• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Coolie gene sinkie quits software engineering to become hawker

Several of my older colleagues (past and present) shared about how their bosses would start bullying them once they were in their late 50s and early 60s, to force them into early retirement. If they need the money, they would have to do menial work following retrenchment.
In the contratry, i see quite many older jlb in their 60s constantly using the mom law to bully their bosses and hr.

You are probably referring to the rank and file unionised workers on the lower rungs. Contrary to popular perception, the PMEs still have very little protection from employers who marginalise and pressure them to leave before the official retirement age. I have seen capable older staff suddenly receive poor appraisals once they reach 60, to force them out of the company.

Only the weak gets bullied in the workplace. I encountered several bosses that tried to bully me and kana hoot back jialat jialat one by me. Leemember they are also an employee. Unless they are the owner of the company, but I wouldn't want to work under such arrangement even if the boss didn't bully me.
With the economy being in such bad shape, lots of us continue to slog under an extremely heavy workload and unreasonable deadlines. Many of us long for the weekend, not to party, but to recover from the rigours of the preceding work week.

He had better use the money to try his luck in the casino. But if he wins he has to stop.
If he lose, nothing to lose becos he already lost it in the stall even before the gambling is started .

If he sells 60 bowls per day, he can only earn avg 3k with all the hard work.
It's simply not feasible to even start it.
That is how many dig themselves into a debt trap that sucked in their whole family

The problem is that even our local grads cannot find jobs while experienced foreign PMEs keep flooding into SG. Many well-educated locals turn to being hawkers to support themselves.

1764397662693.png

Go to try later this evening see nice or not .... :whistling:

Those who have ever worked for a toxic boss will know that working for oneself (no matter how tough the work) may beat being bullied. I once longed for the weekend just to recover from the heavy workload and a bully I had to report to at a younger age. I had to drag my feet to the office every Monday.
Earn a living in Sg super hard. A bullying work place will end up with very low morale. Not worth it but if rainy days harder to sell prawn noodles how he cover for his rent?

Several of my older colleagues (past and present) shared about how their bosses would start bullying them once they were in their late 50s and early 60s, to force them into early retirement. If they need the money, they would have to do menial work following retrenchment.
I only see old birds bullying young birds at my previous work places like 50s 60s old birds all hang up and bully blur blur interns, fresh graduates basically people younger than them they just bully until they leave.

Super Jia lat one because it’s like one auntie or uncle with old sch thinking pushing their authority and make so many ppl leave for gd

Yes. The old birds very gd at playing games and complaining. All the whole done by the younger people

I only see old birds bullying young birds at my previous work places like 50s 60s old birds all hang up and bully blur blur interns, fresh graduates basically people younger than them they just bully until they leave. Super Jia lat one because it’s like one auntie or uncle with old sch thinking pushing their authority and make so many ppl leave for gd
I have witnessed both, but as I am in my mid-50s, I have seen more cases of older past and present co-workers suddenly face pressure in the form of biased appraisals, pay freeze, extra workload etc. seemingly designed to push them out of the workplace. Many will elect to stay as long as possible since they need the money, and their boss knows they have nowhere else to go in their late 50s and early 60s.

You are probably referring to the rank and file unionised workers on the lower rungs. Contrary to popular perception, the PMEs still have very little protection from employers who marginalise and pressure them to leave before the official retirement age. I have seen capable older staff suddenly receive poor appraisals once they reach 60, to force them out of the company.
What about public sector old birds? See many of them milling up and down with their old set ways
I have witnessed both, but as I am in my mid-50s, I have seen more cases of older past and present co-workers suddenly face pressure in the form of biased appraisals, pay freeze, extra workload etc. seemingly designed to push them out of the workplace. Many will elect to stay as long as possible since they need the money, and their boss knows they have nowhere else to go in their late 50s and early 60s.
That is why it’s a lesson for stubborn old birds to realise it’s time for them to leave after chasing younger people away like give old birds more workload for them to prove themselves and if they cannot make it then too bad. Boss just doing what old birds do in the past to younger people who left. 55 years old can get CPF if enough.

Leave current company can go and work at other companies more junior roles.

What about public sector old birds? See many of them milling up and down with their old set ways
That is why it’s a lesson for stubborn old birds to realise it’s time for them to leave after chasing younger people away like give old birds more workload for them to prove themselves and if they cannot make it then too bad. Boss just doing what old birds do in the past to younger people who left. 55 years old can get CPF if enough.
I know of several former colleagues in the private sector who joined the civil service after retrenchment. They were the deadwood who could not make it in the corporate world, but ended up recruited by the public sector.

Leave current company can go and work at other companies more junior roles.
Thank God that I prudently set aside enough to call it a day before 60. I cannot imagine working till I am 65 or 68 when I will lack the energy to do so.

I know of several former colleagues in the private sector who joined the civil service after retrenchment. They were the deadwood who could not make it in the corporate world, but ended up recruited by the public sector.
JLB are welcome in public sector iron rice bowl. The good ones stay in private sector and have far better opportunities and more relevant

Thank God that I prudently set aside enough to call it a day before 60. I cannot imagine working till I am 65 or 68 when I will lack the energy to do so.
There are people who work until 65 and wants to work longer to stay productive. Are there enough jobs in the job market for them?

JLB are welcome in public sector and iron rice bowl. The good ones stay in private sector and have far better opportunities and more relevant
The unforgiving environment in the private sector means that many capable staff over 60 may not have the energy to keep going at that pace.

There are people who work until 65 and wants to work longer to stay productive. Are there enough jobs in the job market for them?
Employers in the private sector are unlikely to keep even capable staff past their early 60s because of their higher pay and increased medical insurance premiums.

The unforgiving environment in the private sector means that many capable staff over 60 may not have the energy to keep going at that pace.
True. But why is private sector environment more unforgiving? There are old birds doing very well there and very respected vs public sector old birds, who are the ones forced with all kinds of unfair appraisals to leave

Employers in the private sector are unlikely to keep even capable staff past their early 60s because of their higher pay and increased medical insurance premiums.
Can cut short the number of days they work after 65 and offer them contract position if they wanna work to stay productive. There are such options it’s just old birds are stubborn and wanna hog the lime light

True. But why is private sector environment more unforgiving? There are old birds doing very well there and very respected vs public sector old birds, who are the ones forced with all kinds of unfair appraisals to leave
I know of several highly qualified and capable ex-classmates who were let go in their early to mid-50s by private sector employers to cut costs.