• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Redditer: Are singaporeans acting out a good life and secretly struggling?

Nut

Stupidman

Are singaporeans acting out a good life and secretly struggling?​

General

Acquitances are driving conti car and going big holidays like twice a year.

Yet i have 3 close friends who have recently asked me to borrow money for house reno, living expenses and being out of job respectively.

My partner also got laidoff from her tourism job though we are still doing fine as i am self employed in an industry that is quite iron rice bowl. We are in our 30s.

How are people REALLY doing?

Using my 3 friends example, are people really just “1 situation” away from needing to borrow money or scramble for money as they are very low on savings?

Many couples esrning combine 15k all want condo , cars ,holidays,but they fon kmow one dsy kena chop

TS is basing his theory that many S'poreans are living beyond their means on anecdotal evidence from 3 of his friends. That does not make sense.

Most sinkees are suffering in silence.
Many of the boomers are doing well. My parents bought their 2 landed homes in the 1960s when PMET couples could afford to do so. They retired at 55 and are still receiving rental on 1 home more than 30 years after retirement.

the examples given are obviously not working in civil service and trying to live up to the same lifestyle as their peers in the CS. There is a big gap in pay scale

My partner also got laidoff from her tourism job though we are still doing fine as i am self employed in an industry that is quite iron rice bowl. We are in our 30s.
see? being self-employed is good. dun get conned to be an employee for life. employee is for entry level taste of working.

nothing wrong with being an employee but your are not in control when crisis comes and you are out of income when that happens.

Loser dude is self employed in an industry that is quite iron rice bowl.

So that means he is either a Grab driver or food delivery rider.

Loser dude is self employed in an industry that is quite iron rice bowl.

So that means he is either a Grab driver or food delivery rider.
Even that he is in control of his money earning and his time which is so much better than those employee who rushes to work in the morning in packed trains and traffic on roads.

When you are in control of your money earning and time, this is not a loser at all. The only loser part in this line is that if he dunno how to manage it well to benefit him the most.

i know grab riders who has side businesses, they have good money leh.

Even that he is in control of his money earning and his time which is so much better than those employee who rushes to work in the morning in packed trains and traffic on roads. When you are in control of your money earning and time, this is not a loser at all. The only loser part in this line is that if he dunno how to manage it well to benefit him the most. i know grab riders who has side businesses, they have good money leh.
I am learning from some of the older couples in my condo who retired by their 50s with enough savings and investments to travel overseas several times a year, continue to own a continental car, enjoy eating at restaurants regularly, play golf and lavish their children and grandchildren with expensive gifts etc.