• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NUS professor Tan Khee Giap predicts that Singapore will experience massive unemployment rates before the next GE

Professor Tan does indeed is of scholastic pedigree, however, it is just his perception and hypothesis. If he is so accurate in PREDICTIONS, the insignificant nobody me knows for sure that there will long queues at his home for his next predication on 4D or Toto numbers....

1. AI is not something that dropped from the sky. It takes Humans to figure out the algorithms to make it work, and to correct them on a daily basis, for quality control, checks and errors. Thus Humans would still be needed.

2. AI ultimately runs on machines. It will still need MANUFACTURING to produce such machines, along with data centers and such requires Humans - engineers, technicians, sales and biz development teams, bricks and mortar shops, sales staff, accountants, etc, etc.

3. There is NO perfect AI systems, as it is created by flawed mortals, and there lays COMPETITION in a FREE MARKET. As with competition, there will be Humans need to form up the ENTIRE SUPPLY chains.....thus Humans will still be needed.

4. PrezTrump had shown the World HOW TARIFFS system can save National jobs. So what if China produces such AI systems cheaper? Just add a few percentages, even up to 500%, will ensure one's National economy is protected.

5. Singapore is a port city, whereby ALL points of the compass meets for trade TRANSHIPMENTS. And thus, there will be jobs galore in the logistic trades and its supply chains, so much that FOREIGN workers and talents are needed...

What the heck is PATHETIC revenue from COE, which is meant to curb land use so as to provide MORE homes for the living than cars, when FAR, FAR MORE BILLIONS are achieved by PSA, whereby being a social Public biz entity, it's workers are paid 6 months bonuses EACH YEAR, WITH FAR MORE BILLIONS placed in our National Treasury ?

So, chill folks.....however, if anyone here knows who can predict the next 6 numbers for the next Toto draw, do drop a line to Charity orgs. They sorely need it.....
Prof is right. My answers:

1. Yes, AI have to make adjustments. But the rate of improvement is crazy fast. Look at AI v2023 Vs today.

2. Manufacturing will not be done here. Data centres are useless investments that don't employ many local workers.

3. Not as much as today.

4. He's cancelling many tariffs already

5. Low level jobs only. All the logistics planning by AI

Research shows that at least 40% of civil servants have to be retrenched if government wants to develop AI
They ought to be because many are JLB, too old fashion in the way they do things. Bet majority of the older civil servants cannot find job outside

Prof is right. My answers:

1. Yes, AI have to make adjustments. But the rate of improvement is crazy fast. Look at AI v2023 Vs today.

2. Manufacturing will not be done here. Data centres are useless investments that don't employ many local workers.

3. Not as much as today.

4. He's cancelling many tariffs already

5. Low level jobs only. All the logistics planning by AI

Thanks for your response and reply, Mr. Cocobobo...

Unfortunately, due to your simplistic one-liners that perhaps borders upon ignorance and absolute lack of realities discernment on the situation, akin to the petulant outbursts from a kindergarten kid, thus sadly, the insignificant nobody me is unable to give you an intelligent reply, more so with daily complaints that I am long winded, even as I tried my best to keep my posts short without leaving out critical points. My humble apologies.

But thanks for your effort, as it does open up conversations and discussions, to be debated upon so that a true and pragmatic course of action can be taken to uplift lives....rather than to live in ignorance, hate, fear, false pride, selfish personal desires, and more other forms of negativity....Two heads are better than one, so long as each is ...hopefully rational and not with clouded judgements....

The only real response that I am expecting is from Professor Tan's predictions or his supporters are for the next new numbers for this coming Monday's TOTO draw, to be made public so that 5 million+citizens and foreigners sharing and living in our country may at the least have a few hundreds in their pockets, for those whom would buy his words uttered from his mouth, as he claims to be a clairvoyant - capable of seeing into the future - without peer reviewed research, lack of depth, facts and figures, etc, which is unbecoming of a Professor....

Or at the least, if he has a heart, to share those winning TOTO numbers in PRIVATE to charity orgs, to uplift their lives instead....

yesterday.
Friday morning 9am.

My lift lobby... Local sinkie father come down with son holding mobile phone......with bicycle and green grab food delivery box attached.

Took a bus to town.
Double decker bus.

Pass by condo at mount Faber. Kampong bahru road.

Saw fucking Ceca family playing badminton on their condo front compound.

