• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singlish is the only form of English to most S'poreans

True Believer

According to this new Institute of Policy Studies study based on a 2024 survey of 4,000 residents, more S'poreans are using Singlish at work as well as social settings. The study found that Singlish has gained wider acceptance and is increasingly seen as part of our national identity. However, the reality is that most S'poreans are unable to code switch effortlessly between Singlish and grammatically correct English. In other words, Singlish is the only form of English that most S'poreans know.

https://sg.yahoo.com/news/yahoo-poll-do-you-think-its-okay-to-use-singlish-at-work-233936022.html

Mandarin seems to be spoken in informal interactions between Chinese colleagues in most workplaces in S'pore instead of Singlish. Mandarin is also used increasingly more even in formal interactions when most of the staff present are Chinese - effectively excluding foreigners, local minority races and some Chinese who are not fluent in Mandarin.

Not I say one.
Singlish more efficient. Gets straight to the point.
So what you mean by Singlish is not English? Gong simi?
You better don't anyhow say! What Singlish is not English lah, what this lah that lah.
Wait I hamtum you then you know!
Don't say I never say! Just shaddup lah!

Not I say one. Singlish more efficient. Gets straight to the point. So what you mean by Singlish is not English? Gong simi? You better don't anyhow say! What Singlish is not English lah, what this lah that lah. Wait I hamtum you then you know! Don't say I never say! Just shaddup lah!
You are living proof that most S'poreans fail to articulate their words clearly and distinctly according to the rules governing the English language. Our govt attributes the declining standards of English competency to the widespread use of Singlish. As Singlish is thoughtlessly acquired, it is saved in the long term memory of S'poreans like you, as an acceptable form of English. Your ability to speak Standard English suffers when you spend too much time interacting with others who speak a sub-standard form of the language, since you naturally tend to adopt the speech that is heard most of the time around you.

Singrish:
Not say that I say.
If you anyhow touch touch arh, wait police catch!

Engrish:
Not trying to be alarmist here.
But if you don't ask for permission and you're just going to go around touching things indiscriminately, they might just call the police in on you for attempted theft!

Only retards call Singlish a form of English. Just like calling shit a cuisine.

Adding Singlish into the mix serves only to confuse and hinder the learning of Standard English like it has done to most S'poreans; it has become the only form of English that they know. Proper written and spoken English instantly defines us as highly educated people whose views and opinions are taken more seriously.

Singrish:
Not say that I say.
If you anyhow touch touch arh, wait police catch!

Engrish:
Not trying to be alarmist here.
But if you don't ask for permission and you're just going to go around touching things indiscriminately, they might just call the police in on you for attempted theft!
Singlish creates confusion since many S'poreans believe it is the correct form of the English language, when it is filled with grammatical errors, wrong usage of words and pronunciation that incorporates Mandarin, Chinese dialects as well as Malay.

English belongs to England
Malay belongs to Malaysia/Indonesia
Mandarin belongs to China
Singlish is the National Language of Singapore.

English belongs to England
Malay belongs to Malaysia/Indonesia
Mandarin belongs to China
.Singlish is the National Language of Singapore.
Academics and linguists view Singlish as a creole because S'pore is a multilingual country. Therein lies the problem; most locals are not able to code-switch effortlessly by shifting from Standard English for work to Singlish in casual settings. As such, the majority of residents end up confused, and this hinders the learning of Standard English.

No wonder, we no need to send our O level English paper for overseas marking liao

Even though English is considered a global language, most S'poreans appear to have command of less than 35% of the words in the lexicon. Adding Singlish into the mix serves only to confuse and hinder the learning of Standard English. This accounts for the lack of fluency in spoken English among the majority of adults, in spite of 10 years or more of instruction in an English-medium school environment. Generations of young S'poreans enter the working world hampered by their inability to be understood globally; unfortunately, some end up as English teachers in our schools!

Mo
Even though English is considered a global language, most S'poreans appear to have command of less than 35% of the words in the lexicon. Adding Singlish into the mix serves only to confuse and hinder the learning of Standard English. This accounts for the lack of fluency in spoken English among the majority of adults, in spite of 10 years or more of instruction in an English-medium school environment. Generations of young S'poreans enter the working world hampered by their inability to be understood globally; unfortunately, some end up as English teachers in our schools
Most Sinki cannot read technical papers, can only read short sentences?

Remember that the LKY IPS has a very clear pro-PAP bias in all of its 'research'. :wink:

Also, even the PAP regime cheerfully and proactively promotes Singlish in its propaganda, clearly there is no longer a stigma or shame about it. :cool:

While the Singapore Examinations and Assessment Board (SEAB) and Cambridge Assessment have established on-screen marking, it is inaccurate to state that GCE O-Level papers are no longer marked overseas. Find comprehensive information about current O-Level protocols via the SEAB GCE O-Levelportal. [1, 2, 3]
Here is how the marking process operates:
  • Overseas Marking: Roughly 800,000 national exam scripts are marked by Cambridge Assessment in the UK each year. Rather than halting this, SEAB and Cambridge have transitioned most of these papers to on-screen marking.
  • Local Marking: Approximately 300,000 scripts—such as Mother Tongue Languages, Social Studies, and coursework components—are marked locally in Singapore by trained educators.
  • The "E-Marking" Transition: To prevent the loss of physical scripts, hardcopy papers are securely scanned in Singapore. The digitised soft copies are transmitted to Cambridge Assessment, where appointed overseas examiners grade them on-screen.
  • Exceptions for Physical Marking: Certain papers, like Science Practicals (which carry a risk of chemical contamination), Art, and Drama, do not undergo on-screen marking and require traditional handling. [1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7]
For further details regarding syllabuses and exam administration, you can refer to the official SEAB Syllabuses Examined page. [1]

Remember that the LKY IPS has a very clear pro-PAP bias in all of its 'research'. :wink:

Also, even the PAP regime cheerfully and proactively promotes Singlish in its propaganda, clearly there is no longer a stigma or shame about it. :cool:

So that Sinki lost both its English and Chinese capabilities to cow pap cow bu on internet mah

LKY dun promote Singlish, as a matter of fact he promote English and Chinese

Academics and linguists view Singlish as a creole because S'pore is a multilingual country. Therein lies the problem; most locals are not able to code-switch effortlessly by shifting from Standard English for work to Singlish in casual settings. As such, the majority of residents end up confused, and this hinders the learning of Standard English.
Why this obsession with 'standard' English. ?