have not been able to find suitable PMET job which is in line with my level of experience.

Singapore has no welfare system. It is a double edged sword."

Don't think the Spore system is sustainable, how can tax payers support so many mult-millionaires :confused:

Even if "Prostitutes Also Pay" there are just too few chickens to pluck especially with so many cheaper foreigners :biggrin:

The master farkers..oops!, master pluckers, have plucked all the feathers off the chickens, that all is left is the 'pak cham kai' ( aka as the featherless chicken) plus removing the bones...

we have the uniquely SINkingpore fowl, known as the pak cham , hei kuat kai... (featherless, remove bones chicken) ..or the fetherless, no backbone chicken...

what is there, left to pluck? or cluck!:biggrin:

cass888

With such atrocious English, the GLC should have fired him earlier. However, there is a consistent trend in the bad English - all written by Gilbert Goh himself.

Stupid.

Hi Gilbert,

Cheers,
Tommy (name changed)

With such atrocious English, the GLC should have fired him earlier. However, there is a consistent trend in the bad English - all written by Gilbert Goh himself.

Stupid.

people talk about losing his job and having a hard time, you fucking chee buy go and talk about his English.

There are many millionaires who dun even write English well and they hire losers like you who can write English to work for them.

whoa...2010 thread! good for memory loss me...knn, lan jiao langs really a lot...:o

what's new in sinkieland? I was a victim framed by lan jiao langs,everyday,without fail, I have been thinking of leaving...Another thing I observed,PAP dotes on lan jiao langs a lot.

escher

Kill them all PAPs
Let GOD sort out the good from the really bad ones
The good PAPs can then eat joss sticks and candle wax from time to time
The bad PAPs like smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY will be raped and tiewed and kanned by legions of ghouls and demons and not ever
get time off to eat joss sticks and candle wax

Hang those PAP maggots cockroaches with piano wires from lamp posts to make them dance before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

BBQ those PAP maggots cockroaches before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Cut a few more arseholes into those PAP maggots cockroaches to let out their shit before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.

Make those PAP maggots cockroaches eat joss sticks and candle wax before it is too late and we have no more CPF to get back.