Friday morning 9am!!!
Common. WFH day for CECAs professionals Taiji all the work to coolie gene Sinkies. CECAs enjoy their work life balance while coolie gene Sinkie work and work. 65% vote for this

You cannot blame the PAP economies are evolving rapidly throughout the world. Some countries will adapt quickly while others will lag behind but eventually the whole system will be operating on a different plane altogether.
The gap between income and asset prices are entirely the doing of the PAP. Stop hallucinating.

this professor SALAH LIAO lah.........................since majority of Sinkies voted NOT to have a job in the 1st place...............jobless rate won't rise lah...........
If laid off workers end up being considered "no longer interested in working" because they cannot find a new job within 6 months, that keeps the official unemployment figures artificially low.

Common. WFH day for CECAs professionals Taiji all the work to coolie gene Sinkies. CECAs enjoy their work life balance while coolie gene Sinkie work and work. 65% vote for this
I see a lot of Caucasian expats cycling during office hours. Are these people supposed to be working from home? I notice lots of CECAs at my condo gym or walking around or at the pool on weekdays whenever I am on leave. Are they also WFH or on leave most of the time?

No one dares to tell their bosses off when they are working their asses off in the gym or badminton court.

CECAs are the best to come over to Sg with a Masters from India and enjoy a life of work done by others during office hours while they just chill

No one dares to tell their bosses off when they are working their asses off
As I have been clearing leave this month, I also notice many people of working age casually dressed out and about at hawker centres, malls and restaurants during office hours.

sad thing is, some of these morons are your loved ones.....no amount of reasoning will make them see the light
peesai is DONE in the long run, get the fuck out while still can
The mf CECA Indians bring their bloody extended family out for outing, shopping, dining enjoying life, whereas their subordinates sinkies work like dog for them in the office or at home.
Worst is these mf CECA Indians claim the credit for the work done.

The mf CECA Indians bring their bloody extended family out for outing, shopping, dining enjoying life, whereas their subordinates sinkies work like dog for them in the office or at home.
Worse is some Sinkies are the ones who hire these CECAs

Thanks for your response and reply, Mr. Cocobobo...

Unfortunately, due to your simplistic one-liners that perhaps borders upon ignorance and absolute lack of realities discernment on the situation, akin to the petulant outbursts from a kindergarten kid, thus sadly, the insignificant nobody me is unable to give you an intelligent reply, more so with daily complaints that I am long winded, even as I tried my best to keep my posts short without leaving out critical points. My humble apologies.

But thanks for your effort, as it does open up conversations and discussions, to be debated upon so that a true and pragmatic course of action can be taken to uplift lives....rather than to live in ignorance, hate, fear, false pride, selfish personal desires, and more other forms of negativity....Two heads are better than one, so long as each is ...hopefully rational and not with clouded judgements....

The only real response that I am expecting is from Professor Tan's predictions or his supporters are for the next new numbers for this coming Monday's TOTO draw, to be made public so that 5 million+citizens and foreigners sharing and living in our country may at the least have a few hundreds in their pockets, for those whom would buy his words uttered from his mouth, as he claims to be a clairvoyant - capable of seeing into the future - without peer reviewed research, lack of depth, facts and figures, etc, which is unbecoming of a Professor....

Or at the least, if he has a heart, to share those winning TOTO numbers in PRIVATE to charity orgs, to uplift their lives instead....
Tx. Goodluck

real sad to see our young driving grab or delivering food while the CECAs play politics to get rid of locals in the financial sector especially
sinkees are DUMB!! any other country will riot and demonstrate in the streets
and worst, fight among themselves

real sad to see our young driving grab or delivering food while the CECAs play politics to get rid of locals in the financial sector especially
As a frequent visitor to Melbourne and Sydney to visit my relatives (ex-S'poreans and Malaysians), I can testify that my Uber driver is almost always a foreigner from a Third World country. The roles have been reversed in SG with displaced citizens taking up the role of taxi or PHV driver while foreigners (even CECAs holding fake degrees) enjoy the good life as PMEs.

and worst, fight among themselves
South Korea protest Gao Gao already about all these

As a frequent visitor to Melbourne and Sydney to visit my relatives (ex-S'poreans and Malaysians), I can testify that my Uber driver is almost always a foreigner from a Third World country. The roles have been reversed in SG with displaced citizens taking up the role of taxi or PHV driver while foreigners (even CECAs holding fake degrees) enjoy the good life as PMEs.
Ramesh knows best with Uptron, condo and BMW

cdc vouchers are used to prevent riots......wonder how long can they keep it up, reserves are not as healthy as they projected, not by cdc vouchers but by investment losses and legal pilfering
why do you think cpf keeps changing the goalposts these few decades? these motherfuckers tot of EVERYTHING already...for their own benefits
sinkees are dumb to believe the pap loves them, but there are thousands of them