• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

10 reasons to retire early

"10 reasons to retire early" lose to "1 reason not to retire early" ~ NO MONEY :roflmao:
Please refer to my previous post. After ensuring that we are financially able to stop working, the right time to retire is a personal decision .......

"10 reasons to retire early" lose to "1 reason not to retire early" ~ NO MONEY :roflmao:
Retiring early may be part of a broader plan to downsize, reduce expenses and live a more intentional, minimalist life, especially if we have paid off major debts like the mortgage on our home and car.

I spite of all that has been written about staying engaged in retirement, the reality is that most men will eat, sleep and watch TV most of the time. While they were working full-time, most people didn't go to the mall, eat/drink with co-workers or engage in many social activities after work simply because they were too tired or had to work late. After decades like this, do you think retirees will suddenly have hobbies, lots of retired friends and activities to occupy 8-9 hrs per day?

KNN I input all my money in banks + cpf, and asked AI to estimate for me, factoring a very conservative fixed interest rate, from now till if I live till 85, how much I can spend per mth without any input and only output, and if I doesn't want to leave behind any legacy, the leesult leeturned as about $6700

I only spend about $2k currently.

But I'm not sure will anyone really spend $6700 every month, cos if they are still living by 80 or so, they will see little money left.

Wonder how the feeling will be like for a old fart KNN

KNN I input all my money in banks + cpf, and asked AI to estimate for me, from now till if I live till 85, how much I can spend per mth, if I doesn't want to leave behind any legacy, the leesult leeturned as about $6700

But I'm not sure will anyone really spend $6700 every month, cos if they are still living at by 80 or so, they will see little money left.

so simple ... go find a mistress lah ... confirm can spend every single cent before U surrender IC .... :thumbsup:

KNN I input all my money in banks + cpf, and asked AI to estimate for me, factoring a very conservative fixed interest rate, from now till if I live till 85, how much I can spend per mth without any input and only output, and if I doesn't want to leave behind any legacy, the leesult leeturned as about $6700

But I'm not sure will anyone really spend $6700 every month, cos if they are still living by 80 or so, they will see little money left.

I believe in this world, rarely you will find someone that will really spend that $6.7k monthly.

There are mostly 2 kind of people
1. They will splurge on their money and left with not much left way before they kick the bucket.
2. They will not dare to spend $6.7k and end up kicking the bucket with money left behind for the gov.

I spite of all that has been written about staying engaged in retirement, the reality is that most men will eat, sleep and watch TV most of the time. While they were working full-time, most people didn't go to the mall, eat/drink with co-workers or engage in many social activities after work simply because they were too tired or had to work late. After decades like this, do you think retirees will suddenly have hobbies, lots of retired friends and activities to occupy 8-9 hrs per day?
Those leetiree that I know of, they will have a single hobby or 2, like jogging or swimming, they do it everyday. But it will not last forever. After about 2 years they get tired of it and stopped doing it.

For me, I use the time to do housework, and by doing housework, it is already an exercise. I sleep whenever I feel like it.

Then I engage in my only hobby which is, gambling.

I believe in this world, rarely you will find someone that will really spend that $6.7k monthly.
There are mostly 2 kind of people
1. They will splurge on their money and left with not much left way before they kick the bucket.
2. They will not dare to spend $6.7k and end up kicking the bucket with money left behind for the gov.
The only retirees I know who are not bored are these 2 men at my condo who play golf at SICC up to 4 days per week, travel 5 times per year, dine out almost daily and shop regularly. You see, you need lots of money to stay engaged in retirement outside of finding a part-time job.

Do they travel alone or with spouse or friends?
I have not tried out travelling alone.
Tbh I'm scared to live alone in a hotel, eerie feel.

Those leetiree that I know of, they will have a single hobby or 2, like jogging or swimming, they do it everyday. But it will not last forever. After about 2 years they get tired of it and stopped doing it. For me, I use the time to do housework, and by doing housework, it is already an exercise. I sleep whenever I feel like it. Then I engage in my only hobby which is, gambling.
I know this couple who retired at 59, and after 6 years of not working, find life boring even though they go out everyday, look after a grandson, exercise together, travel several times a year and are active in church. There are no hobbies or activities that can possibly occupy 8-9 hours of every day.

I have not tried out travelling alone.
Tbh I'm scared to live alone in a hotel, eerie feel.
I have also never travelled alone. My retired cousin did a few times, but didn't enjoy it. He said that he had to do so after his divorce, but felt lonely and didn't enjoy the experience.

i 4c my retirement days will b spent in casinos n kopitiams. shld i fire now? :eek::cool::speechless:
FIRE provides an escape from office politics, retrenchments and the traditional grind. However, my friends who stopped working at 50 or 55, became bored after the 1st year.

boredom iz no issue. excitement iz not tat hard 2 find in sg.

I have also never travelled alone. My retired cousin did a few times, but didn't enjoy it. He said that he had to do so after his divorce, but felt lonely and didn't enjoy the experience.
I do not mind travelling alone.
Perhaps when I do it, I will need to book those budget double bed bunk to avoid living alone in an eerie hotel room.