• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singlish is the only form of English to most S'poreans

I wonder how many Sinkies can actually appreciate the series Downtown Abbey, and understand what the fuck is happening throughout the show?

Actually you don't hear posh RP accents in London these days. Most educated folk speak SSBE (Standard Southern British Accent) or MLE (Multi-Cultural London English). Even within the royal family, accents have shifted. Just compare the speech of Prince Harry or William with that of their father and grandmother.

It would be wonderful to hear the use of Standard English more often in S'pore. However, it is absurd to expect S'poreans to use Shakespearean English. Imagine two NSmen coming across a sentry sleeping at the guard post with one of them remarking: "Behold, he lies unlike the living. Oh my heart!"

"Frailty, they name is woman!"
Singlish - "Pua Chee Bye!"

"Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned!" - KNNBCCB!

"If you prick us do we not bleed? If you tickle us do we not laugh? If you poison us do we not die? And if you wrong us shall we not revenge?”
Singlish - If you fuck with us, you sure kena hoot until jialat jialat!"

"If you prick us do we not bleed? If you tickle us do we not laugh? If you poison us do we not die? And if you wrong us shall we not revenge?”
Singlish - If you fuck with us, you sure kena hoot until jialat jialat!"
"All the world's a stage, and all the men and women merely players" - As You Like It.
In Singlish: "Don't need to wayang, lah."